Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules question - ball deflected on green


Note: This thread is 4801 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I played with a guy yesterday who was studying/practicing to be a teaching pro (plans on taking the PAT), and presented himself as an expert on the rules. We got on the subject of the two-stroke penalty incurred if a player's putt is deflected by another ball on the green. He claimed that if the player whose ball was hit had had plenty of time/opportunity to mark it but did not, then the penalty goes to that player, and not the player who putted... even if the player who putted never asked the other guy to mark his ball.

Anyone heard of such a thing? I can find no evidence of any such ruling or decision.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I played with a guy yesterday who was studying/practicing to be a teaching pro (plans on taking the PAT), and presented himself as an expert on the rules. We got on the subject of the two-stroke penalty incurred if a player's putt is deflected by another ball on the green. He claimed that if the player whose ball was hit had had plenty of time/opportunity to mark it but did not, then the penalty goes to that player, and not the player who putted... even if the player who putted never asked the other guy to mark his ball.

He is wrong. The only reason that the player would be penalized for not marking his ball is if it was determined that he left it there intentionally to assist another player. In that case both are likely to be disqualified, Rule 22-1:

In stroke play, if the Committee determines that competitors have agreed not to lift a ball that might assist any competitor, they are disqualified.

The 2 stroke penalty only applies in stroke play. In match play there is no penalty, Rule 19 - Ball at Rest Moved:

19-5. By Another Ball a. At Rest If a player's ball in motion after a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball in play and at rest, the player must play his ball as it lies. In match play, there is no penalty. In stroke play, there is no penalty, unless both balls lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, in which case the player incurs a penalty of two strokes.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is that case, golf could become a sort of.....curling! Isn't that what it's called? The thing where they slide the big rocks down the ice?

Or billiards. But it would be funny to see someone sweeping the green with their putter

I sure hope I never take lessons from the guy trying to become a golf instructor.
Link to post
Share on other sites

if the guy doesn't mark his ball then yes it is a 2 stroke penalty.If he had time to

No. It's only a penalty if he has left his ball there deliberately to assist or interfere with the play of another competitor. Time is not a factor. If he is requested to mark and refuses, then he's just an idiot.

If both your ball and that of a fellow competitor lie on the green, and it's your turn to play, then you wait for him to mark, or you ask him to mark, before you putt. If he refuses, then I'd go and mark it myself. I'm not going to make a stroke when there is a real risk my incurring a penalty. I've never known anyone to refuse to mark their ball when asked, and it's only very rarely that I have to ask. For most players it's just automatic to mark their ball when they get to the green.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I sure hope I never take lessons from the guy trying to become a golf instructor.

LOL. I know - I hate to talk bad about the guy because he was certainly nice enough, but he was a little fuzzy on some other things too. For instance, a lot of his tee shots were really wild, so he'd often tee up another. On one of those occasions, he got down in 3 on a par 4, but with his second tee shot. His girlfriend says "nice birdie" and he says "yep, thanks".

Even with using the second tee shots he still made a lot of bogies, yet claimed he was a 70's shooter. (I think you have to average around 77 for 2 rounds to pass the PAT). I didn't say anything when the birdie comment was made, but I thought, "Hmm, I bet *I* could shoot in the 70s too with that kind of creative scoring." He also had an overly optimistic idea of how much $ he'd make as a teaching pro. Oh well, some lessons you need to learn the hard way. - Bill
Link to post
Share on other sites

LOL. I know - I hate to talk bad about the guy because he was certainly nice enough, but he was a little fuzzy on some other things too. For instance, a lot of his tee shots were really wild, so he'd often tee up another. On one of those occasions, he got down in 3 on a par 4, but with his second tee shot. His girlfriend says "nice birdie" and he says "yep, thanks".

Are you sure he just didn't repress his first tee shot so much that he forgot about it for a moment? I usually do that. I sometimes walk off a green and think to myself "yaaay birdie... oh wait... no it wasn't".

Link to post
Share on other sites

There seems to be a lot of creative scoring going on ,on this Forum . In my experiance people playing off 2 dont forget they had three off the tee , or maybe they do ?
Link to post
Share on other sites

Is that case, golf could become a sort of.....curling! Isn't that what it's called? The thing where they slide the big rocks down the ice?

Isn't that how it used to be done in Match play? Basically the person furthest from the hole putts (as usual) and if he/she is short or whatever, they mark their ball but also leave it there so that the person who had the shorter putt and is about to putt can use your ball to bank it in or whatever (but still return the ball to its mark if used with a bank shot), etc...I know I remember that from somewhere.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Isn't that how it used to be done in Match play? Basically the person furthest from the hole putts (as usual) and if he/she is short or whatever, they mark their ball but also leave it there so that the person who had the shorter putt and is about to putt can use your ball to bank it in or whatever (but still return the ball to its mark if used with a bank shot), etc...I know I remember that from somewhere.

