Jump to content
Effington

Gimmes

84 posts / 2109 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

5 hours ago, boogielicious said:

Inside the multi-compound elastomer.

thingima-jig?  Rolls-off the tongue better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Most of the golf I play is match play for money. We give putts, but nothing too difficult. My normal group consists of all low handicap players and we are very competitive.

 There's nothing wrong with giving putts either to others or to yourself. I've played with guys so serious they are adamant they putt everything out. I personally don't care if they want to putt everything out, except for the fact they tend to slow everything down. All I ask those type of guys to do is, if they have to putt out every 2 footer that they don't look at it from four sides and plumb bob it for 4 minutes. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, NM Golf said:

Most of the golf I play is match play for money. We give putts, but nothing too difficult. My normal group consists of all low handicap players and we are very competitive.

 There's nothing wrong with giving putts either to others or to yourself. I've played with guys so serious they are adamant they putt everything out. I personally don't care if they want to putt everything out, except for the fact they tend to slow everything down. All I ask those type of guys to do is, if they have to putt out every 2 footer that they don't look at it from four sides and plumb bob it for 4 minutes. 

The only reason I can think of for not taking in casual games is for handicap recording. This brings up a query for me when it comes to what @iacas said about most likely score so here it is.

If I determine that I make 51% of putts from 5 feet, would it be allowed for me to take all of those (and anything inside) as gimmes and still record the round for handicap?

I wouldn't do such a thing, but it makes for a little more discussion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, Bonvivant said:

The only reason I can think of for not taking in casual games is for handicap recording. This brings up a query for me when it comes to what @iacas said about most likely score so here it is.

If I determine that I make 51% of putts from 5 feet, would it be allowed for me to take all of those (and anything inside) as gimmes and still record the round for handicap?

I wouldn't do such a thing, but it makes for a little more discussion.

Ah, but you would be missing out on shooting better scores if your make percentage of 5 footers went up to 65%.  Just giving you a hard time here but that would be like me saying I average 74 per round and not even having to bother with the expense or time of going out to play golf today, just put down a 74.  Remember, those 5 footers build character... or tear it down.  😁

Edited by Double Mocha Man

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Ah, but you would be missing out on shooting better scores if your make percentage of 5 footers went up to 65%.  Just giving you a hard time here but that would be like me saying I average 74 per round and not even having to bother with the expense or time of going out to play golf today, just put down a 74.  Remember, those 5 footers build character... or tear it down.  😁

That's kind of the point. The most likely score should be reserved for rounds that are unable to be completed if you have already completed the required 13 holes or whatever it is. The only place gimmes have in golf is during match play IMO. The more gimmes you take in stroke play, the weaker a golfer you are (also IMO).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, Bonvivant said:

The only reason I can think of for not taking in casual games is for handicap recording. This brings up a query for me when it comes to what @iacas said about most likely score so here it is.

If I determine that I make 51% of putts from 5 feet, would it be allowed for me to take all of those (and anything inside) as gimmes and still record the round for handicap?

I wouldn't do such a thing, but it makes for a little more discussion.

Personally, I would never view a 5 footer as a "gimme". In our game you would rarely get a putt of that length given to you unless you were completely out of a hole and we were just tired of watching you hack it around.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, NM Golf said:

Personally, I would never view a 5 footer as a "gimme". In our game you would rarely get a putt of that length given to you unless you were completely out of a hole and we were just tired of watching you hack it around.

I completely agree. The point is more about most likely score and potential abuse.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Like most things in life, there's a time and place for almost anything. Gimmes are no different. 

Casual , for fun rounds, where a true score is not an issue, golfers should play how ever they want. Gimmes do offer a faster pace of play in these types of round. 

I do believe the unmade, picked up putt should be counted, but to each their own. 

If the round being played is sanctioned, or for handicap purposes, then gimmes are a form cheating. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, Bonvivant said:

The only reason I can think of for not taking in casual games is for handicap recording. This brings up a query for me when it comes to what @iacas said about most likely score so here it is.

If I determine that I make 51% of putts from 5 feet, would it be allowed for me to take all of those (and anything inside) as gimmes and still record the round for handicap?

I wouldn't do such a thing, but it makes for a little more discussion.

You’d give yourself one stroke for the first one and two for the next one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, iacas said:

You’d give yourself one stroke for the first one and two for the next one.

But if he ended his round on #18 with a 5 foot automatic 1-putt he'd be under his 51% average.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

But if he ended his round on #18 with a 5 foot automatic 1-putt he'd be under his 51% average.

