Jump to content
IGNORED

Was it a Hole in One?


Recommended Posts

Playing a local course today. First hole 143 yard par 3. I struck a beautiful 9 iron shot and landed on the foam that is supposed to be in the hole. Unfortunately it rained very heavily making all the foam things float above the hole, making it impossible to actually get in it. 

Would this technically be my first hole in one? 

20210614-172744.jpg

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
29 minutes ago, wakefield724 said:

Playing a local course today. First hole 143 yard par 3. I struck a beautiful 9 iron shot and landed on the foam that is supposed to be in the hole. Unfortunately it rained very heavily making all the foam things float above the hole, making it impossible to actually get in it. 

Would this technically be my first hole in one? 

20210614-172744.jpg

So it hit the foam on the fly?  I'd say no, sorry, but that ball might not have gone even if the foam wasn't there.  Even if it rolled up and hit the foam, you still couldn't tell from the tee that the ball would have gone in.  Bit it was still a great shot, so i'll let you buy the beers. 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Doesn't count, for all the reasons Dave mentions above. But hey, at least now when someone asks you if you've ever had a hole in one, you've got a great story to tell!

  • Thanks 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

Did the ball meet the definition of “holed”? That’s your answer.

Its impossible to do so as the ball could not fit in the hole  

31 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

So it hit the foam on the fly?  I'd say no, sorry, but that ball might not have gone even if the foam wasn't there.  Even if it rolled up and hit the foam, you still couldn't tell from the tee that the ball would have gone in.  Bit it was still a great shot, so i'll let you buy the beers. 

Thanks amigo!  That brings up another question then. Where do you draw the line scoring wise if the cup is physically impossible to get in? 

Link to post
Share on other sites

11 minutes ago, iacas said:

Did the ball meet the definition of “holed”? That’s your answer.

I know and read the definition of "holed".   " a ball is not technically holed until it is both at rest within the circumference of the hole and the entire ball is below the level of the lip"

But..

So what I'm hearing:  since the ball wasn't holed, no rounds during covid-19 that didn't have a hole but an inverted cup were legit?  There is a course near me that put up inverted cups around the flagstick to prevent people from getting the ball in the hole.   Are we to assume nobody followed the rules of golf at this course during the Covid variances in rules?  Were these round to be considered practice rounds since nobody "holed" any shot?

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
16 minutes ago, wakefield724 said:

Its impossible to do so as the ball could not fit in the hole.

So the answer is no. Not a hole in one.

A good shot nonetheless.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)
47 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

 Are we to assume nobody followed the rules of golf at this course during the Covid variances in rules?  Were these round to be considered practice rounds since nobody "holed" any shot?

There's a difference between widely accepted modifications to playing conditions during a pandemic and wanting to claim a hole in one when the ball didn't go in the hole.

The foam only floats up when it's soaking wet and the hole fills with water.

Edited by Shorty
Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Shorty said:

There's a difference between widely accepted modifications to playing conditions during a pandemic and wanting to claim a hole in one when the ball didn't go in the hole.

The foam only floats up when it's soaking wet and the hole fills with water.

Yea the entire course had the foam floating. Its been a wet week in Pittsburgh. It is a interesting conversation. How do you score a round when all the foam is floating? If we aren't counting shots outside the green, are all putts which hit the foam considered in? Are there any actual rules on this? 

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
1 minute ago, wakefield724 said:

Yea the entire course had the foam floating. Its been a wet week in Pittsburgh. It is a interesting conversation. How do you score a round when all the foam is floating? If we aren't counting shots outside the green, are all putts which hit the foam considered in? Are there any actual rules on this? 

Take the flagsticks out.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
9 hours ago, wakefield724 said:

Yea the entire course had the foam floating. Its been a wet week in Pittsburgh. It is a interesting conversation. How do you score a round when all the foam is floating? If we aren't counting shots outside the green, are all putts which hit the foam considered in? Are there any actual rules on this? 

As @iacas says, current science says that its safe to remove the flagsticks.  However, the USGA provided this guidance from the early days of the pandemic, when a wide variety of measures were put in place to limit the possibility of passing the disease to others:

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rulesarticles/covid-19-rules-and-handicapping-faqs.html

 

  • Informative 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, iacas said:

Take the flagsticks out.

Not allowed in Norway yet. Hopefully soon though... 

