Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
CarlSpackler

Rules Question - Improving Lie in Bunker

Note: This thread is 4062 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

31 posts / 16239 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Rule 13.2 is a multiple response rule intended to cover the vast majority of issues that might come up with Ball Played as It Lies. If he still is not satisfied with the answers therein refer him to Section I: Etiquette "The Spirit of the Game." If that still doesn't do it ask the USGA and when they give what I believe will be the answer it would be smart for your opponent to knock it off or possibly be labelled a cheater because that's what it is plain and simple. There's nothing wrong with using a small already present undulation or sand discoloration as a reference where to hit fat while in a bunker. Tapping ones foot 3 inches behind it isn't on the list as acceptable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

and BTW, when you drop in a bunker, the ball

In the bunkers around here it will just about bounce.

I could probably flip in a little side spin with my fingers and make it bounce right out of it all together.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Infraction of 8.2 - Indicating line of play?

It's not just that, but it's impossible to "draw a line" without "testing the condition" of the bunker or "moving sand" that isn't involved in "fairly taking your stance."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sounds like a real "peach". Hope you spanked him.

He actually works for me. We are joking about the serious sounding emails, but I am not kidding about the rules infraction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yes, it's a violation.....whether he's in the bunker or not.

Protip: Drop on a downslope so it runs down and doesn't plug. Works best if it's the side of the bunker, not the front lip.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The guy is an amateur for sure. Besides, no self-respecting man uses a "swing aid" on the golf course. Reminds me of Al Czervik's laser guided putter in "Caddyshack."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The next time you play with this guy, start laying a club on the ground, opposite side of your ball, parallel to your target line and see if he squawks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The next time you play with this guy, start laying a club on the ground, opposite side of your ball, parallel to your target line and see if he squawks.

No way, Jose. I won't even park my push cart next to my ball for fear that it might be considered an alignment aid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4062 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...