Jump to content
IGNORED

Conceded Putt Blown Into the Hole


iacas
 Share

Ball Blown Into Hole After Concession  

32 members have voted

  1. 1. What is your answer to the question in the first post?

    • A scores a 3 for the hole.
      19
    • A scores a 4 for the hole.
      13
    • A scores something else for the hole.
      0


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Just now, DFW75 said:

I was wondering about this. Since the player cannot turn down a concession - what protects the player from an opponent declaring a concession early? I know that the concession isn't awarded until the ball comes to rest - so I'd assume then that the rules governing when a ball is at rest would take precedence over the concession to make sure the ball is at rest before awarding a concession? 

Yeah.

On 9/10/2021 at 7:56 PM, iacas said:

A hits a birdie putt that stops several inches from the hole.

The ball was at rest in this case. 😄

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

@iacas, is this a 3 or a 4 in stroke play? Someone mentioned earlier about "forces of nature" and I was wondering if that is in effect here. I just rewatched the bird situation from the 98 players on YT, and the ruling was "ball moved by an outside agency" and the ball should be replaced as near as can be. If this isn't that, what makes it different? If the ball came to rest, and wasn't overhanging, would the stroke be completed, or is there something else going on when it comes to stroke play?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
39 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

@iacas, is this a 3 or a 4 in stroke play?

It's a three, unless he marked it and replaced it and then it blew in (which didn't happen in the scenario I gave).

39 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Someone mentioned earlier about "forces of nature" and I was wondering if that is in effect here.

Did you look up some definitions in the Rules of Golf?

I'd look up "outside influence" and "natural forces" (those are just the same link FWIW).

39 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

If this isn't that, what makes it different? If the ball came to rest, and wasn't overhanging, would the stroke be completed, or is there something else going on when it comes to stroke play?

I'd recommend you look up the definitions.

Then look at Rule 9 - Ball at Rest Moved.

  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

@iacas, thanks. I suppose the answer to my question is that one stroke ends when the next one is taken, or the ball is marked. Other than that, it is still a "live ball" and while natural forces may move it, animals (including humans) may not, and if so then it is replaced.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, DFW75 said:

I was wondering about this. Since the player cannot turn down a concession - what protects the player from an opponent declaring a concession early? I know that the concession isn't awarded until the ball comes to rest - so I'd assume then that the rules governing when a ball is at rest would take precedence over the concession to make sure the ball is at rest before awarding a concession? 

I am not 100% certain I understand what you mean but the Rules say that the next stroke may be conceded. So, if a ball is moving and the opponent concedes the next stroke it will indeed be the NEXT stroke after the ball in motion stops and is at rest. Unless the ball is holed in which case the concession does not mean anything.

So if a player is putting for a birdie and while his ball is in motion his opponent concedes the next stroke and the birdie putt is not holed the player's score for the hole is par.

Edited by Ruler
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I wish to add to by previous post a rare scenario.

Player X putts for 3 and opponent Z concedes X's next stroke while X's ball is in motion. If that ball stops overhanging the hole there are still those 10 seconds for X to wait whether his ball falls into hole. If it does, the concession is void and X's score for the hole is 3.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
8 minutes ago, Ruler said:

I wish to add to by previous post a rare scenario.

Player X putts for 3 and opponent Z concedes X's next stroke while X's ball is in motion. If that ball stops overhanging the hole there are still those 10 seconds for X to wait whether his ball falls into hole. If it does, the concession is void and X's score for the hole is 3.

We know. 🙂 Just happened at the Solheim Cup.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Every year they have a "big deal" hickory tournament south of here in Oregon.  Totally fascinates me.  Hickory clubs, dressing the part, flasks etc.   Personally, I'll take my hickory on the BBQ pit... USHO/2021 – Northwest Hickory Players  
    • I was always a big Mighty Mouse fan:  
    • Well, with their QB back, Penn State decided to lay an egg. Though, with the new college football overtime rules (going to 2-pt conversions after the 3rd OT), they went to 9 OT!!!! There was a point that neither team converted on a 2-pt conversion a combined 8 times in a row! No one could get 3-yards! I am more upset that this devalues Penn State when Ohio State probably trounces them. 
    • Shorter flight, no spin. Gotta land it before the green a lot and let bounce it on. I like hitting the driver. I find it really forces me to swing smooth with a mild tempo. You don’t really use the Wedge(Niblick) around the greens other than when you are forced to flop it over something, which is tough to do. Often you will use a Mashie which is lofted similar to a 7 iron around the greens. The biggest learning curve is just in hitting the ball cleanly. The front edge on these clubs is very sharp.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. anhthinhspkt
      anhthinhspkt
      (26 years old)
    2. DARTSO
      DARTSO
      (41 years old)
    3. davem1955
      davem1955
      (66 years old)
    4. matteson83
      matteson83
      (38 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...