Jump to content
IGNORED

Clever Use of Rules?


iacas
 Share

Recommended Posts

3 minutes ago, SG11118 said:

To me an embedded ball should be much more obvious than that to give relief.  On tightly mowed ground to need to mark and pull your ball to possibly see the smallest of indentations in the ground is a little ridiculous.  

How would you change the wording of the rule to accomplish that?  Would you require a certain minimum penetration, a half-inch, maybe up to the equator of the ball?  The way its written, its relatively straightforward to interpret.  To do something more stringent would make it more difficult to measure and determine, in my opinion.

  • Like 2

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

How would you change the wording of the rule to accomplish that?  Would you require a certain minimum penetration, a half-inch, maybe up to the equator of the ball?  The way its written, its relatively straightforward to interpret.  To do something more stringent would make it more difficult to measure and determine, in my opinion.

Just change it similar to the rule for whether or not a ball went in a hazard or not.  It needs to be plugged in its own pitch mark "beyond reasonable doubt" or something similar.  It is pretty tough to put a measurement to it.  In this case, I don't think that CM gained an advantage by getting a drop.  It just seemed like a waste of time for him to ask for relief and the RO to give him relief.  

John

Find me on :gamegolf:.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Just now, SG11118 said:

Just change it similar to the rule for whether or not a ball went in a hazard or not.  It needs to be plugged in its own pitch mark "beyond reasonable doubt" or something similar.  It is pretty tough to put a measurement to it.  In this case, I don't think that CM gained an advantage by getting a drop.  It just seemed like a waste of time for him to ask for relief and the RO to give him relief.  

Try to prove he doesn't have enough reasonable doubt to do what he did. 

"A good conversation is not designed to win the argument. It is designed to enjoy the exchange."

Matt "Dough", P.E.
My Game Golf Profile -
Click Here! (It's not a trap) fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver: :callaway: GBB Epic,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: :srixon: (4-PW)
Wedges:
:edel: Trapper (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :bushnell: Tour V2

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

24 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Try to prove he doesn't have enough reasonable doubt to do what he did. 

There was obviously uncertainty and reasonable doubt with the rules official before he hemmed and hawed and said it was plugged.  If you had a beyond unreasonable doubt clause, the official could have quickly denied the claim.  If you don't have a rules official, if golfer and a playing partner agree ball is plugged beyond reasonable doubt, then it is plugged.  

I honestly don't care that much.  I wouldn't have ever tried to claim that ball was plugged though.  I would have been thankful it didn't roll all the way down the hill and counted my blessings, and played the shot as it layed.

John

Find me on :gamegolf:.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
1 hour ago, SG11118 said:

Just change it similar to the rule for whether or not a ball went in a hazard or not.  It needs to be plugged in its own pitch mark "beyond reasonable doubt" or something similar.  It is pretty tough to put a measurement to it.  In this case, I don't think that CM gained an advantage by getting a drop.  It just seemed like a waste of time for him to ask for relief and the RO to give him relief.  

It was beyond reasonable doubt.

1 hour ago, SG11118 said:

There was obviously uncertainty and reasonable doubt with the rules official before he hemmed and hawed and said it was plugged.  If you had a beyond unreasonable doubt clause, the official could have quickly denied the claim.  If you don't have a rules official, if golfer and a playing partner agree ball is plugged beyond reasonable doubt, then it is plugged.  

The RO had it wrong at first.

The drop was fully legit.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

How would you change the wording of the rule to accomplish that?  Would you require a certain minimum penetration, a half-inch, maybe up to the equator of the ball?  The way its written, its relatively straightforward to interpret.  To do something more stringent would make it more difficult to measure and determine, in my opinion.

"where part of the ball is below the level of the ground."

Seems to be good enough

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...