IGNORED

Beginner Golf Bag Setup. Input Welcome!

I am a beginner golfer and carry my 7 iron 135yards.
My bag currently looks like this..
10.5*driver
17*hl 3w
21* 5w
18* 2hybrid
24* 4hybrid
27* 5 hybrid
7i-pw
52* GW
56* SW
60* LW

I recently replaced my 21* 3hybrid when i added the 3w as i wanted another option off the tee really, my yardage gaps are pretty good,i just wonder if i am too top heavy with my set up? I hit my 5w very well and so dont want to take it out,whereas i like my 2h out the rough and as a more penetrating ball flight.
I dont carry a 6 iron as i hit my 7 iron just as far and my 5 hybrid can cover that distance gap.
Any thoughts would be great...

1 hour ago, Ammers2021 said:

10.5*driver
17*hl 3w
21* 5w
18* 2hybrid
24* 4hybrid
27* 5 hybrid
7i-pw
52* GW
56* SW
60* LW

I recently replaced my 21* 3hybrid when i added the 3w as i wanted another option off the tee really, my yardage gaps are pretty good,i just wonder if i am too top heavy with my set up? I hit my 5w very well and so dont want to take it out,whereas i like my 2h out the rough and as a more penetrating ball flight.
I dont carry a 6 iron as i hit my 7 iron just as far and my 5 hybrid can cover that distance gap.

Plus a putter of course!

2 hours ago, Ammers2021 said:

10.5*driver
17*hl 3w
21* 5w
18* 2hybrid
24* 4hybrid
27* 5 hybrid
7i-pw
52* GW
56* SW
60* LW

I think your set make up looks fine. I do not at all think you are too top heavy. You may get varied opinions on this but I think as long as you have a club which you feel confident you can use from a greenside bunker, you have what you need at the bottom end. Beginning golfers aren't likely to pull off a lot of flop shots, so simple chipping is probably way more important. If you can chip with a few of the clubs at the bottom end, that's probably fine. 

1 hour ago, Ammers2021 said:

Plus a putter of course!

Dang, you beat me to it. I was going to jokingly suggest a putter. 

• Thanks 2
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades