Jump to content
IGNORED

Which Holes in One "Count"?


iacas
 Share

Holes in One  

48 members have voted

  1. 1. Which of these holes in one "count"? Choose all that do.

    • First ball, regular par-70-ish course, on a par three
      48
    • Mulligan on the above
      0
    • Hole in one on a regular course where you don't play all 18 holes (or even nine holes)
      31
    • Playing temporary par-three tees on a par-four or -five hole due to construction/maintenance
      25
    • Par three course, > 100 yards
      32
    • Par three course, < 100 yards
      24
    • Par three, regular course, < 100 yards
      35
    • Par three, regular course, < 75 yards
      30
    • Simulator par three
      0


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
43 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

With the "Choose All that Do" notation it seems the total could/would be far more than a total of 100%.  Isn't there a way to set up polls like that?

No.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 minute ago, Double Mocha Man said:

With the golf knowledge of the folks on this site I would expect 99.99% to choose the first option, and then work their way down the list.  But that is not reflected.

Asked and answered, my man. Move on.

Since everyone's going to choose the first one… use that number of votes to judge the validity of the other options.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

Btw, one option that popped in my head that was not given, perhaps because it's not a thing anymore, is temporary greens.  Do courses ever still do that?

I remember as a kid sometimes playing a course undergoing maintenance and they used temp greens, usually just in the fairway in front of the greens and often with a hole that was twice the size of a normal hole.  If those were still a thing, they'd go on my "do not count" list. 🙂

Yes,  both courses that I have played regularly in the past few years have implemented "temporary greens".   So it still happens here in Eastern NC. 

2 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I may be a stickler here, but I'd also add that no Hole-in-one counts without having a witness. So even in the first scenario above, if you don't have a witness you can't "count" it. 

Yup, excellent caveat.  

Ping G400 SFT 10deg  R flex
Ping G410 3w R flex
Ping G400 3h and 4h R flex
Taylormade SLDR 5i thru PW graphite shaft R flex
Cleveland CBX wedges - 50, 54, 58 or 52, 58 (depending on my mood)
Odyssey Versa or White Steel #5
Srixon Q Star

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
40 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Oh, they still do that.  My course had 2 temporary greens last week due to sub-freezing temperatures. And I hate them.

You should be happy we could open at all. Haha! Stupid trees. 

I voted no temps, mulli’s or simulators. If I went out for 3 holes in between lessons and got a hole in one, I may have to cancel the rest of that day. Last year I had a HOI followed by an eagle to finish at 31. I could only play 9 holes, but had I shot 29, I probably would’ve called the wife to say there was a major pipe break to clean up at the course. 

  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Funny 1

Philip Kohnken, PGA
Director of Instruction, Lake Padden GC, Bellingham, WA

Srixon/Cleveland Club Fitter; PGA Modern Coach; Certified in Dr Kwon’s Golf Biomechanics Levels 1 & 2; Certified in SAM Putting; Certified in TPI
 
Team :srixon:!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, boogielicious said:

9EAC7475-DC11-4895-84CF-1426EA705F7C.png

Of course that would count. 

Can you think of any that are under 75 yards? 

I would assume there'd have to be some where the forward tees are under 75. Again, I can't think of any. But if you are playing the proper tees on a proper course than of course, count it. 

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, phillyk said:

You should be happy we could open at all. Haha! Stupid trees. 

Oh hell, I tried to get on today.  Frozen shut.  It was a balmy 33 degrees with 20mph North winds.  Though I was happy I could get on last week, in spite of the temps.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
11 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Can you think of any that are under 75 yards? 

I haven’t played one on a regulation course. One par 3 hole I play regularly is around 120 to the middle for blue and white tees but can be as low as 90 with the flag up front. The forward tees are 75ish. I think my older buddies playing that would count the hole in one. It’s a harder hole than it looks too.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

39 minutes ago, boogielicious said:

I haven’t played one on a regulation course. One par 3 hole I play regularly is around 120 to the middle for blue and white tees but can be as low as 90 with the flag up front. The forward tees are 75ish. I think my older buddies playing that would count the hole in one. It’s a harder hole than it looks too.

I would count it as well.

Playing the proper tees is a good thing. Anyone who should be playing the forward tees and is playing the forward tees should get all the credit in the world. If one hits a hole in one from the proper tees it "counts". 

I was just saying that I can't remember any holes with tees that short on the courses I've played. I'm sure they exist. My memory isn't the best.... What were we talking about? 

  • Thumbs Up 1

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
1 hour ago, ChetlovesMer said:

If one hits a hole in one from the proper tees it "counts". 

I disagree here. What’s proper tees? If the course has a forward tee box, I am still able to play those tees and record a score, properly. Same thing if I played the back tees. It shouldn’t matter at all what tee box it came from. The one exception I’d have are the family tee boxes, if a course has them, as they typically are not rated. 

Philip Kohnken, PGA
Director of Instruction, Lake Padden GC, Bellingham, WA

Srixon/Cleveland Club Fitter; PGA Modern Coach; Certified in Dr Kwon’s Golf Biomechanics Levels 1 & 2; Certified in SAM Putting; Certified in TPI
 
Team :srixon:!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I voted the 1st, 3rd, 4th, and 5th. 

