IGNORED

Why am I so inconsistent?

mkrosal
Note: This thread is 5338 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm just starting out, i've been going to the range a couple times a week for the last 4 or 5 weeks and I'm still very inconsistent. I feel like my trouble is with my grip. I've tried all different types of ways to grip the club and nothing feels comfortable. It is kind of hard to explain but my right hand always ends up too much underneath the club. Does anyone have any routines or special ways to know you have a good grip? or can you point me to a video or existing thread because i know it is a tough thing to describe. Thank You!
In My Bag:
Driver:MacTec NVG2 Draw 460cc
Woods:MacTec NVG2 3 Wood
Hybrid:Idea Tech A4 #3,Utility #4
Irons:MacTec NVG2 5-PW Steel, Regular FlexWedgesCCi Attack 50*CG10 Black Pearl 56*,60*Putter:C-Groove Valerie 34"

Get Ben Hogan's Five Fundamental's...it's at almost any book store. It discusses the basic five fundamentals, including the correct grip and that should help you if you are a beginner.

Driver Ping G10 10.5*
Hybrids Ping G5 (3) 19* Bridgestone J36 (4) 22*
Irons Mizuno MP-57 5-PW
Wedges Srixon WG-504 52.08 Bridgestone WC Copper 56.13
Putter 33" Scotty Cameron Studio Select #2

You're inconsistent because you are not very good and don't know what you are doing, at least that is what someone told me when I first started to learn this game. Pretty brutal, but usually pretty accurate, too. So, what to do? As CG031 mentioned, Ben Hogan's Five Fundamentals is probably the best ten bucks you'll spend on your golf game. Read the entire book, then keep it handy for reference, that would be a great start.