Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Powertop

Question involving redropping

Note: This thread is 3682 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

9 posts / 1114 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

This situation has come up a couple times in the past month in tournaments and I've interpreted the rules differently than how it was played.

A B C D E

Say letter A is where the ball last crossed the hazard. Between each letter is one club length, so letter C would be 2 club lengths away from the hazard. If you drop the ball between B and C and it rolls just outside C, between C and D, do you need to redrop because it ended up outside 2 clubs lengths? Or would the ball be in play? I have thought the ball is in play but the past two times the player redropped. Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

This situation has come up a couple times in the past month in tournaments and I've interpreted the rules differently than how it was played.

You need to redrop, since it is outside the two club length.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You need to redrop, since it is outside the two club length.

I'm sorry, but this is incorrect. As long as the ball does not roll more than 2 club lengths from where it first struck the course, the ball is in play, even if it rolls outside of the original 2 club lengths. A rule that is often misunderstood.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rule 20-2c:(vi) A dropped ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, if it:
rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course
Is it saying the point where you take two club lengths from or where the ball hits after you drop it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 20-2c:(vi) A dropped ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, if it:

From the point where it strikes the course after you drop it. Decision 20-2c/1 Dropped Ball Rolling Out of Prescribed Dropping Area Q. A player taking relief under the Rules sometimes appears to obtain more relief than he is entitled to because the relevant Rule allows him some latitude within which to drop and the dropped ball then rolls some distance from the place where it was dropped. When a Rule prescribes an area within which a ball must be dropped, e.g., within one or two club-lengths of a particular point, should it be re-dropped if it rolls outside the area so prescribed? A. No, not necessarily. Provided the ball has been correctly dropped (Rule 20-2a) and does not roll into any of the positions listed in Rule 20-2c, it is in play and must not be re-dropped. In particular, under Rule 20-2c(vi), the ball may roll up to two club-lengths from the point where it first struck a part of the course when dropped, and this may result in its coming to rest an appreciable distance farther from the condition from which relief is being taken. FWIW, if you want,you can win a lot of bar bets on this one......!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You need to redrop, since it is outside the two club length.

Pretty sure that's wrong:

http://www.usga.org/bookrule.aspx?id=14292#20-2 Relevant portions bolded here:

Source: USGA Rules c. When to Re-Drop A dropped ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, if it: (i) rolls into and comes to rest in a hazard; (ii) rolls out of and comes to rest outside a hazard; (iii) rolls onto and comes to rest on a putting green; (iv) rolls and comes to rest out of bounds; (v) rolls to and comes to rest in a position where there is interference by the condition from which relief was taken under Rule 24-2b (immovable obstruction), Rule 25-1 (abnormal ground conditions), Rule 25-3 (wrong putting green) or a Local Rule (Rule 33-8a), or rolls back into the pitch-mark from which it was lifted under Rule 25-2 (embedded ball); (vi) rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course; or (vii) rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole than: (a) its original position or estimated position (see Rule 20-2b) unless otherwise permitted by the Rules; or (b) the nearest point of relief or maximum available relief (Rule 24-2, 25-1 or 25-3); or (c) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or lateral water hazard (Rule 26-1). If the ball when re-dropped rolls into any position listed above, it must be placed as near as possible to the spot where it first struck a part of the course when re-dropped.

That "first struck the course" is two clublengths (max) away from the hazard, then it can roll another two clublengths. If it stops right at two (and all the other conditions are met), it's in play. To the OP: I'm hoping it's a lateral (red) water hazard, not a yellow. Yellow doesn't give you the two clublengths option. You never said "lateral," just "hazard," so I'm assuming it's yellow, making the question moot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To the OP: I'm hoping it's a lateral (red) water hazard, not a yellow. Yellow doesn't give you the two clublengths option. You never said "lateral," just "hazard," so I'm assuming it's yellow, making the question moot.

I meant to ask about drops and redropping in general but good catch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My apologies for my ignorance. And all this time, I thought it had to come to rest withing 2 club length of the hazard. Now I know it can actually be upto 4 club length from the hazard.

