Jump to content
IGNORED

Hensby Receives Ten Penalty Strokes


Recommended Posts

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, StuM said:

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

But this issue was playing a different type of ball. Not just changing balls.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

44 minutes ago, StuM said:

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. 

In certain circumstances you can now.

45 minutes ago, StuM said:

Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

Primarily on the Tours and in some competitions where the organisers want people to think it's a 'big boys' event.

Link to post
Share on other sites

43 minutes ago, woodzie264 said:

Good on him for his honesty - with that being only his 2nd tourn in 3 years, I’m sure he could’ve used the money

Yep.  That would’ve been very easy to ignore, had he been of a mind to.

Good for him!

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
6 hours ago, saevel25 said:

For a 10 stroke penalty, my mind went to an equipment issue like too many clubs or something. 

Well, the golf ball is part of the equipment, you were right on target.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For me, this highlights the 2019 rule change that no longer limits this type of penalty to 4 strokes (or the error/mistake being active for 2 holes), but instead carries on, per hole, until the problem is corrected.  That is something I just learned now, so thanks, I guess?

FWIW, this means that if you forget a 15th club in your bag and play the whole round with it, you need to add a cool 36 strokes to your (let's call it not great to begin with) 95, to end up with an absurdly high smooth 131!  Wow.  The only silver lining I see is that since you get to only record a net double for handicap purposes, that round may end up being recorded with ESC as a 104 instead...  🙂

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 6/12/2021 at 3:34 PM, sjduffers said:

FWIW, this means that if you forget a 15th club in your bag and play the whole round with it, you need to add a cool 36 strokes to your (let's call it not great to begin with) 95, to end up with an absurdly high smooth 131!  Wow.  The only silver lining I see is that since you get to only record a net double for handicap purposes, that round may end up being recorded with ESC as a 104 instead...  🙂

That is not correct. The maximum penalty per round for more than 14 clubs is 4 strokes. See rule 4.1b. 

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

6 hours ago, reidsou said:

That is not correct. The maximum penalty per round for more than 14 clubs is 4 strokes. See rule 4.1b. 

Indeed. I stand corrected. Thanks.

I knew about this 4 strokes maximum in the pre-2019 rules, but with this ruling of two strokes per hole for 5 holes for using the wrong ball, I would imagine (and apparently, I did imagine) that the same would apply to too many clubs. I see that's not the case, and now I am even more confused. Why or why not? What's the difference? In both cases, improper equipment is being used (and most likely not consciously in both cases): why penalize one case with 2 strokes per hole until corrected, but only for a maximum of 2 two holes in the case of too many clubs?  SMH...

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, sjduffers said:

I knew about this 4 strokes maximum in the pre-2019 rules, but with this ruling of two strokes per hole for 5 holes for using the wrong ball, I would imagine (and apparently, I did imagine) that the same would apply to too many clubs. I see that's not the case, and now I am even more confused. Why or why not? What's the difference? In both cases, improper equipment is being used (and most likely not consciously in both cases): why penalize one case with 2 strokes per hole until corrected, but only for a maximum of 2 two holes in the case of too many clubs?  SMH...

The player did not violate rule 4.2a that covers non-conforming golf balls. The penalty for breaking that rule is DQ.

Instead, the player broke the "one ball rule" - see Committee Procedures chapter 8, model local rule G-4. The player gets the general penalty (two strokes) for each hole mistakenly played with a different brand or model ball (until the mistake is discovered). Intentionally playing a different brand or model penalty is DQ. See the rule for details.   

Link to post
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, reidsou said:

The player did not violate rule 4.2a that covers non-conforming golf balls. The penalty for breaking that rule is DQ.

Instead, the player broke the "one ball rule" - see Committee Procedures chapter 8, model local rule G-4. The player gets the general penalty (two strokes) for each hole mistakenly played with a different brand or model ball (until the mistake is discovered). Intentionally playing a different brand or model penalty is DQ. See the rule for details.   

Thanks for that. But why a 2 strokes penalty per hole for unintentionally playing the wrong type of ball, until the mistake is discovered and rectified, while at the same time the penalty for unintentionally playing with too many clubs is capped at 2 strokes penalty for 2 holes maximum (only). What is different between those two, and how does that make any sense?

I agree that one is a general rule applying to all golfers and the other is a local rule applying to high level competitions only. Is that it?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

Because playing with a different ball may not be consecutive. Maybe someone plays a higher spin ball on par threes. Or a lower spin ball on par fives.

15 clubs is consecutive.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I googled the reason for it and it also mentions that you also can’t change ball color as well for an advantage, but I’m having trouble coming up with something where the ball color changing during a round would be some type of advantage.   In other words, you can’t even use the exact same ball model with different colors in a round,

anyone come up with changing ball color during the round somehow would help?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
43 minutes ago, imsys0042 said:

I googled the reason for it and it also mentions that you also can’t change ball color as well for an advantage, but I’m having trouble coming up with something where the ball color changing during a round would be some type of advantage.   In other words, you can’t even use the exact same ball model with different colors in a round,

anyone come up with changing ball color during the round somehow would help?

They're different models of the ball. So they're two separate entries on the conforming ball list.

So you've technically "changed balls." That's all.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, sjduffers said:

I agree that one is a general rule applying to all golfers and the other is a local rule applying to high level competitions only. Is that it?

