Jump to content
IGNORED

Cheating at Meet-Ups


Recommended Posts

My buddy and I had a few things in league last year, but we generally didn't make much of a fuss about it if it didn't impact the outcome of our matches because it was the lowest flight at our club and most people in that flight are there to drink beer and have fun.

I caught one group fluffing their lies in the rough a couple of times, but the two guys are everyone's favorite at the club so it wasn't worth bringing it up. They also were quite high handicaps (and definitely vanity caps even at that) so it didn't make any kind of difference.

Another guy hit his tee shot right near some white stakes in a group of bushes but found it "literally right on the line." He then duffed his second shot and punched out his third. After he came out of the bushes, he laughed and said "wow, my second shot went backward," which would seem to mean it must have been OB. But, my partner and I were on the other side of the hole, so we didn't have any view of the ball to call him on it.

We also played with a guy who only had a few rounds of golf played at the time. He started giving himself free drops when he couldn't find his ball and raking putts he felt were gimmes before we said anything. We tried to find the balance of kindly teaching him the rules while also ensuring he knew that we were applying the penalty strokes because they were affecting the outcome of holes (over 9 holes, he was getting 13 strokes against me, so every extra shot really mattered). This one was definitely awkward because he was getting upset as it appears his friends never make him play by the rules. Not so much blatant cheating as unknowingly not following the rules.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
19 hours ago, iacas said:

But seriously, people… when have you seen people cheat? What did you or someone else do about it? Let's hear the stories.

I can't say I've ever seen anyone cheating, but I did have a pretty uncomfortable thing happen a few years ago.  I was playing in a 2-day stroke play event at my club, paired with two friends.  On the 16th, a medium length par 3, one of them hit a shot that came up short.  He turned around and said "Let me give you some advice..." and I started waving my arms "...take an extra club, the wind is against".  I told him that's a penalty, you can't DO that.  The other friend suggested that he didn't really mean to give advice, I had to tell him that when you begin a sentence by saying "Let me give you some advice..." that the intention was pretty clearly to give advice.  We're still friends, but I hated to do what I really HAD to do.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, aannddyy00 said:

It’s not a penalty. 
 

If you asked him, that’s a penalty. 

Rule 10.2 

During a round, a player must not:

  • Give advice to anyone in the competition who is playing on the course,

Rule 10.2

Edited by dennyjones
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

 I still can't imagine how his ball silently ricocheted 50 yards back toward the fairway.  I wish I had watched him closer during the search.

I see that happen once or twice a year. It does happen and the search team is not focused on the fairway, so it is ignored. If a ball hits a tree line, I would think the ball would/could wind up on the fairway side more often than it does.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
23 hours ago, aannddyy00 said:

Next you’ll tell me I can’t post a solo round. 😉

Is that a new rule? I always thought you couldn’t solicit advice. 

I just looked up a random time period, this is from the RoG from 1980-1984:

Quote

Rule 9.  Advice (Def. 2) and Assistance
1.  Giving or Asking for Advice; Receiving Assistance
a. Advice
A player may give advice to, or ask advice from, only his partner or either of their caddies.

A player may GIVE advice to . . .  ONLY his partner.  This has been the rule for as long as I've been playing golf.

 

Edited by DaveP043
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I've had a few. Mostly folks who have trouble with addition of score on a hole that I have helped correct in cases where it mattered. Mostly in a nice way like @bkuehn1952.

But my 'best' experience is at the cc I was a member at for couple of years. One of a prominent members in our co-ed league had this habit of picking up the ball and shoving the marker a loooong way forward past the ball location in a swift single motion. It was fairly crafty actually when it was only a few mm off. But many times she would shove the marker 4-6 inches closer to the hole even in plain sight and it would be so blatant that we would all cringe. One of guys asked her to mark it again properly in our co-ed league once. She indignantly said 'no' but the marking seemed clean for rest of the round. He fumed no one else spoke up including myself and I regret it. 

I heard she got called out at once at a husband-wife format tourney. Not sure if she still does it don't think leopards change their spots so easily. 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjan21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Good question.  I don't have a degree in agronomy but I think it's because if the turf freezes over night and then it's thawing out in the morning footsteps can do damage. But if it's hard frozen after several days apparently you're good to go.
    • So... I'm not knowledgeable about this, but I believe we can't play with frost because that damages the grass.  Why are sub-freezing rounds allowed?  Wouldn't the grass be damaged then too?  (And for the record, I'm happy to play in the mid-30s, but not when the wind is more than 20mph.)
    • Day 409: Lesson / iron fitting today. I've managed to tame the hook issue and I'm not shoving my right hand over anymore to close the clubface and catch up with my hips/core. Ball flight is on target and my miss is a push that doesn't draw. Still hit an occasional nasty hook, but those are becoming much less frequent. I'm still stuck on AoA of 0.5-2 degrees down, when it was previously more in the range of 2-4 degrees down. My sternum is just hanging slightly back, so working on this is the priority piece for this month. 
    • The timing of this post was perfect for me. I watched the video yesterday, and did an iron fitting with my instructor today. Thanks for the content! Points 1-3 were pretty well established through conversations with my instructor during lessons leading up to the fitting, as well as email exchanges. I thought I had narrowed down my choices pretty well, but when I arrived and saw all the heads I requested lined up, I realized there was no way I would have time to sufficiently test all of them. We had another good talk and narrowed it down to four (down from maybe ten). Point 4, I was certainly prepared not to buy anything if the data suggested no improvement, but it was pretty apparent that the shaft/head combos I was testing were noticeably better than my current set. Point 5, we accomplished this by rotating through the head/shaft combos multiple times, and then throwing out data that were clearly poor swings, and doing multiple passes with different shafts, and switching back to a previous shaft, and basically randomizing the combinations a bit. In the end, we eliminated quite a few shots to get what felt like a representative data set. The thing that I wasn't prepared for was the physical aspect of the fitting (working from home has taken a toll on my physical fitness). It's been awhile since I've just hit ball after ball after ball like that. When I practice, I might hit 15-20 balls over a period of 45 minutes, with lots of conscious thought and feel rehearsals between each ball. In the end all of the options that I tested performed similarly better than my current set, so I went with the set that I preferred the look and feel/sound of the best.
    • Will the music be like when they play AC/DC between plays in College Football? Maybe have a marching band between the front & back nine? And we watch the Masters to see the beer commercials?
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 99prblms
      99prblms
      (38 years old)
    2. CalcuttaLive
      CalcuttaLive
      (35 years old)
    3. Chipster
      Chipster
      (51 years old)
    4. CollinsJordan
      CollinsJordan
      (41 years old)
    5. joed1
      joed1
      (58 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...