IGNORED

Can’t Take it to the Course

Note: This thread is 1097 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a range pro.. Really good ball striking. Generally good aim etc.. I do the same routing at the course, an i'm not EVEN CLOSE. I work hard at the range 4 or 5 days a week and hit the course and my game goes to shit. I can't explain it. I'm flustered, I'm mad. I quit after 9 today.

Obviously I'm a mental case. What can I do? I go from a nice draw on the range to a pull hook on the course

The last time I went to the range I practice 2 things: my preshot and my target practice. I like to go the range and work on mechanics so this is already tough for me.

In my preshot routine I pick a yardage and then I stand there and try to think about what the shot would look like. Then I hit it before I lose the thought.

The target practice is fun because I never hit the right club. I'll hit 6 iron to 150 instead of 8... lots of pw inside 100 yards.

Yea I used to go to the range frequently and was in a similar situation to yours. I could hit any target on the range but was not quite spot on on the course. It sounds simple but you may want to try slowing things down on the course. I tried to make smoother practice swings and focus on a slow deliberate swing. This approach really helped me take my driving range swing to the course.

Good Luck.

MR

I go from a nice draw on the range to a pull hook on the course

You're trying too hard. Relax your right hand. Relax your grip. Relax your mind. Pull hooks are always a result of being too strong in your right arm/hand/grip.