IGNORED

Putting with an open stance ?

Note:Β This thread is 3937 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

When I started playing again last summer I was putting in the normal fashion with my feet and shoulders square to the target line. What I notices was a pronounced gated swing and decided to play around with other grips etc.

While putting in the office one day after a lesson I had on chipping I started to putt with an open (chipping) type stance. Feet 20 or 30 degree's to the left of my target line, ball off my right toe, shoulders parallel with the target line, eyes directly over the target line but slightly behind the putter and a standard grip.

To my surprise I no longer had the gated swing path just a nice straight back and straight through putting stroke. I could also see the line much clearer in my mind with my eyes slightly behind the putter.

I was rolling the ball much better and have been putting this way for the last 4 outings. My 3 putts are down to 2 or 3 on 18 holes instead of 8 or 9.

Is this totally crazy? or OK? I have Dave Pelze putting bible and it goes against his ideas.

Kelly

www.finescale360.com

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The way I see it is this: There is the "best way" to putt (fundamentally perfect) and there is your best way. Sometimes you need to sacrifice the "best way" if it doesn't work for you. You should try to be as fundamentally sound as possible while still maintaining a stroke that is comfortable to you. Your stroke can't be criticized if it puts the ball in the hole.

I find it ironic that I made the same change today to some degree. Before, my eyes were right over the ball. Today, I moved my head back just barely so that my left eye was over the ball. Worked wonders.

Monster Tour 10.5* w/ Redboard 63
FP400f 14.5* w/ GD YSQ
Idea Pro 18* w/ VS Proto 80s