Yes

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Or, he understands how it transfers, and he was only around his wife for two months. He didn't need to get tested… because in getting tested, maybe he would have gone out more than he did in isolating at home, perhaps? You are making a LOT of assumptions, as you often do, @Shorty. Cool it.
    • The Club at Lac La Belle - 6.5 I wasn't a big fan of this course. It was beautiful and well-maintained, but I found parts of it to be a little contrived. It's definitely a target golf course and for someone like me who is wild off the tee, it took all the fun of strategizing out of it because the risks were just too high. I did like that there was variety in the course layout with a good mix of short/long, right/left, uphill/downhill holes. I'm not sure I'd make a trip out to this one again if I'm ever back in the area for golf, but it's less than 10 minutes away from a delicious French bakery with the best croissants I have ever had, so that bumps up the score a little  I'd go back just for the croissants. The Sandbox - 7.0 This little 17 hole par 3 course was just fun. It gave you different looks and a variety of options for play. I really liked it and tried a bunch of different things I normally wouldn't have on a regular course. A 7.0 is probably the most I'd give to a par 3 course, though. Lawsonia Links - 7.5 I really enjoyed this course. Overall I found the layout to be good. There were plenty of places to miss, but you still needed to hit good golf shots to play well. I liked the way the mounds and bunkers were designed to play with the shape of the holes visually. There were really only a couple of holes I didn't like - 13 in particular, even though I made par both times using completely different strategies. It's just bordering on too many blind shots for me, though. I'd definitely play this course again if I have the chance. Mammoth Dunes - 8.5 This course was spectacular to look at - absolutely visually stunning. The pictures don't do it justice because they fail to capture the scale of everything. The place is massive. I'll echo what the others have wrote above: it's a journey. You feel like you're not going out to play a round of golf, but rather that you're going on an adventure while hitting a golf ball on the way. I understand now how some other reviews I've read or seen describe a feeling of getting lost, or losing your bearings for a bit. I wasn't thinking about routing. I had no idea where the clubhouse was. I didn't really care about any of it because I was out in this beautiful landscape. The golf itself for me was just there. I would be perfectly happy spending an afternoon just walking the course without playing it. And that's a bit of a detriment, because at the end of the day, it is a golf course. As a golf course, I found it didn't really matter much how you played it as long as you hit decent shots. There was certainly an ideal way to play the course well, and I hit some awful shots and paid the price for them, but plenty of just okay shots I got away with because of the layout. In the end that's fine. I don't need every course I play to be a grueling test of my skills.  I'd make a return trip and play this course again. Sand Valley - 9.0 This one is a golf course first and a spectacular view second. Where Mammoth Dunes focuses on the adventure, Sand Valley focuses on the golf. It's still visually stunning, but just not quite on the grand scale that Mammoth Dunes is. And Sand Valley does not let you forget for even one second that you're out there to do one thing: to play golf. I don't remember having a single shot out there that didn't require my undivided attention. The course absolutely punished you for missing your spots. But the flip side of that coin is that it was extremely rewarding to hit good shots there. An example is #8 mentioned above - I don't think I have ever felt so pleased to hit a GW to 35' before in my life, and I might never again. The course is a challenge in the best way. It makes you want to rise up to face it. I want to go back and battle it again. I shot my best score of the week with an 87 at Lawsonia, but it's the 94 the second time playing Sand Valley that I'm most proud of. Like Mammoth Dunes above, I'd make a return trip specifically to play this course again. Bonus Stuff The facilities at Sand Valley Golf Resort were top notch. The prices at the pro shop were fair. The food and drinks were also reasonably priced and delicious. The food truck at The Sandbox had the best food in the whole complex, IMO. Lac La Belle I felt was fancy but overpriced. I bought a polo at the pro shop at Sand Valley, but a similar shirt at Lac La Belle was like 50% more expensive. The golf carts had beautiful leather seats, but I absolutely hate geo-mapping on the GPS systems. I don't know how many times it slowed me down to tell me not to drive in the fescue even though I was driving parallel to it 20 yards away. Lawsonia had an older clubhouse and it certainly had a quaint feeling to it. That's not a bad thing. I did not look to see the prices they were charging for their merchandise.
    • Every YouTube video should start with a 10- to 45-minute diagnosis to make sure the video you're about to watch applies to you. There are a LOT of reasons why someone hits a slice. YouTube videos do not start with a 45-minute "disclaimer" because nobody would get through it. They just want to stop slicing, but if the video shows a fix for something that the student doesn't do, the video is less than worthless — it may actually cause more damage. Don't watch YouTube videos unless they're just working on some fundamental things, or you're very confident that what they're going to show you actually applies to you.
    • Day 274: worked on my priority pieces with a revised feel rehearsal. Results were an improvement. Trying to feel the left leg straighten and push the left hip back from A5 through impact. 
    • Played again today, a course I played a couple of times before and broke 90 easily. Shot 86 with 2x ob and one water hazard. The work that I put in the last year really shows and I feel that on the right course on the right day I could break 80 even this year. It probably won’t happen but that’s the goal for next season.    I see that I must work on 100 meters and in. So on one of the hardest holes which is a 440 yard par 4 I drove the ball over 310 and then had a pitching wedge in. It was a bit of an awkward stance but I was just left of the green. Almost chipped in but then messed up the comeback putt and instead of an easy par I made a bogey.    Maybe I’m being too hard on myself looking at the tour averages but I feel like that’s one area of the game I need to clean up - no 3 putts and more up and downs. And I really need to put more work / decide on how I want to pitch and then really let that sink in and finally get the distances for all 4 wedges for 1/2, 3/4 and full swings printed out and stick them on the clubs. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Armando Araujo
      Armando Araujo
      (46 years old)
    2. chris3putt
      chris3putt
      (54 years old)
    3. CrazyHorsePete
      CrazyHorsePete
      (34 years old)
    4. DHak20
      DHak20
      (44 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...