Jump to content
IGNORED

Brian Davis


Note: This thread is 3964 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

major respect to this guy after today. just called a 2 shot penalty on himself in the playoff for touching a loose impediment in the bunker/water. total respect for the guy
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeah, it was not fun to watch. Good thing, if anything, is that he had a pretty long putt, and Furyk had a somewhat easy putt. Of course, never easy when putting for a win, but if Davis was 3 feet from the flag, it would have been even worse.

It was great of him to call it, heck, even notice and consider it being a broken rule. But that's how we play this game, we follow every rule, those that help us and those that penalize us.

Hazard, not bunker.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, it was not fun to watch. Good thing, if anything, is that he had a pretty long putt, and Furyk had a somewhat easy putt. Of course, never easy when putting for a win, but if Davis was 3 feet from the flag, it would have been even worse.

to be fair he didnt even look at the putt so it was more likely that he would have given it more of a scare if it meant something, and yeah i didnt know what to call it hence the 'bunker/water' :)

Link to post
Share on other sites

major respect to this guy after today. just called a 2 shot penalty on himself in the playoff for touching a loose impediment in the bunker/water. total respect for the guy

Agreed, It's players like Davis that make this game great, hats off to him

and Grats to Furyk on his 2nd win this season
Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed, It's players like Davis that make this game great, hats off to him

I agree.

Such a shame but outstanding display of sportsmanship.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Really was a great round to watch all together. Especially when davis almost eagled on 18 before that. A lot of respect to him for calling himself on it.
Link to post
Share on other sites

That rule was pretty ridiculos though, I mean really two stroke penalty that harsh? Ill understand maybe a stroke penalty maybe but two is just stupid terrible ending.

It is a cruddy way to have to end a tournament but, that is how the rule was written. Making it a one stroke penalty because it seems like a ridiculous way to end a tournament only undermines the rules.

Good to see him call that on himself though. There is a good chance it would have gone unnoticed otherwise.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I havent seen what happened, but i thought most penatlies regarding this kind of thing were based around the ball. If whatever he moved resulted in the ball moving, then it would be a penatly. Is that what happened?
Link to post
Share on other sites

If the reed had been still growing in the ground, rather than dead and loose, would it still have been a penalty?

I don't think so. I believe it's OK to brush a growing piece of grass on your backswing in a hazard (so long as you don't ground your club), but not a loose impediment (dead branch or stick). It does seem odd that loose impediments are specifically mentioned in the rule.

Link to post
Share on other sites

If the reed had been still growing in the ground, rather than dead and loose, would it still have been a penalty?

no it would have been fine then, you are allowed to touch anything growing in the hazard

Link to post
Share on other sites

I havent seen what happened, but i thought most penatlies regarding this kind of thing were based around the ball. If whatever he moved resulted in the ball moving, then it would be a penatly. Is that what happened?

no it wasnt near the ball, he just flicked a twig during his backswing

Link to post
Share on other sites

Bogus rule...it had nothing to do with the outcome of the shot. The PGA needs to rethink some rules. Thats not the first or last time a guy calls a penalty on himself and looses a tournament because of a rule that has no bearing on the shot. Congrats to Davis for calling it though!! My .02 anyway.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Bogus rule...it had nothing to do with the outcome of the shot. The PGA needs to rethink some rules. Thats not the first or last time a guy calls a penalty on himself and looses a tournament because of a rule that has no bearing on the shot. Congrats to Davis for calling it though!! My .02 anyway.

I totally agree with you hacker....I think unless it interferes with the ball itself, it shouldn't have been a 2 stroke penalty.....I know that when I hit into the trees and there are branches dead or otherwise, I don't take any of that rule into consideration.....it would be awfully difficult as an amature to follow every rule....

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3964 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...