For me, par 3's under 100 yards do not exist on courses I play from the tees I play. I think these are much more of a short game shot (distance wedge) than an actual full swing. 

As for the par 3 course, this is 50/50 for me. If the hole was decent distance, I would feel like I hit a hole in one. 

As for the playing from a temporary tee box. I am OK with this. It is still a golf hole, even if it a par 4 turned into a par 3. to me, what is the difference if they took the course and converted that hole into a par 3? 

I do not think you have to play a complete round, or official round to count a hole in one. The 3rd one is good by me. Lets say you hit a hole in one, and the heavens open up and the course closes due to rain. I would not take that result away from someone. 

 

"A good conversation is not designed to win the argument. It is designed to enjoy the exchange."

Matt "Dough", P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver: :callaway: GBB Epic,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: :srixon: (4-PW)
Wedges:
:edel: Trapper (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :bushnell: Tour V2

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If it is a regular golf hole and I put the ball in that hole from the tee box on my first stroke, that's good enough for me. I marked everything except the mulligan and the simulator.

I can appreciate that some of you talented so-and-so's won't feel accomplished if the hole isn't x yards long. That wouldn't be a problem for me.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, phillyk said:

I disagree here. What’s proper tees? If the course has a forward tee box, I am still able to play those tees and record a score, properly. Same thing if I played the back tees. It shouldn’t matter at all what tee box it came from. The one exception I’d have are the family tee boxes, if a course has them, as they typically are not rated. 

We are saying the same thing.

If you are a person who plays from the forward tees and you hit a hole-in-one it "counts". 

What I mean by proper tees. Is I know a lot of folks who should move up a tee-box yet for what ever reason they don't. In my opinion they are not playing the proper tee box. They are slowing down the entire course due to their refusal to move up a tee box or even two. People should play the "proper tees" for their skill level. 

  • Thumbs Up 1

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, phillyk said:

I disagree here. What’s proper tees? If the course has a forward tee box, I am still able to play those tees and record a score, properly. Same thing if I played the back tees. It shouldn’t matter at all what tee box it came from. The one exception I’d have are the family tee boxes, if a course has them, as they typically are not rated. 

"Proper" tees should be fairly obvious IMO.  It's the proper tee for your distances and your handicap. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


22 hours ago, Darkfrog said:

I'd say all of them except mulligan and simulator.

A caveat to my answer would be that I might not count a hole in one on a pitch and putt type course. There is a pitch and putt local to me that has holes ranging from 50-80 yards, where the tees are all on driving range mats. I wouldn't count that.

Interesting answers. I'm surprised to see that hole in ones on par-3 courses, and short par-3 holes aren't given the same credibility as the other choices (simulator/mulligan excepted of course). There is a course near me that has a par-3 that plays anywhere from 70-135 yards. If I hole out in one shot from the tee when it is playing at 70 yards, I am damn sure counting it as a hole in one.

I see a few mentions of temporary greens, but I don't think the poll actually had temporary greens as an option, only temporary tees on longer holes playing as a par-3 due to maintenance, which I assumed means you are hitting into the actual green.

 

-Peter

  • :cobra: King RADSPEED
  • :pxg: GEN4 0341XF, Fairway
  • :pxg: GEN4 0317X, Hybrid
  • :srixon: ZX 3-iron, ZX5 4-AW
  • :cleveland:  RTX Zipcore 54 & 58
  • L.A.B. Golf Directed Force 2.1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
2 hours ago, bking said:

"Proper" tees should be fairly obvious IMO.  It's the proper tee for your distances and your handicap. 

I understand that. But it’s a recommendation based on an expectation of reasonable pace of play, like @ChetlovesMersaid. In the same way that pins on the sides of slopes that run the ball far away, are technically legal just not recommended. 

Philip Kohnken, PGA
Director of Instruction, Lake Padden GC, Bellingham, WA

Srixon/Cleveland Club Fitter; PGA Modern Coach; Certified in Dr Kwon’s Golf Biomechanics Levels 1 & 2; Certified in SAM Putting; Certified in TPI
 
Team :srixon:!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, phillyk said:

I understand that. But it’s a recommendation based on an expectation of reasonable pace of play, like @ChetlovesMersaid. In the same way that pins on the sides of slopes that run the ball far away, are technically legal just not recommended. 

I was referring more to someone playing "up" in order to go "ace hunting". I've only heard of it a time our two, when someone has played a recreational round from their normal tees but then played the par 3's all the way up.   They're certainly free to do it, but I wouldn't call that an ace.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I chose option 1, of course, and holes in one on a regular course <100 and <75 yards. 
 

I have made at least 10 aces on par 3 courses and it never occurred to me to count those. The longest was probably around 110 yards.

I once made an ace on a converted par 5 temporary green that was over 100 yards but the hole was the size of a bread plate. It didn’t feel right to count that - for being temporary or the large hole.

I have always been told you must play 9 holes for it to count. During a tournament we were forced to have a shotgun start due to inclement weather. One of my playing partners aced our opening hole, the par 3 8th from 145, or so.  The skies opened up on 9 and the round was cancelled. He always joked that this was where he made a HIO that didn’t count.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...