IGNORED

baseball swing vs golf swing -- need some advice

Note: This thread is 5387 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Question at bottom if you want to skip my rambling.

I've been playing golf for about 3 months and I'd like to change my swing.

A while back I started on a quest to cure my slice by going back and changing my grip, alignment... well, everything actually. I didn't change things to compensate for a slice necessarily (as in strenghening grip, closing stance) but rather started from square stance with a fairly nuetral (slightly strong) grip and straight alignment and worked on my swing path and timing.

This made me slice less, but I also lost about 20 yards on my drive and the swing I ended up with just feels unnatural and awkward. And the last few days I've been hooking like crazy.

Having nothing to lose I went back to a more natural feeling swing, i.e. a baseball swing. Not only does it feel nice, it is more powerful. Only trouble is, I slice it.

Nevertheless, it really feels effortless, smooth and powerful enough that I think there is a lot I can take from a baseball swing and apply to my golf swing, so the question is....

What mechanics of a baseball swing need to change to make a successful golf swing? I'm sure it's not exactly the same for everyone, but what worked for you?

Or should I forget about this approach entirely?

Been playing just a few months but I play almost every day.

What's in my bag: Distance Master Driver, Maltby Trouble Out woods/hybrids, Maltby KE4 Irons (all assembled by me so I can never blame my equipment).

Don't think of the shaft as your bat. Think of the clubhead as the bat.

In my Bag:
Driver: Exotics Proto 9° Tour VS-Proto 65g Stiff
3 Wood: Exotics CB1 13° Aldila NV-65S
Hybrid: Exotics 18°, 21° Aldila NV-90S