Jump to content
IGNORED

Hensby Receives Ten Penalty Strokes


Recommended Posts

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, StuM said:

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

But this issue was playing a different type of ball. Not just changing balls.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

44 minutes ago, StuM said:

I knew we could not change during  a hole but between holes was OK. 

In certain circumstances you can now.

45 minutes ago, StuM said:

Model Local Rule G-4 is a local rule so my question is, is it often used in other competitive rounds or primarily on the “Tours”?

Primarily on the Tours and in some competitions where the organisers want people to think it's a 'big boys' event.

Link to post
Share on other sites

43 minutes ago, woodzie264 said:

Good on him for his honesty - with that being only his 2nd tourn in 3 years, I’m sure he could’ve used the money

Yep.  That would’ve been very easy to ignore, had he been of a mind to.

Good for him!

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
6 hours ago, saevel25 said:

For a 10 stroke penalty, my mind went to an equipment issue like too many clubs or something. 

Well, the golf ball is part of the equipment, you were right on target.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For me, this highlights the 2019 rule change that no longer limits this type of penalty to 4 strokes (or the error/mistake being active for 2 holes), but instead carries on, per hole, until the problem is corrected.  That is something I just learned now, so thanks, I guess?

FWIW, this means that if you forget a 15th club in your bag and play the whole round with it, you need to add a cool 36 strokes to your (let's call it not great to begin with) 95, to end up with an absurdly high smooth 131!  Wow.  The only silver lining I see is that since you get to only record a net double for handicap purposes, that round may end up being recorded with ESC as a 104 instead...  🙂

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 6/12/2021 at 3:34 PM, sjduffers said:

FWIW, this means that if you forget a 15th club in your bag and play the whole round with it, you need to add a cool 36 strokes to your (let's call it not great to begin with) 95, to end up with an absurdly high smooth 131!  Wow.  The only silver lining I see is that since you get to only record a net double for handicap purposes, that round may end up being recorded with ESC as a 104 instead...  🙂

That is not correct. The maximum penalty per round for more than 14 clubs is 4 strokes. See rule 4.1b. 

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

6 hours ago, reidsou said:

That is not correct. The maximum penalty per round for more than 14 clubs is 4 strokes. See rule 4.1b. 

Indeed. I stand corrected. Thanks.

I knew about this 4 strokes maximum in the pre-2019 rules, but with this ruling of two strokes per hole for 5 holes for using the wrong ball, I would imagine (and apparently, I did imagine) that the same would apply to too many clubs. I see that's not the case, and now I am even more confused. Why or why not? What's the difference? In both cases, improper equipment is being used (and most likely not consciously in both cases): why penalize one case with 2 strokes per hole until corrected, but only for a maximum of 2 two holes in the case of too many clubs?  SMH...

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, sjduffers said:

I knew about this 4 strokes maximum in the pre-2019 rules, but with this ruling of two strokes per hole for 5 holes for using the wrong ball, I would imagine (and apparently, I did imagine) that the same would apply to too many clubs. I see that's not the case, and now I am even more confused. Why or why not? What's the difference? In both cases, improper equipment is being used (and most likely not consciously in both cases): why penalize one case with 2 strokes per hole until corrected, but only for a maximum of 2 two holes in the case of too many clubs?  SMH...

The player did not violate rule 4.2a that covers non-conforming golf balls. The penalty for breaking that rule is DQ.

Instead, the player broke the "one ball rule" - see Committee Procedures chapter 8, model local rule G-4. The player gets the general penalty (two strokes) for each hole mistakenly played with a different brand or model ball (until the mistake is discovered). Intentionally playing a different brand or model penalty is DQ. See the rule for details.   

Link to post
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, reidsou said:

The player did not violate rule 4.2a that covers non-conforming golf balls. The penalty for breaking that rule is DQ.

Instead, the player broke the "one ball rule" - see Committee Procedures chapter 8, model local rule G-4. The player gets the general penalty (two strokes) for each hole mistakenly played with a different brand or model ball (until the mistake is discovered). Intentionally playing a different brand or model penalty is DQ. See the rule for details.   

Thanks for that. But why a 2 strokes penalty per hole for unintentionally playing the wrong type of ball, until the mistake is discovered and rectified, while at the same time the penalty for unintentionally playing with too many clubs is capped at 2 strokes penalty for 2 holes maximum (only). What is different between those two, and how does that make any sense?

I agree that one is a general rule applying to all golfers and the other is a local rule applying to high level competitions only. Is that it?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

Because playing with a different ball may not be consecutive. Maybe someone plays a higher spin ball on par threes. Or a lower spin ball on par fives.

15 clubs is consecutive.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I googled the reason for it and it also mentions that you also can’t change ball color as well for an advantage, but I’m having trouble coming up with something where the ball color changing during a round would be some type of advantage.   In other words, you can’t even use the exact same ball model with different colors in a round,

anyone come up with changing ball color during the round somehow would help?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
43 minutes ago, imsys0042 said:

I googled the reason for it and it also mentions that you also can’t change ball color as well for an advantage, but I’m having trouble coming up with something where the ball color changing during a round would be some type of advantage.   In other words, you can’t even use the exact same ball model with different colors in a round,

anyone come up with changing ball color during the round somehow would help?

They're different models of the ball. So they're two separate entries on the conforming ball list.

So you've technically "changed balls." That's all.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, sjduffers said:

I agree that one is a general rule applying to all golfers and the other is a local rule applying to high level competitions only. Is that it?

Yes

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Which is why @iacas and TST instructors in general recommend priority pieces. This could really screw someone up who’s hip rotation wasn’t a priority piece or who’s hand/wrists movements were. I vote D-. Not an F purely because of his enthusiasm…lol.
    • For the record and for what it’s worth, I’m not a Xander fan. I just think he’s pretty good. 
    • Maybe. Maybe not. That’s why I said it “could be.” Statistically things aren’t in his favor because, as you mentioned, the field is pretty good. But he’s also pretty good—one of the best statistically-speaking. Sometimes just a little bit of success can spur one on to do more. He looks like he has the talent, so I guess we will just have to wait and see.  Curious: is there something in his game or swing you see that you don’t like? You’d know better than I, for sure. To me, he looks very solid. I didn’t know if maybe you saw something he needs to fix, just based it purely on the numbers, or the fact that you don’t like him and that your dislike of him could have tainted your view of him (even if deserved!). 
    • And I'd wager that within a reasonable version of "launching pad" it won't be. He won a weak, limited-field event. I'm sure it feels great - it's one event every FOUR years instead of majors which are four events every year (usually). But it's not even as good as winning a WGC event or the Masters or something (also limited field events) as an actual achievement. I'd be willing to wager that simply because: There are a lot of other good golfers out there. He hasn't done it yet, and for "this" to be the catalyst, he'd have to do it within the next year or so for this to be the "launching pad." Who cares if he, like Sergio, wins a major 15 years later? The 1999 PGA was not the launching pad for Sergio's Masters win. Nor were any of the Ryder Cups in which he played so well, etc.
    • Make some swings in a mirror and try different things. See what your feels produce. I don't really know what you mean by "using your knees" in this way, and quite honestly, I don't think you do either… not because you don't think you know, but because you're probably not doing what it feels like you're doing. Move the hips properly, and see what the other body parts do. Do it in a mirror so the feedback is immediate.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. ercxi
      ercxi
      (33 years old)
    2. Garea51
      Garea51
      (70 years old)
    3. iamwardicus
      iamwardicus
      (37 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...