Jump to content
IGNORED

Assumed Lost Ball in Water Hazard


Recommended Posts

A situation occurred today that we never experienced before.  One of the fellows that I was playing with, hit a low approach shot (approx. 185 yds out) to a green that had water along the left side. He was on the left side of fairway, while myself and another player were on the right side. We didn't see his shot (one of the dis-advantages of playing ready golf), and he himself lost site of it inflight. He couldn't find it anywhere on/around the greed, so he assumed it went in the lateral water hazard. He took a penalty shoot, dropped another ball where he guessed it went in, and played that ball several times more. When he got near the hole, he discovered his original ball was in the hole!!!!

The other player said since he declared his first ball lost, took a penalty stoke and played the second one several times more, that the original ball was no longer in play, and the eagle did not count! Was this the correct ruling? If so, seems to be a cruel rule.

Hope someone can shed more light on this situation, thanks

Sarge

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator

As Bill says, once the original is holed, the hole is over for that player.  Anything else that the player does is immaterial, for the most part.  I think its possible that the player could do something to get the General Penalty, such as giving advice, assuming his opponent still has a chance to tie.  If the opponent cannot tie, the hole is over.  Check rule 6.5.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Be aware that this player had no idea that his ball was in the hole so he had no clue where it was. He was searching for it on the green. For this reason he was mistaken in assuming it was in the water.

You can only assume that the ball was in the penalty area or (water hazard) if you are virtually certain it is. Pretty much meaning you saw it going in. In the description of events, the player was not at all certain, he just took a guess. Not the same thing.

The important thing here is that the ball was holed. Finding the ball in the hole is not the same as finding it 20 yards further up than you thought it was.

The ball was holed and it is an eagle. The hole is finished once the ball is in the hole.

Link to post
Share on other sites

We battle something different but related. Our 8th tee has a pond that is hidden from the tee. If you've never played there, you'd never know it was there. It is only a few yards off the fairway so it is extremely common to have balls go in there.

image.png

The argument begins on where to drop. The line I drew here has the ball going in just right of the oak tree there. It is a very common line. However, once the ball goes in there because we couldn't see it go in, we are forced to use the drop area. Recently they have put the drop area almost at the start of the water. It now becomes an impossible shot to the green because of the trees. A drive 5 yards off the fairway is an immediate best case double.

image.png

If you drop on that corner where the ball went in you can get at most pin positions. Seems the rules are very punishing here because we could not verify where it went in.

P.S. I HATE THIS HOLE. (phew, there I feel better after getting that off my chest)

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 minutes ago, mchepp said:

 

If you drop on that corner where the ball went in you can get at most pin positions. Seems the rules are very punishing here because we could not verify where it went in.

 

That's better than playing three off the tee which is really what should be happening. The club is being generous by letting people drop from a drop zone.

They probably started doing that to get around what some would think is a grey area in the rule and its interpretation.

The question that should be asked every time is. "How do you know it didn't bounce off one of the trees somewhere else in the rough and are you sure it isn't under a leaf somewhere?"

  • Like 1
  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Shorty said:

That's better than playing three off the tee which is really what should be happening. The club is being generous by letting people drop from a drop zone.

They probably started doing that to get around what some would think is a grey area in the rule and its interpretation.

The question that should be asked every time is. "How do you know it didn't bounce off one of the trees somewhere else in the rough and are you sure it isn't under a leaf somewhere?"

Interesting. So if there is no drop area we would need to re-tee?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, mchepp said:

Interesting. So if there is no drop area we would need to re-tee?

Absolutely, unless you see the ball going into the water. "Virtual certainty" implies that the ball couldn't possibly be anywhere else. I see lots of trees and rough in your photos.

  • Like 2
  • Upvote 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

(edited)
12 hours ago, mchepp said:

Interesting. So if there is no drop area we would need to re-tee?

Not necessarily. Providing you have virtual certainty that the the ball is in the penalty area.

It depends on the colour of the markings. See Rule 17.1d https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=17

Yellow - you could go 'Back on the Line'. ie estimate the point where the ball last crossed into the margin of the penalty area. Take a line from the hole, through that point back as far as you wish within 1 cl of the line.