That would just be abusing the rule for the sake of abusing it.     That said, if you give yourself 51 of your next 100 5 footers, it’ll all weigh out in the end on your handicap. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, lastings said:

That would just be abusing the rule for the sake of abusing it.     That said, if you give yourself 51 of your next 100 5 footers, it’ll all weigh out in the end on your handicap. 

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

34 minutes ago, iacas said:

You’d give yourself one stroke for the first one and two for the next one.

What if I want to putt the next one? If I end up missing it, do I get to take the one after that? Even the USGA says it should always be a gimme from 5 feet on their site, seen here.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/handicapping/roh/Content/rules/3 3 When a Hole is Started but Player does not Hole Out.htm#:~:text=The most likely score is,during play of the hole.

I'm only bring this up because you mentioned that most likely score is a rule, and I think it is a bad one when it comes to anything other than a round being not completable.

If you look at the bottom example (more than 20 yards), it says 3-4 strokes should be added. Can I just tee off on a par 5 and then pick up and call it a par?

I know that the answer to this is "no" because it has to be a "valid" reason (most likely a 4 ball format or match play). It just irks me that they even have it in there at all, besides unfinished rounds which are easy to calculate based on a players HDCP.

And one final note: I'm just playing devils advocate here. I think that it is mostly good for discussion, but generally fruitless.

Edited by Bonvivant

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

What if I want to putt the next one? If I end up missing it, do I get to take the one after that? Even the USGA says it should always be a gimme from 5 feet on their site, seen here.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/handicapping/roh/Content/rules/3 3 When a Hole is Started but Player does not Hole Out.htm#:~:text=The most likely score is,during play of the hole.

I'm only bring this up because you mentioned that most likely score is a rule, and I think it is a bad one when it comes to anything other than a round being not completable.

Wow!  Looks like the USGA is conceding those 5 footers at a make rate of 100%!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Wow!  Looks like the USGA is conceding those 5 footers at a make rate of 100%!

Yup, even to the 36 HDCP players....no caveat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

I need to find a rules book that concedes my 10 footers!

If PoP gets bad enough, the USGA might instate it. It seems that acceptable PoP will be 3.5 hours per 9 by 2030 if trends continue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Also, to add to all of this.  As far as the rules go for handicap purposes, no one really cares if you’re taking gimmies.   Feel free.   Take a couple 10 footers every round for all I care.  Get that handicap nice and low, then let’s play for some money, and see how well that handicap holds up. 

Edited by lastings

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • Head of my home organization has approved my involvement with this excursion.. So barring anything out of my control I am looking forward to it. Big part of the reason for my immediate interest is that these courses (especially Mammoth) were already on my short list of destinations to plan a trip next year including Cabot Cliffs/Links and Streamsong, which I will plan for the following years to come now.  Anyway, couldn't be happier to join this group. Hopefully the planet will still be rotating Eastward next July as it is today...😉 
    • It certainly could depend on the format.  If you need 4 scores from 5 players, for instance, maybe you could take a flyer on one guy like that.  If its match play, maybe you can take a risk on losing just one match really quickly.  But if you put out 6 players needing 6 scores, do you take the chance that one player's poor day kills the entire team's chances?  I'd still take solid and steady in most circumstances, I'd still prefer to BE Mr. Consistent.
    • Well, played final round at home course yesterday and checked off #10.  Should have pared #17 but stupid 3 putt, should not have happened!  Overall for the year I golfed 11 rounds at the course, got par on 12 holes, no birdies.  The holes I failed to par are the 1,2,3,4,10 & 14 Handicap holes. The #14 handicap hole was a par-3 and I can't believe I never got par on it.  The #10 handicap was the hole I 3-putted for bogey yesterday.  
    • I think in a big match, like an NCAA Championship, the coach might want to roll the dice and go with Mr. Erratic to have a chance of winning.  Or of finishing last.  The "all-or-nothing approach" .
    • I've never been on a college golf team, or even high school, but I think Mr. Erratic might not get a lot of playing time.  If the coach can't depend on you to at least play "decent", why would he select you to play you at all?  I'd rather be Mr. Consistent.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. billymo2
      billymo2
      (28 years old)
    2. bostonboy9416
      bostonboy9416
      (20 years old)
    3. kpaulhus
      kpaulhus
      (33 years old)
    4. StuBo84
      StuBo84
      (36 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...