Jump to content
IGNORED

MULLIGANS whats your opinion?????


Note: This thread is 4149 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I was thinking about this yesterday. I know that during a competition it'd be DQ (for practicing on the competition course), but otherwise, if you declared ahead of time that your shot was a practice and you were going to discard it regardless of the outcome, is there any problem with taking a practice shot on the course? It doesn't seem that way, but you never know where a rule might be lurking, and I don't know whether "competition" is meant to include any time you're playing for any purpose.

This might be sorta releated. But I learned last year at the state am qaulifer that accidently hitting the ball with a club (say during a practice swing) in the teeing ground is not a penalty and you can re-tee with no strokes added. The marshall expained it as you must use a "meaningful stroke". I was surprised.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Replies 122
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

This might be sorta releated. But I learned last year at the state am qaulifer that accidently hitting the ball with a club (say during a practice swing) in the teeing ground is not a penalty and you can re-tee with no strokes added. The marshall expained it as you must use a "meaningful stroke". I was surprised.

Yeah, it's covered in the rules. The "wiggle room" comes from the definition of a stroke:

A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club

On any shot but your tee shot, there's no safe-haven since you can either count your swing as a stroke or replace it and take a penalty stroke. However, on the tee, since the ball is not yet in play, there's no penalty for disturbing it. It's a very important rule to know, since if you do knock it down and wrongly decide to play it as it lands, you likely tee off from outside the tee box.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, it's covered in the rules. The "wiggle room" comes from the definition of a stroke:

I knocked the ball off the tee during my waggle. I was horrified at first and i thought was going to have to play my second from where it dropped, but the marshall just looked at me said said "tee it back up, that wasnt a stroke" He explained the rule to me after the group had all hit. What a relief..lol. But I imagine you can get really liberal with your definition of forward stroke in the tee ground with a few friends..

Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't normally use mulligans because I don't want to get into the habit of being able to take a second hack at every shot, because I know that in tournaments you can't do that. When I'm playing with my father or some friends, however, we usually allow ourselves 1 per 9 holes, because it's more fun, and it adds a little piece of strategy. These rounds I do not count for my handicap though. Also, sometimes when the course is wide open, I'll play with 2 balls, but I don't count these for handicap either.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What is this "Mulligan" you speak of? I've re-read the entire rules of golf and can not find any mention of such a thing.

There is one tiny loophole in the rules that might allow for a mulligan. Decision 33-8/13 states:

"Q. An overhead power line is so situated that a perfectly played shot can be deflected. Would it be proper for the Committee to make a Local Rule allowing a player whose ball is deflected by this power line to replay the stroke, without penalty, if he wishes? "A. No. However, a Local Rule requiring a player to replay the stroke would be acceptable." Ultimately, it's up to your local course if they allow for this. If they do, then you actually have no choice but to replay your shot. http://golf.about.com/od/rulesofgolf...powerlines.htm
Link to post
Share on other sites

I was thinking about this yesterday. I know that during a competition it'd be DQ (for practicing on the competition course), but otherwise, if you declared ahead of time that your shot was a practice and you were going to discard it regardless of the outcome, is there any problem with taking a practice shot on the course? It doesn't seem that way, but you never know where a rule might be lurking, and I don't know whether "competition" is meant to include any time you're playing for any purpose.

Actually you wouldn't be disqualified for practice for playing a mulligan. Instead, it would become the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance. Your original ball would be deemed lost and the substituted ball would be your ball in play for the remainder of the hole. In essence you would have just caused yourself to take 2 extra strokes.

There is one tiny loophole in the rules that might allow for a mulligan. Decision 33-8/13 states:

That wouldn't even be anything like a mulligan, because when the local rule is in effect, you are

required to play another ball. The stroke with the original ball is canceled and you must play again from the same place. It's as if the first stroke never happened.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I gave up mulligans some three years ago because I wanted to be truly aware of how good (bad) a golfer I am. It's much more satisfying to look at a score card and know that I really did shoot what's on it. I don't get upset when others use mulligans, but I don't use them, ever.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Fine for folk in their first few times out / year and a half / or first couple of times playing on tough courses, and fine for duffers who only play a few times a year.

