Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules...


Note: This thread is 4329 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

There have been a lot of rules posts lately. For the love of the game, I implore you to go to the USGA website and read the rules . Just browse a few, read some decisions on the rules. You might learn something.

If you think you know the rules, take a RULES QUIZ . Set the level to advanced and get ready to challenge yourself.

Talk about your findings here...

Link to post
Share on other sites

18 of 18 here. I actually have a calendar reminder set and I take these quizzes every other Monday.

That's phenomenal. I commend you on your understanding of the Rules of Golf.

I have a question for you, if you will. In your casual rounds with friends, do you all play by the Rules? For exapmle: Say you're all playing for a buck a hole and your buddy lifts his ball to ID without following the proper procedure (maybe he doesn't mark the ball before lifting), do you let it go? do you mention it at all?
Link to post
Share on other sites

OK OK I'll agree to disagree on the grey subject. Having said that I did go to the USGA site and look over the rules. Just skimmed them over, but I am going to get a copy to keep in my bag. As I have said this debate is good as it's made me realize I should know the rules better than I do. Hopefully others will do the same. I'm going to take the quiz and see what I don't know.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I got 14/18. A few of them I had no idea and can't even imagine when and how they would ever come up.

I keep a copy of the rule book in my bag at all times, just in case. They don't cost much at all. Most golf stores have them and even bookstores on college campuses usually have them for golf classes. Great 'reading material' in the bathroom as well.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Thing is when an actual event arises in play, a multiple choice questionnaire doesn't float down from above and present you with choices. The real trick to rules is you have to identify when one must be referenced and know how to proceed. This is much harder than situational guessing as a test like this presents.

So, it's important to know the rules well enough if you're to play in organized competition that you can recognize, identify and proceed within the rules when such an event occurs.

It's sort of like a balk in baseball. Given a multiple choice guess test I could tell you every situation that is a balk. But, no way I could identify every balk in the play of a real game.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I had an interesting thing come up.. I dont think its in the rules anywhere. An older guy i was paired up with yesterday used binoculars to gauge his shots because he couldnt see very far. My other playing partner thinks this is illegal. I countered with that youre allowed to use a rangefinder, so what is the difference? They're both occular divices, right?
Link to post
Share on other sites

I had an interesting thing come up.. I dont think its in the rules anywhere. An older guy i was paired up with yesterday used binoculars to gauge his shots because he couldnt see very far. My other playing partner thinks this is illegal. I countered with that youre allowed to use a rangefinder, so what is the difference? They're both occular divices, right?

So long as he isn't using them while he hits I don't think it's a problem at all. I mean, he could just as well walk to where he was looking but of course the binoculars save time.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd take this quiz with a grain of salt - after all, I learned earlier today that there are no referees in golf, and here the USGA is referring to a "referee" in their quiz.



22. A referee does not have the authority during the play of a match to declare an area as ground under repair if it was not previously marked. Correct You answered False Correct answer False Explanation Decision 34-2/1



Then they have the audacity to include a definition for something that clearly doesn't exist - the USGA is rubbish!!

"Referee
A " referee " is one who is appointed by the Committee to accompany players to decide questions of fact and apply the Rules . He must act on any breach of a Rule that he observes or is reported to him.
A referee should not attend the flagstick , stand at or mark the position of the hole , or lift the ball or mark its position."

Link to post
Share on other sites

I had an interesting thing come up.. I dont think its in the rules anywhere. An older guy i was paired up with yesterday used binoculars to gauge his shots because he couldnt see very far. My other playing partner thinks this is illegal. I countered with that youre allowed to use a rangefinder, so what is the difference? They're both occular divices, right?

I have thought about doing this. My eyesight far away really sucks. I want to take binoculars to the course so I can get a better idea of trouble around the greens, pin placements, hazards, etc. The rangefinder magnifies, so I doubt that binoculars would be illegal.

Link to post
Share on other sites

18 of 18 here. I actually have a calendar reminder set and I take these quizzes every other Monday.

That is crazy. 9 out of 18 and I thought I knew most of them.

I have a rules question. If you are taking a practice stroke and you acidentally hit the ball, does that count as a stroke or do you get to replace it. I remember a ruling on the LPGA where the player tried to stop her swing but couldn't, hit a horrid shot then replayed it. I already know the answer. It is different because the ball isn't in play until teed up but on the green it is in play once the marker is removed. Am I right?
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
If you are taking a practice stroke and you acidentally hit the ball, does that count as a stroke or do you get to replace it.

These are things you can look up yourself. In fact, Rule 18 is called "Ball at rest moved."

http://www.usga.org/bookrule.aspx?id=14288
I remember a ruling on the LPGA where the player tried to stop her swing but couldn't, hit a horrid shot then replayed it.

That was off the tee.

I already know the answer. It is different because the ball isn't in play until teed up but on the green it is in play once the marker is removed. Am I right?

A ball is not in play when it's teed up. It's in play when a stroke is made at it.

I think 20-3a covers replacing the ball on the putting green. http://www.usga.org/bookrule.aspx?id=14292#20-3
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd take this quiz with a grain of salt - after all, I learned earlier today that there are no referees in golf, and here the USGA is referring to a "referee" in their quiz.

Tournaments actually do have referees once you get to a certain point. Playing in the SF city championship last year, once you get to a certain point they have an official from the NCGA that follows every group, announces the scores and the status of the match and is there to answer any rules questions. Sure, its not your classic referee, but they'll call you on stuff. For instance, he was kind enough to remind me to actually say the word "provisional" after a wayward teeshot, as not declaring it would have been a penalty.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 4329 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. andreanewman
      andreanewman
      (29 years old)
    2. Erg
      Erg
      (54 years old)
    3. Hacker James
      Hacker James
      (79 years old)
    4. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...