Jump to content
IGNORED

Wrong Ball - Learn From My Errors


bkuehn1952
 Share

Recommended Posts

This has not happened to me ... yet. I mark my ball with a pink line, and I've never seen anybody else do that. It makes it easy to identify which ball is fine. That said, I think if you play enough golf, it will happen at some point, so I'm betting it will happen to me. Hopefully, it doesn't cost me too much when it does.

  • Like 1

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Big Bertha V Series (11 degrees) :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :snell: MTB-X :aimpoint:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 hours ago, klineka said:

Did he take a 9 as well?

Yes.  His ball's location was not known.  If we had gone back, I would have had to drop where he had hit from and he would have had to find his ball (which may have been in the water).  He would have possibly had to deal with a lost ball and hitting the wrong ball.

19 hours ago, billchao said:

So the reason you took a 9 on the hole is because you didn’t want to hold up play by going back to the original spot? Because from what I’m reading it seems like you had a pretty good idea of where that was because you knew who played your ball.

If you played it, you could have holed that one for par 😉

I sort of did a rough calculation in my head.  Go back, find the spot, probably hit the green and lie 4 with 2 putts for a six.  Maybe a 5 or 7.  Top prize is a $100 gift certificate.  Plus, if I went back, #4 would probably go back, too.  That would have created a real log jam.  Better to take the medicine, play on, have a good story of what NOT to do.

Brian Kuehn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, bkuehn1952 said:

If we had gone back, I would have had to drop where he had hit from

You would have had to place your ball (or another ball) in its original location, or its estimated location (Rule 9.6, your ball was moved by an Outside Influence).    

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Informative 3

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
57 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

You would have had to place your ball (or another ball) in its original location, or its estimated location (Rule 9.6, your ball was moved by an Outside Influence).    

THAT one will trip up a lot of people. I say this because I'm pretty good with the Rules but had forgotten about placing in this situation (in my mind because the exact spot isn't known - the old Rules you replaced if you knew, and dropped if you could estimate only, IIRC).

Thanks for the reminder.

  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, iacas said:

THAT one will trip up a lot of people. I say this because I'm pretty good with the Rules but had forgotten about placing in this situation (in my mind because the exact spot isn't known - the old Rules you replaced if you knew, and dropped if you could estimate only, IIRC).

Thanks for the reminder.

Its probably easier for me, I really didn't get too far into the real details until after the 2019 Rules had been released.  To me the current rules are more consistent, any time you are supposed to "replace" the ball you place it, even if the exact location isn't known.  And you do remember correctly, 20-3c from 2016 is exactly as you have described.

  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I've mark my ball with my initials and I never identify my ball any other way. If I don't see those initials I don't hit that ball. I guess that's why I've never hit the wrong ball in 27 years playing.

Danny    In my :ping: Hoofer Tour golf bag on my :clicgear: 8.0 Cart

Driver:   :pxg: 0311 Gen 5  X-Stiff.                        Irons:  :callaway: 4-PW APEX TCB Irons 
3 Wood: :callaway: Mavrik SZ Rogue X-Stiff                            Nippon Pro Modus 130 X-Stiff
3 Hybrid: :callaway: Mavrik Pro KBS Tour Proto X   Wedges: :vokey:  50°, 54°, 60° 
Putter: :odyssey:  2-Ball Ten Arm Lock        Ball: :titleist: ProV 1

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

You would have had to place your ball (or another ball) in its original location, or its estimated location (Rule 9.6, your ball was moved by an Outside Influence).    

Ha ha!  So I also add the penalty for improperly dropping instead of placing.  9 is starting to look better ... okay, not really.

  • Funny 1

Brian Kuehn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 5 weeks later...
On 8/10/2022 at 2:05 PM, StuM said:

So, begs the question.  If you are in competition and know they are about to play the wrong ball, are you required to tell them?  Or just let them hit then impose the penalty on them while replacing your ball to hit legally?

I'm not asking if you "Should" or "Should Not" tell them, just what you are "Required" to do.  Personally, I would probably say something instinctively before even thinking about any strategy.

I see that as Rule 1.2. Acting with integrity situation. To allow another player to incur a penalty when there was clear and ample opportunity to let them know of the situation before making their shot, would indeed be violation of the integrity and honesty rule if I were on the committee.

But of course the player him/herself is ultimately responsible for ball ID, but that's not what you asked.

  • Thumbs Up 1

This ain't no Party, this ain't no Disco...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Wordle 469 4/6* ⬛🟧🟧🟦⬛ 🟧🟧🟧⬛⬛ 🟧🟧🟧⬛⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Day 205.  Five minutes of full swing (6-iron), usual routine, in the indoor room after work today. An aside.  I'm very happy that I'm keeping up daily practice, even if most days are only a few minutes.  
    • Maybe. Nothing in the scenario states you’re never going to play that well again.
    • Day 67 (9/30/22): Today I went back to preset drills. I did a short session of them, then went to abbreviated backswing swings, trying to capture the same feel. Then I played a simulated round, trying to see how often I could get the impact position with real swings in a real round. I give myself a C. I think I probably executed the move correctly in maybe 1/3 of the full swings. A second third were not perfect but better than my usual swing. The other 1/3 were bad swings, the old swing. I also felt a little pain in my neck and so I was swinging sort of easy, and I skipped post-round practicing to rest it. 
    • Maybe I read it wrong or just think totally different than everyone else. I read both as a stand alone type event. Like you have that score one time, but never play that good again. Obviously if it means I had a significant breakthrough in my game and had that game the it would mean more in that context. But I'd still take the ace over a stand out one time only great score overall.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. BigDHarrison
      BigDHarrison
      (22 years old)
    2. cbdproformula
      cbdproformula
      (67 years old)
    3. dlharrison
      dlharrison
      (22 years old)
    4. JasonL149
      JasonL149
      (37 years old)
    5. Jaymancds
      Jaymancds
      (24 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...