Jump to content
IGNORED

Alvaro Quiros


Note: This thread is 4143 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm sure he's talented in other areas. Otherwise he wouldn't be in the PGA Championship. I find it amazing that he weighs what he does and hits it sooooo far.

He is 6'3" and 190 pounds.

He isn't a tiny dude, in fact, he's a big dude.
Link to post
Share on other sites

He's what every golfing male wants to be.... except for a winner.

You might have missed the fact, that he won twice on the European Tour already. Qatar & Portugal Masters.

In general i think its fair to say, that a lot of the Europrean players that win regulary on the European Tour have a much harder time winning on US soil - for whatever reasons that might be. BTW. i saw a video yesterday of him using a FT-5 9.5 Tour - i think i need more loft..............
Link to post
Share on other sites

Cool Guy, signed my oldest son's hat at the Transitions earlier this year. He's too long for his own good. Probably will have all the moons align one day in a major or 2 (ie...John Daly...circa 1990's)

Wicked Lag.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Speaknig of Daly, on the European tour coverage once (can't remember when) they were demonstrating just how fast Quiros' transition is in a side-by-side with John Daly. Started both swings at the same time and Quiros had hit the ball and was half way to his finish before Daly had finished his backswing :P

Alvaro is one of my favourite players. So exciting to watch.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Speaknig of Daly, on the European tour coverage once (can't remember when) they were demonstrating just how fast Quiros' transition is in a side-by-side with John Daly. Started both swings at the same time and Quiros had hit the ball and was half way to his finish before Daly had finished his backswing :P

I don't know why but I really don't like the look of a super fast tempo swing. It looks ugly to me, even if he is a great ball striker.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont know if anyone saw this but on that long 600+ yard par 5. He hit a driver off the tee and hit his driver again off the fairway!! I've never seen anyone hit a driver off the ground.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont know if anyone saw this but on that long 600+ yard par 5. He hit a driver off the tee and hit his driver again off the fairway!! I've never seen anyone hit a driver off the ground.

Corey Pavin said in an interview on Saturday that he played driver-driver on 11, too.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:
Originally Posted by trog2233
I dont know if anyone saw this but on that long 600+ yard par 5. He hit a driver off the tee and hit his driver again off the fairway!! I've never seen anyone hit a driver off the ground.

Corey Pavin said in an interview on Saturday that he played driver-driver on 11, too.
______________________________________________________________________________


Players used to do it all the time - back in the old days (pre 2000) when drivers were actually shaped like golf clubs.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont know if anyone saw this but on that long 600+ yard par 5. He hit a driver off the tee and hit his driver again off the fairway!! I've never seen anyone hit a driver off the ground.

See, this is what I dont understand anymore.

Why does he do it? Because he can? To show off? It's cool if you can bomb the tee shot, but why hit the driver off the deck? Is he addicted to distance? If this makes sense, why are not more doing it? Is he such a superb ball striker, that no one else is able to pull this off?
Link to post
Share on other sites

See, this is what I dont understand anymore.

He wanted the added distance so he can reach a par 5 in two. It's that simple.

And it's really not THAT hard to do if you practice it often enough and are a good player.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it seems obvious. But why don't we see it all the time?

Because it's a very low percentage shot-ie there is too much to go wrong. Alvaro has a very steep swing plane so it's not that hard to hit driver off the deck.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I tried driver-driver a few times before I got my 3 wood. It was a 550 yd p5 with wide fairway and little trouble left or right and the ball was sittin up pretty. I was able to get it close enough for an easy 30 yd pitch. Mainly did it just to see if I could.

Now I can use my 13* 3w, which is very easy to hit and get 235-250 (GPS measured) from the fairway.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it seems obvious. But why don't we see it all the time?

We dont see this very often simply because, to hit driver driver, your first drive needs to be in the fairway -> implying you hit a good shot in the first place, and since these guys can hit there 2 or 3 fairway woods something up to 260-270 there is simply no need to get maybe 10-20 yards more but with a lot more risk. And most par 5s dont play as long as the ones in Hazeltine.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know why but I really don't like the look of a super fast tempo swing. It looks ugly to me, even if he is a great ball striker.

Every individual golfer has his own tempo that fits him right - i´m more on the slower side, and i couldnt hit a medicine ball with his tempo. But afterall - tempo is not influencing your length (unless you have the wrong one of course).

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 4143 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • How? 🙂 Day 14 – Moving or Touching Loose Impediments or Touching Sand in a Bunker
    • If I am understanding this correctly, I've been able to, for over two and a half years now, move stones in bunkers, as long as doing so doesn't move my ball, same as I can do on the fairway or in the rough?   I either missed this entirely or forgot about it.   
    • It was explained to me that they wanted people to remove stones, but not to give them so much freedom that they  could just go messing about willy nilly and moving their ball. So, what they came up with did that.
    • Previously the LR caused a stone to be treated like a MO in all respects. Now the rule doesn't.  Why not?  Why shouldn't the Rule simply deem a stone in a bunker as either a LI or treat it by Rule as one? A safety conscious player could incur a penalty for being safe about a stone but not a walnut. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. DanTheStallion
      DanTheStallion
      (36 years old)
    2. iYelledFOREatTheHOLE
      iYelledFOREatTheHOLE
      (31 years old)
    3. jd1623
      jd1623
      (38 years old)
    4. Rextarpromodel63
      Rextarpromodel63
      (38 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...