That is good to know. I can take an advantage of this rule during a tournament!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The only time you need to re-drop is if the ball comes to rest closer to the hole, if the ball rolls back into the hazard, if the ball rolls more than two club lengths after it strikes the course., or if it hits you or your equipment. If the ball hits you or your equipment, there is no penalty and the drop does not count. You start over from scratch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3682 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Having played many, many rounds while under the influence of marijuana I can personally attest to it not being performance enhancing.  Against the rules?  Perhaps.  But not performance enhancing. Quite the opposite. Everyone reacts differently to being high, and while it may well reduce stress it also certainly reduces one's ability to focus.  Golf requires focus.  I'd get high and kick ass for about two holes, then be all over the place. I haven't used marijuana since moving to Florida because it's not legal here, and I don't have a qualifying medicinal reason to get a prescription.  I could of course make one up, because it's not like getting a prescription is difficult, but it's not such an important thing to me that I feel the need to go out of my way.  I personally don't see a difference between drinking or smoking beyond the legal aspect - both are personal decisions, and when used responsibly should be an individual's choice.
    • Heck, I will occasionally do this when playing with my wife.  I always feel like an ass when it happens, but she's a good soul and cuts me a break.
    • As others have said, playing a course from the correct tees makes golf a lot more fun. And it makes for more birdie and eagle opportunities. Heck playing from tees even a bit shorter than you need can be fun. I had two eagles in my last round. I played with some guys who like to play a yardage between the back tees and the middle tees. That made it easier to hit par the par 5s in two, and I did just that. Screw the ego, golf is supposed to be fun.
    • I carry Titleist Vokey wedges and have for many many years. I like that I don't have to think every time I replace them. It's easy. I just get the same specs as I've had before and I know what they are going to do. I nearly always get the previous year's model. Still brand new, but the previous year saves me about 40% off the cost.  Anyway, lately I've seen a number of folks I've played with who carry the Callaway PM Grind wedges, which have grooves all over their face. Taylormade hi-toe wedges have that feature as well. I don't know if it actually makes any difference, but to my mind it totally makes sense to put the groves all over the face. It actually makes me wonder why all wedges aren't made that way.  Anyone have any thoughts about this. Why do most manufacturers leave the toe of the wedge "ungrooved"? Does it really help to have the whole face covered in groves?  On a related note, does anyone play a Hi-Toe wedge? Seems like a good idea as well, especially for lob wedges, 60 degree and the like. Seems like it would give you more surface from which to hit a shot when trying to take a bigger swing. I don't use my lob wedge that way, but it seems like it would help if I did. 
    • Offended?  No.  Annoyed?  Absolutely. I played an event in 2015.  It was my first event with this group and I unknowingly got paired with the hothead.  You know the guy.  "I used to be a 1 index!"  Now he's unable to break 90.   First hole, he hits an 'awful' drive (it landed 4 feet in the rough) and complains about it all the way to the ball.  The pin is tucked in the back-right corner of the green behind a trap.  He hits a shot about 35 feet left of the flag at the center of the green.  A good, smart shot.  He proceeds to fling his 7 iron approximately 40 yards into the fairway.   Later in the round, he hits a second shot on a par 5 that he tugged a little bit.  He got a little unlucky and it hit the cart path and kicked it to the left.  The ball came to rest in play, but near a log that, if he moved it... the ball would move as well.  He took an unplayable, chopped the ball forward a bit with his wedge and then proceeded to use his wedge as a hatchet on the log.  About his 8th smash of the wedge, the head snapped off.   Par 3 later in the round, he missed a 10 footer.  He tossed his putter in the air and let it fall to the ground.  The blade of the putter buried itself in the green about 4 feet from the hole.  He attempted to repair it, but it was evident that there was damage and SOMEONE was going to have to putt through his tantrum later in the round.   I wasn't offended by any of his actions.  A 50 year old acting like a petulant toddler?  His problem... not mine.  I was annoyed by his antics, however.   I've told this story before, but... when I was a caddie back in high school at a local country club, I had a guest of a member fling his club over a fence that bordered a local hospital.  This was on the 10th hole.  He was pissed that he hit a poor shot, so he reared back and let it fly.  It cleared the fence.  I looked at him in disbelief.  He told me to climb the fence and get the club.  I put his bag down, apologized to the member and walked back to the caddie master and told him what happened.  Shortly after, the member and his guest arrived back at the caddie area where the member paid me for the full round, tipped me nicely, took my side with the caddie master and then told his guest he'd not be welcomed back any time soon.   Throwing clubs is not acceptable and it IS poor etiquette.  The word is literally defined as: "The customary code of polite behavior in society or among members of a particular profession or group." I don't see how throwing clubs and having a tantrum on the course can be deemed anything but IMPOLITE.   CY
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Nevsteve
      Nevsteve
      (60 years old)
    2. Pab4141
      Pab4141
      (26 years old)
    3. rdpoffenberger
      rdpoffenberger
      (34 years old)
    4. Salem Golfer
      Salem Golfer
      (54 years old)
    5. stothemc
      stothemc
      (36 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...