Jump to content
IGNORED

MULLIGANS whats your opinion?????


kjb008
 Share

Note: This thread is 4202 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 122
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As a 12.3 I think its time for you to give up mulligans. Unless you're playing in a charity tournament scramble and have bought them. The free stroke or two can really sway your handicap in the wrong direction.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Assuming you're posting your scores for your handicap, definitely no mulligans- period.

Playing a casual round, hit a bad shot, and want to see if you "could" have made it, sure drop another ball.

That said, it's your game you should be able to do as you please, as long as it's not affecting anyone else (like your gambling partners perhaps) and you're keeping up the pace of play with the group in front of you.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


It all depends on if you're playing for practice or not. If you're playing for real, mulligans are never acceptable. If you're playing for practice then do whatever you want. I say this as a golfer who plays for practice (and takes mulligans) 99% of the time. I'm just not good enough (yet) to play for real very often.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


To be honest, I felt guilty the first time I bought them at a tournament. Actually, they're fun to have at a best-ball tournament. A few of the guys I play with use mullies, and I'm perfectly fine with that. We're all out just having fun anyway. For me, I don't use mullies. I like to know that my score is actually my score. It'll make that 75 feel that much better.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Well,

of course no mulligans when I post my scores, which is only during tournaments.

The other only situation where I have accepted to take one is at the first tee, when racing from the parking lot. If we hit the very first shot OB then we consider having another ball for free. But then again, it doesn't matter anyway. In the end I know that the score is +2.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


My group allows a mulligan off the first tee only if we didn't hit the range beforehand but thats about it. We shouldn't even be doing that though. I think Mulligans are for people who cannot accept the fact that they made a mistake. I've shanked drives short of the ladies teebox before, then crushed a 3-wood and saved par once or twice. Thats a great feeling. Alot better than having in the back of your mind the fact that you really got 2 more strokes than you're counting.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Me and the guys I usually play with dont allow mulligans or gimme putts either for that matter. My philosophy is that in order to get better at the game you have to play it under real conditions under the real rules - I also think in the back of your mind if you know you can take a mulligan you dont focus on your shot as much as you should.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


i like to go with 1 mulligan for every 18 holes but no puts, just looking to see what the norm is for everyone else.

If I my ball comes to rest 100 yards into the forest or out of bounds , I'll hit a mulligan from the point I just hit from (even if it's on the tee box) in order to speed up play. Then all I have to do is add 2 strokes to my score when I finish putting out. It's just that easy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


If I'm playing a practice round, or on my own, and the course is clear-ish, I'll hit a load of mulligans but always play my first. I'm at the stage where I'm trying to get a feel of how different things pan out, so to try to do this with just playing my first around 18 would take a while.

I always end up with the score I shot with my original ball, counting penalties and whatever, but I'll almost always have more than one ball on the go.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Depends on the circumstances, like most have stated. If I plan to keep a real score, I play by the rules. Sometimes in a practice round I might hit 5 shots from the same spot if the urge strikes me, though.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


When I play with one guy we both take one mulligan on the front and back. I almost never even use mine. Really depends on the course, there are tight courses that if you miss the fareway you are out of bounds.

My friend will pretty much just give up at that point because He'll hit one out of bounds and gets flustered and will continue to hit shots out of bounds. The mulligan seems to make that less likely.

And yea you have to add 2 to your score but if we both have a mulligan its still a fair game between us.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 4202 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Trip to Oregon was no good, hit the driver terrible so I was basically scrambling every hole. Slowly working my way through my left misses off the tee. Mostly mechanics but also part mental with trusting it on the course. Can't reproduce the miss on the range. Finished one shot out of playoff for US Mid Am and US FourBall qualifiers.  Got a decent lead in our points race. Noticed that as I've been trying to improve rib cage and hip depth that the right ankle and foot would get unstable. Asked my trainer/pt about it and this is what he recommended. He just got certified in a foot program. Fingers crossed but for the first time I can really feel myself winding up the upper torso over a solid lower body. But doing it athletically not just faking it by not moving stuff around. It's the most rib cage rotation I've had going back without trying to force it. I like that I’m doing more work at the joint and that the joint is inside my right ankle at 4. I think the key for me with this foot tripod thing is to keep the right knee over the foot, not letting it rotate towards the middle of my stance. I can feel the "spiraling" effect. Basically my feet are more supinated with high arches. So when I go into my backswing the foot supinates incorrectly losing the big toe joint. Ideally you would want to "build" more of an arch of the foot on the backswing and use that "ramp" on the downswing. This would be another way of explaining it. If the arch of the foot collapses you you access to the deep front line. I just did a video for an instructor about how this relates to hip rotation (not pelvis rotation). He promotes himself as a biomechanics expert and teaches many pros lol  
    • Day 211.  Played 18 today, and really came to life in the second nine.  3 pars, bogey, 3 pars, closed out with two bogeys.   Shot a 39 for the second nine, something I'm not sure I've done at that course before (Hansen Dam).  I've had days where I hit a bunch of GIRs on that second nine, one day it was 7 GIR + 2 near, but I think I shot 40 or 41 on the second nine that day. 
    • And Chamblee said Poulter is the worst ball striker "By a lot" of all the players and Poulter won his singles match by 3 holes LOL...   Best result of the European players and most of the USA players, guess that's what you call an anomaly. Unbelievable how stupid that statement was, the Postman did himself proud....
    • “So who talks first? You talk first? I talk first?” The Force Awakens  
    • I think I’m playing my wedges too far forward in my stance. That could explain the occasional fat shots and why I tend to hit the ball high off the face out of the rough.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (51 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (30 years old)
    3. ButterCuts1372
      ButterCuts1372
      (36 years old)
    4. Dombaker
      Dombaker
      (25 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...