My second time out on a tough course, I think the guys I played with took pity on me as I was having a terrible day off the tee. I think they gave me a couple of mulligans on that day. That was about 2 1/2 years ago.

Personally, I was no longer interested in accepting mulligans after my second time on a challenging 18-holer. It's been mulligan free golf since then. TO me it's the rules are the rules, or what's the point?

But.... I'd have no problem offering a mulligan to a novice who's struggling his or her first several times out. And how they want to determine what "first several times out" means is up to them.

There comes a point for a beginner where your score starts to not be ridiculous. Personally, after I reached that point I didn't want to even think about any mulligans.

But for anyone serious or kinda serious about their game, or who takes the game seriously, it's just cheating oneself, because one winds up with no idea where one really stands, IMO.
Link to post
Share on other sites

That wouldn't even be anything like a mulligan, because when the local rule is in effect, you are required to play another ball. The stroke with the original ball is canceled and you must play again from the same place. It's as if the first stroke never happened .[/QUOTE]

Like a mulligan

But seriously, all I was always trying to do was simply point to a rule that warrants the closest thing to a mulligan, even if it technically isn't.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Playing for individual scores, mulligan is not an option. On fun play with friends, we might have a mulligan on the first shot if we don't warm up first.

Taking a mulligan is like cheating myself, which I'd rather not do. I play golf primarily against myself, not everyone else.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

We in Singapore always take a Mulligan on our 1st shot on the first tee. Is it crazy ? Btw this Mulligan is it a person or a thing ? Please help ?
Link to post
Share on other sites

We in Singapore always take a Mulligan on our 1st shot on the first tee. Is it crazy ? Btw this Mulligan is it a person or a thing ? Please help ?

We call that a "breakfast ball". Those & mulligans are only for fun rounds, usually in the same round that we play more than one ball if the course is backed up or empty.

Link to post
Share on other sites

when me & my buddies play we give 1 Mulligan per 9 but can only be used off the tee.... none of us are professionals , and we're not playing for money, we're playing to have a good time...So until the golf courses start paying me to play there...I play with 1 mulligan per 9!
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 4149 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Day 70, August 3, 2021: Grip work, I mean my grip sucks. So I worked on it for ten minutes then hit some chips.
    • Depends on where they’re playing. Most courses around me are fairly wide open. I’ll take Hillandale as an example. Not long at all for the pros, just over 6400 as a par 71.  The four par 3s are mid length holes (one about 165, one about 180 and two that are 190). One of them has an all carry approach and one has a tough green. The longest par 4 out there is only about 430 from the blues, which is driver-wedge for most pros, and a lot of them are fairly straightaway. Most are in the range of 370-400 from the blues. All three par 5s are reachable in two, the longest clocking in at 510 and the shortest a mere 440.  I know this is just one course, but I’ll say a pro can shoot mid 60s pretty easily.
    • The conditions, particularly of the putting greens, don't appear to be "bad" at all there. That stuff matters.
    • The Costs of Selling Covid Fear. Covid vaccines are incredibly… | by James Surowiecki | Jul, 2021 | Elemental Covid vaccines are incredibly effective. The media’s overhyping of new research from the CDC is making people think otherwise. If you haven't already, get vaccinated.
    • Day 584 - August 3, 2021 Hit fifteen or twenty balls at Chautauqua between lessons. Wrists while I turn, 1/2 swing (or 3/4). Whatever it is, it's "less." Hit some good ones.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Duby27
      Duby27
      (38 years old)
    2. Joe Guastella
      Joe Guastella
      (37 years old)
    3. Ladysmanfelpz
      Ladysmanfelpz
      (31 years old)
    4. LarryEdwards
      LarryEdwards
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...