IGNORED

the backswing

mike93
Note: This thread is 5620 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

hey
i've been playing golf for a few months now and i've recently noticed something i've been doing on the backswing.

when i take the club away from the ball, i rotate my forearms quite a bit which makes the club face open, so that the face is pointing about 20 degrees past verticle when the shaft is horizontal.

this makes me feel like im able to swing far more freely and i get the feeling on a slightly flatter plane.

this method gives me much more consistently solid impact. When i time the 're-rotation' of my forearms right, the ball goes further and straighter, but sometimes with a draw.

so i was wondering, should i keep this method, even though (i think) its not technically correct, or should i wait till Ben Hogan's 5 lessons book arrives in a few days and try and get a more backswing/take-away based on what he says.

sorry for the essay, any help would be appreciated

mike

If your not slicing the ball, but able to draw it nicely, don't fix what isn't broken. Most teachers like to see toe up or slightly closed at 9 oclock where the club is parallel and butt pointing down the line of target. If your open, you need some compensating move or grip to resquare the club at imapct, if you do.

Yeah, you could be right about the long irons. You get more side spin than with the short irons. It is going to be problematic to time the closing of the clubface perfectly square when you have to close it that much. If it works for you consistently then go ahead and use it.

My Clubs
Nicklaus Progressive XC Irons: 3H,4H, 5-GW
Ray Cook SW & Gyro 1 Putter
Taylor Made Burner Driver 10.5
Taylor Made V-Steel 3 & 5 MetalsMy Home Course: Indian RiverMy Blog: Rant-o-Rama-Ding-Dong