Jump to content

Possible Fake Clubs at Hurricane Golf?

Recommended Posts

So I just bought a new set of irons. I had wanted 3 or 4-pw,gw, however I got a great deal on a 5-pw set. Figured I'd just buy a 3 and 4 iron or utility irons to round out the set. Then I saw this on hurricane golf. New Adams Idea super 9031 proto hybrids. https://www.hurricanegolf.com/close-out-golf-equipment/close-out-hybrids/adams-super-9031-hybrids.html . I haven't played golf for too long and when I started I had wanted to eventually have a few Adams clubs in the bag. However, when I started looking to purchase Adams clubs there was nothing to buy. Apparently Taylormade bought them, took their intellectual property and shelved the brand. So I found these and was immediately excited. Then I noticed a few things, it was black, had a star key weight, and came with Grafalloy prolaunch shaft. The original was white, had a triangle key weight, and came with a Mitsubishi shaft. I was able to find a few pics of used models with black heads on google, all labeled as "tour issue". However, they all had the triangle key weight. It appears that Adams started using star keyed weights on their clubs before being acquired but I can't find any pictures of this model with them that doesn't originate with hurricanegolf.com or their ebay store. Is it possible that Adams golf had a batch of these with star keys, and what's with the shafts? Did hurricane just have some parts laying around and put these together? Could they be fake? For the record I've bought clubs from hurricane once before and everything was in order. However, seeing as how these clubs are from 2013-2014 and they're selling them "new" and they're different to the original, my eyebrows have been officially raised. They did offer the original at one point.  What does everyone think? If they're legit I want them in the bag. Plenty of tour pros are still gaming Adams hybrids.


When tour pros and better players talk, we listen. That's how we became and continue to be the #1 hybrids played on tour…...


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • iacas changed the title to Possible Fake Clubs at Hurricane Golf?

I don't know your answer. But you may just want to contact Hurricane Golf and ask them for an explanation. If their reluctant to give you one, or if it doesn't jive in your mind you could always balk. 

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 months later...

I bought them. Heads are legit. Shafts were installed with the logo up which is off putting and the grips are trash. New grips and a shaft pull should solve the problem. I'll still  probably replace them with a long iron or utility iron. I just can't  ever figure out if I'm hitting  an iron or fairway wood. My first set was 1,3,5, 3-pw so I guess  I'm just more use to irons. They fly good when you middle them.

Link to post
Share on other sites

No such thing as a fake club. If it has a head, shaft and grip and can hit a ball it’s a real club. Your talking about a fake name, who cares about the name if the club works?

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
9 hours ago, tinker said:

No such thing as a fake club. If it has a head, shaft and grip and can hit a ball it’s a real club. Your talking about a fake name, who cares about the name if the club works?

They are talking about counterfeit clubs. They most like are not made from the same molds or production lines and therefore will not perform as the OEM model. Also, it is illegal.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Sounds like a good time. And y'all should have better weather this year.
    • I would assume McIlroy is in pretty good shape so resting HR would be something in the 60s. He's just on the tee about to hit and it's almost double that.  
    • @billchao, @nevets88, @jamo and I try to get together for a round every year. We generally try to meet in the middle. We are looking to see if other New England, NY and NJ members are interested to get an idea of numbers and location. No date has been set. Bill and I are going to Erie June 12 to 17, so that week is out.  There is also the meet up in Wisconsin in July that Bill is going to. It would be a weekend day.  Let us know if any of you would be interested and I can map out a place and a potential date. 
    • Why? And couldn't a person grip the club in an Arm Lock style such that they keep their hand against their forearm, so the putter is only contacting their hands?
    • The arm lock putters seem to have a lot more loft and offset than regular putters. How about putting limits on those things? Or, how about just making a rule that says the only points of contact for any club is the hands.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. colegolf1
      (23 years old)
    2. mittens
      (55 years old)
    3. Northwoods88
      (33 years old)

  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...