Jump to content
IGNORED

Ball Moved as I Putted It


Recommended Posts

I had a putt and it was windy that day with crusty fast greens. I had a 10 foot birdie putt and I lipped it out and had 8 inches left. I did not mark it. I walked up, took my time, and when I took the putter back and as I changed directions the ball moved at least 4 mm and I don't really know for sure whether I hit it while it was moving or not. I gave myself a penalty even thought he rule of the ball moving has changed. If I did not cause the ball to move there is no penalty and I did not cause this ball to move. But what is the rule if you actually hit the ball while it moves? Or even if it stopped moving and you hit it without placing the ball back in it's original spot. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • iacas changed the title to Ball Moved as I Putted It
  • Administrator

Let's help those who help themselves: what Rules did you look at in trying to come up with an answer to this one?

You can list them by name, by number… etc.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't have a rule book but I asked the tournament director and he could only talk about the rule to do with the ball moving at address. It's no longer a penalty if you are not deemed to have caused the ball to move. He talked about if the ball moved that you have to replace the ball but he could not give me a definitive ruling. He asked me if I hit the ball while it was moving and I said I wasn't sure, I just saw it move so it was close. Do you know the ruling?

Link to post
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, chop said:

I don't have a rule book but I asked the tournament director and he could only talk about the rule to do with the ball moving at address. It's no longer a penalty if you are not deemed to have caused the ball to move. He talked about if the ball moved that you have to replace the ball but he could not give me a definitive ruling. He asked me if I hit the ball while it was moving and I said I wasn't sure, I just saw it move so it was close. Do you know the ruling?

9.1b. What to Do When Ball Moves During Backswing or Stroke

If a player’s ball at rest begins moving after the player has begun the stroke or the backswing for a stroke and the player goes on to make the stroke:

  • The ball must not be replaced, no matter what caused it to move.

  • Instead, the player must play the ball from where it comes to rest after the stroke.

  • If the player caused the ball to move, see Rule 9.4b to find out if there is a penalty.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
7 hours ago, chop said:

I don't have a rule book

The Rules are available online.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html

I’m trying to encourage those who have questions to do a little digging themselves.

@Rulesman has given you the answer though.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, iacas said:

I’m trying to encourage those who have questions to do a little digging themselves.

 

Sorry. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

15 hours ago, iacas said:

The Rules are available online.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html

I’m trying to encourage those who have questions to do a little digging themselves.

@Rulesman has given you the answer though.

And there’s even an app for your phone.

Who'da thunk...?  😁

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 weeks later...

Thanks Rulesman. I appreciate the answer. Sorry to put anyone out. I won't ask anymore questions on rules ever. I'll just download a rulebook onto my phone and move along. Thanks iacas and David in FL for the encouragement and the download.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
5 minutes ago, chop said:

Thanks Rulesman. I appreciate the answer. Sorry to put anyone out. I won't ask anymore questions on rules ever. I'll just download a rulebook onto my phone and move along. Thanks iacas and David in FL for the encouragement and the download.

It's fine to ask a question. Just do a little to look into things yourself, first.

It's one of the best ways to learn.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Hey, he's entitled to his opinion.  I've never objected to anyone saying they vote for Jack.  I only object when they start trying to justify their opinion with the kind of non-factual nonsense that is contained in the thousands of messages in this thread.  Or this latest nonsense of DiMarco somehow "gifting" the Masters to Tiger.  It's like saying Rocco 'gifted' the 2008 US Open to Tiger by driving it into a bunker on the 91st hole. But I respect his right to his opinion, even though I think it is unsupported by the facts.  Not everyone has dived into the topic as deeply as we have in this thread, and it is indisputable that the 18>15 criterion is still being peddled whole-heartedly by much of the golf media.  So there are a lot of people whoo still reflect that.
    • Now you’re just being smarmy and patronizing. I’m sad for you and your poor decision making. And sad for the people you may infect because you couldn’t do your duty as a citizen. You’ve never had any of the diseases you were already vaccinated for but chose to not participate in this one. The state of Wyoming has died and you couldn’t give a sh*t.
    • I’m glad that you’re comfortable with the decision you made.  
    • Well statistically that’s silly. But nostalgically …to each his own.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CathyKnarr
      CathyKnarr
      (28 years old)
    2. Club Greg
      Club Greg
      (58 years old)
    3. Cnich
      Cnich
      (31 years old)
    4. Douglas Reedy
      Douglas Reedy
      (40 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...