Never heard of marking it and leaving it. Until about 1952 though you did not mark your ball on the green unless it was within a certain (very close, like 6") distance from the hole. It's now remembered as the stymie rule. If another ball was in your way, you either chipped over it, or you had to play away from the hole slightly.

The only reason for a bank shot would be to deflect your ball back toward the hole if you hit it off line, so why play a bank shot if you already had a clear path to the hole? And it applied to all forms of golf, not just match play.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Who doesn't wait for someone to mark their ball? If they refuse mark it for them, then let them re-mark it. They will then receive the penalty. Passive-aggressive I know but they won't refuse in the future.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Never heard of marking it and leaving it. Until about 1952 though you did not mark your ball on the green unless it was within a certain (very close, like 6") distance from the hole. It's now remembered as the stymie rule. If another ball was in your way, you either chipped over it, or you had to play away from the hole slightly.

STYMIE!!! THATS IT! Thanks for clearing that up. I couldnt sleep last night because of it

Link to post
Share on other sites

Surely its common courtesy to ask the person putting if you are in the way and whether you need to mark the ball???

Thats what I usually do ask the person putting if I'm in the way.
Link to post
Share on other sites

LOL. I know - I hate to talk bad about the guy because he was certainly nice enough, but he was a little fuzzy on some other things too. For instance, a lot of his tee shots were really wild, so he'd often tee up another. On one of those occasions, he got down in 3 on a par 4, but with his second tee shot. His girlfriend says "nice birdie" and he says "yep, thanks".

Not only is he going to be a bad teaching pro...it's apparent he cant count either. bad, bad, bad.... combo.

I would hate to go pay a teaching pro, and him telling me that that my iron distances are ...oh "Maybe" its about 3** yards or well that's "kinna" good swing.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 4801 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • It would be nice to watch Covid slowly just fade away as vaccinations increase. Unfortunately the dopes who have refused to get it will dream up some other reason why Covid faded. Or we’re in for another lockdown as Delta and other variants surge and they’ll say, ‘ see..what good is the vaccine any way.’ Again, profound ignorance.
    • Birdied #16 at Quail Brook today. Pulled my drive onto the 15th tee box and got to my ball where a couple of my friends were waiting to tee off, ready to heckle me. Had about 90 yards to the flag and hit a partial GW to 2'. The ball mark was 2' short of the hole from where I was and the ball ended up 2' past it. I don't know if it had a chance to go in; it probably took a hop and spun. I would have never heard the end of it if I didn't hit a good shot there.
    • Shot 85 from the tips at Quail Brook for an 11.1 differential. Hit 9 GIR. I’m starting to drive the ball better and it’s exposing weaknesses in other areas of my game.
    • Played Quail Brook today, birdied 16 in dramatic fashion. New one for the away composite.
    • I will be brief, since others have weighed in and I echo the vast majority of what they've said (plus I love bullet points).  Naga-Waukee War Memorial - 6 A fun course, architecturally interesting Several nice views Walkable Passes the "I'd play here often" test Club at Lac La Belle - 6.5 Great Parkland golf.  I think the score suffered a little because all the other courses were so unique, but if this place were near my house it'd be one of the better courses available to play publicly. Walkable Firm, well-maintained greens with interesting contours Good combination of tough holes and less-challenging ones Not many real recovery options on a bad shot - most often, you're punching out from trees or laying up from a fairway bunker Passes the "I'd play here often" test  Favorite hole: #16 Lawsonia Links - 8 Unique and visually interesting Walkable Well-maintained greens with interesting contours, with play varying based on hole location (2) Par-3's were too long for me to really enjoy playing them Too many blind tee shots Some of the most fun approach shots I've had to play Passes the "I'd drive a couple hours to play here" test Favorite hole: #7 Mammoth Dunes - 8 Visually stunning Walkable Huge greens and fairways Turns out, I really enjoy "resort golf".  Separation value (which @iacas) referred to above is different for a 14-hcp...I liked that a wider range of shots were rewarded, but you still have to hit the ball solidly. Passes the "I'd drive a long way to stay/play here again" test Sand Valley - 8.5 Visually stunning Walkable Huge greens and fairways This is an aspirational course for me - breaking 90 the second day, even from an easier set of tees, felt like a real accomplishment...something I had to work damn hard for.  This is the kind of course I want to be good enough to play well.  At the end of the day, that's what ticked it 0.5 above Mammoth Dunes. Passes the "I'd drive a long way to stay/play here again" test
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CrappyGolfer
      CrappyGolfer
      (68 years old)
    2. Jacob Vance
      Jacob Vance
      (25 years old)
    3. jax731
      jax731
      (54 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...