IGNORED

Help Me Understand This Driver Situation – If Possible

Hohjoe
Note: This thread is 915 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

The backstory: I started playing golf about 11-12 years ago on a whim when I was out of town and bored. My son-in-law gave me an old set of his clubs that I used until this year.

The SIL is an excellent golfer, and the driver he gave me was a Titleist with a very stiff shaft. Great for him, not so much for me, but it was good enough until I decided if I was going to keep playing.

About eight years ago I went to one of the big box stores and a guy watched me hit drivers and I left with a TaylorMade Burner 2.0 10.5 loft and an R shaft. I did much better with it than I did the Titleist.

Fast forward to this year. A neighbor and I play once a week and he, also a very good golfer, suggested I may want to look at driver with more loft. So, 6-7 weeks ago I went to a smaller place and spent almost two hours with a guy and a monitor and left with a TaylorMade SIM2 12.0 loft and a senior shaft.

I’ve done well with it. I get more elevation and I hit it straighter, and further than I did with the Burner. My neighbor has told me multiple times he the driver was a good fit for me. After I bought the driver, I took a lesson and did even better.

Now the issue: On my home course on the back nine there is a ditch that must be cleared out and back. The first time I played the course I cleared the ditch both times, although I went to the right out of the fairway using the Burner. I haven’t cleared the ditch with the SIM2. Even though it seemed I was hitting the SIM2 further.