Sign in to follow this  
titaniummd

Are gap wedges necessary?

Note: This thread is 2563 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

40 posts / 17945 viewsLast Reply

I was just wondering if gap wedges are necessary.

I have a PW, SW (56degrees) and a LW (60 degrees).

If I am between PW and SW, I choke down on the PW by an inch.

I recently demo'd a set of mizuno mx-19's.

It came with pw and gw as the wedges. That was the best round of golf i've played at that course. It was all because of that damn gap wedge!

It was a perfect club to just barely swing and stick it on the green.

I think it all depends on how large of a gap you want between your PW and SW. If you have a 46* PW to your 56* SW that is a huge gap. Some times you want something in between so you don't have to choke down to much or change your swing from full to 3/4 or something like that.

I think it all depends on personal preference. i for one love my gap wedge! i hit my pw about 150yds +/- a couple yds, and my gap is a 52º and i hit it about 128 yds...perfect!

My PW is 45°. My SW is 56°. The gap wedge is definitely necessary, and at 50° it fits nicely in between. It's also my go-to chipping club.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

They aren't "necessary" but they do make it a whole lot easier. They allow you to pull a club from your bag and hit it a certain distance without having to choke down or alter anything that you normally do. I think if you demoed one, you would probably buy one.

Also I am 6'5 and have my irons at +1 inch, is it necessary or beneficial to get your wedges lengthened as well or does standard length work?

At your height, you should definately go to a fitter. I doubt standard length clubs will work for you.