Nice shot OP, but I must unfortunately agree with the rest here: Not a hole in one. I've had a couple of "foam/filler"-outs from some way out myself and, as annoying and unfair it is, I can't count them as in dispite it being impossible to slamdunk a golfball in the cup with fillers/foam in the hole.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

15 hours ago, wakefield724 said:

Playing a local course today. First hole 143 yard par 3. I struck a beautiful 9 iron shot and landed on the foam that is supposed to be in the hole. Unfortunately it rained very heavily making all the foam things float above the hole, making it impossible to actually get in it. 

Would this technically be my first hole in one? 

20210614-172744.jpg

Considering the foam is floating and preventing anything entering the hole, it would be considered holed if the ball was either on top of the foam or leaning against the foam.  Of course, if you are on the green and putting, go ahead and remove it so that you can putt into the hole.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

I feel your pain.  I had 2 balls that most probably would have been hole-in-ones last year with a month of each other that hit the foam, bounced up and stayed out of the hole.  The foam was actually down in the hole but only 1/2 of the ball would be in the hole when you holed a putt/shot.  

  • Booooooooo 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
19 hours ago, RickK said:

I had 2 balls that most probably would have been hole-in-ones last year with a month of each other that hit the foam, bounced up and stayed out of the hole.

In normal times, I've had balls that hit the bottom of the cup and bounced out.   Not balls rocketing in from 100+ yards away, short pitches that went all the way to the bottom and back out.  There is simply no way to know that a ball that hits the hole would have stayed in the hole for an ace, especially when you're watching from the tee.

  • Like 1
  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

In normal times, I've had balls that hit the bottom of the cup and bounced out.   Not balls rocketing in from 100+ yards away, short pitches that went all the way to the bottom and back out.  There is simply no way to know that a ball that hits the hole would have stayed in the hole for an ace, especially when you're watching from the tee.

DING!

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 weeks later...
On 6/16/2021 at 7:32 AM, DaveP043 said:

In normal times, I've had balls that hit the bottom of the cup and bounced out.   Not balls rocketing in from 100+ yards away, short pitches that went all the way to the bottom and back out.  There is simply no way to know that a ball that hits the hole would have stayed in the hole for an ace, especially when you're watching from the tee.

Don't disagree.  Neither of mine hit the foam on the fly.  One was first bounce, other was second bounce.  Either way...didn't stay in hole so doesn't matter.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • The issue is when this happens in a formal competition. Hard to protect the field by calling it for a single brief phrase.  I did call advice in a tournament a few weeks ago when one player helped the other make a 10 foot putt on the first hole. Afterwards the advice-giver checked with the committee and added two strokes to his score. The player who accepted the advice and made the putt did not.  
    • They know it's embedded because they saw it land and then cannot find it and the ground is soft. See USGA Embedded Ball FAQ.  Yes, if the ball is "known or virtually certain" lost in an abnormal course condition such as temporary water, then there is free relief referencing the point that the ball entered the abnormal course condition. However, soft ground is not temporary water. Water has to be visible.   Yes, they say, "leave it there, it might help". Maybe this one is not as difficult to call as other examples though. 
    • Thanks for the welcome. I'm figuring out the kid stuff. My kids are 6th grade and 3rd grade. I bought them a set of top flight clubs to share for now, but my 6th grader is really on the high end of height for the clubs, and I'm going to need a 2nd set. So my youngest one is all set for now, I just need to do some figuring on the oldest one.    As far as actually playing with them, I've got to get that figured out as well, and I'm interested to hear about others' experiences. We have a par 3 course nearby, and that's a good start.  Thus far, I've let them hit a shot off the tee, and then I ask them to take their ball up to the green. I've only had them out twice so far, and they had a blast, so it is something they seem to want to continue doing. Thanks Denny. This seems like a cool place. Yeah, I agree that club technology, especially for irons, hasn't changed that much in recent times. My biggest objection to my clubs is that as the offset gets bigger as I get to the 3 iron, it takes what is usually a mild draw and turns it into a much more pronounced draw bordering on a hook with the longest irons.
    • It’s like anything else, if you make a change and see improvement, then the change was worth it.  Its just golf. 
    • "Choose to do it all at once" is not in the rules. If you do that, you have played from a wrong place. The penalty is 2 strokes, or DQ if it was a serious breach. Usually a cart path is not "right next to" a penalty area, so relief from the cart path after dropping on it could be between the cart path and the penalty area.   It is a question of protecting the field because some players follow the correct procedure and even end up playing from the cart path when their cart path relief would have them closer to and maybe standing in the penalty area. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. andreanewman
      andreanewman
      (29 years old)
    2. Erg
      Erg
      (54 years old)
    3. Hacker James
      Hacker James
      (79 years old)
    4. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...