Sign in to follow this  
mkrosal

What do I need to add to my bag?

Note: This thread is 4145 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

22 posts / 3462 viewsLast Reply

I'm 22 years old and i'm taking my first golf class in the next couple of weeks. I've played before but i've never had any lessons and i'm not very good. I've recently been making purchases of equipment to get me started. My bag consists of the following:

Macgregor NVG2 Driver
Macgregor NVG2 4 Hybrid/Fairway wood
Macgregor NVG2 3-PW
Yes! Valerie Putter

As i said i'm relatively new to the game so I'm not sure what other clubs look into. Do i need a set of wedges or should i just look to purchase one more wedge? Or should I look into a couple more hybrid clubs? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank You!

A flask.

I'd buy at least a sand wedge if I were you. A 5-wood might be a nice addition too.

If budget is not an issue, I'd get a 3 and a 5 wood. Then I'd take your 3 and 4 irons out of the bag, and add a 3 hybrid to match your 4 hybrid. Then I'd buy a 56* sand wedge and somewhere between a 50-52* gap wedge, depending on what loft your PW is.

Yeah i think i'm going to add a SW for sure . . . do you have any suggestions on what models might be good for a beginner? Budget isn't that much of an issue but I wouldn't want to spend more on one club than i did for my entire set . . .

Golf Galaxy has Cleveland CG 10 wedges 2 for 100. I would say get a 56 for sure and then whatever other loft you want.

Yeah i think i'm going to add a SW for sure . . . do you have any suggestions on what models might be good for a beginner? Budget isn't that much of an issue but I wouldn't want to spend more on one club than i did for my entire set . . .