Red - as above or  'Lateral Relief' within 2cl of that point not nearer the hole

Edited by Rulesman
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
3 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Not necessarily. It depends on the colour of the markings. See Rule 17.1d https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=17

Yellow - you could go 'Back on the Line'. ie estimate the point where the ball last crossed into the margin of the penalty area. Take a line from the hole, through that point back as far as you wish within 1 cl of the line.

Red - as above or  'Lateral Relief' within 2cl of that point not nearer the hole

I think that @mchepp was considering a hole where you can't see exactly where the ball ends up.  @Shorty has suggested the player wouldn't be likely to be Virtually Certain that the ball ended up in the Penalty Area, it could be lost among the trees and rough along that side of the hole, and based on what I see from the photo I agree with him.  In that case, you would have to take stroke and distance relief.  Without Virtual Certainty, use of a drop area wouldn't be acceptable.

But we're a long ways off from the original topic, that of a ball holed without the player's knowledge.  Which brings me to an issue I mentioned earlier.  Even though the player has completed the hole, could he still lose the hole by getting the General Penalty for something like advice?  I'm assuming the Player is in for 2, as an example, and his Opponent is getting ready to hit his second shot, so the hole has not yet been decided.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)
2 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

Which brings me to an issue I mentioned earlier.  Even though the player has completed the hole, could he still lose the hole by getting the General Penalty for something like advice?  I'm assuming the Player is in for 2, as an example, and his Opponent is getting ready to hit his second shot, so the hole has not yet been decided.

Yes. General Penalty. Loss of Hole.

 

Edited by Rulesman
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Best part about this pit stop is that they did more than the pit stops in the videos above. Not only did they change the tires, they also adjusted the front wing at the same time on both sides. All in under 2 seconds still.
    • If it was about skill, and if the green reading books made bad putters better than they otherwise would perform, we'd see the worst putters on tour being closer to the best putters because there is less of a skill gap between the two. Instead we see that the gap between the best and the worst at putting has only grown larger since the widespread introduction of green reading books. This means they have not had any measurable impact on a player's ability to putt well, because it isn't allowing the worst putters on tour to keep up with the best like you would see if some part of the game took less skill suddenly. I ignored the skill issue because claiming it's a matter of skill is patently ridiculous, and provably false. They can say whatever they like, doesn't mean a word of it is true.
    • I have been thinking of this for a bit now and it happened to me yesterday, where I hit only 2 of 4 par-5s in regulation.   I am not sure what a realistic expectation for me should be.  I feel I should be able to make routine pars on these, or at least routine GIRs.  I try (I am not always successful, but I generally try) to not go for a pin from outside of 80 yards, focusing instead on getting on the green.  But even with that, maybe I should think more about what a realistic expectation for me on a par-5 is. I am always happy with a GIR.  Yesterday I hit 6 GIR, I don't think I was inside 25 feet on any of them, and I played those six holes in a total of +1.  I think that's a pretty good outcome for 6 GIRs, especially since I didn't make any of the birdie putts (which, again, were all low probability anyway).  
    • I saw that, I wish it was more tailored towards older teens than kids. It might be more as a cartoon style over an anime style. I will probably check it out.  FFIX is my 2nd favorite FF games I have played.  1. FFXII 2. FFIX 3. FFX 4. FFVII Remake 5. FFXV 6. FFVII 7. FFVIII I just like FFXII for the combat system, and the characters. I think it is overlooked in the FF series. It wasn't ground breaking, but just very good. I enjoyed playing that series the most. 
    • This is in the definitions in the Rules, and its Nearest Point of Complete Relief.  Your second paragraph is reasonably accurate, although you should generally look at COMPLETE relief to either side of the path, and determine which potential Reference point is closer to the original position of the ball..  Diagram 16.1a shows this pretty clearly. https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16 The underlined portion of your post is generally wrong
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. benharris
      benharris
      (29 years old)
    2. Erik Tedfelt
      Erik Tedfelt
      (26 years old)
    3. ForcedCarry21
      ForcedCarry21
      (30 years old)
    4. hlan
      hlan
      (36 years old)
    5. Hookman
      Hookman
      (29 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...