Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
mcfc_nick

Brian Davis

Note: This thread is 3439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

82 posts / 19077 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

OK, can someone tell me if he was playing the shot? Or just taking a practice swing? I only saw one replay of his club touching the twig/thing but not if he continued to play the ball..... Because if he was PLAYING the ball I can't see how it's a penalty?

He was playing the shot, it was a penalty because he hit the stick on the back swing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

The rule screwed him. There was no malicious intent to improve his lie, or swing path clearance, etc... This is perhaps the purest example of a good rule gone bad, right up there with accidentally grounding your club in water when hitting from a hazard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I wouldnt have even noticed that i swiped a reed if i where in that situation. i would have been too focused on just trying to get the ball on the green.

I was thinking the same thing. He may have felt it more than seen it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta give Davis his dues for the honesty. But was anyone else thinking drop it 100 yards out and wedge it in close for a chance? The lie was obviously tricky and he short-sided it.

Also I thought it was interesting how easily Furyk made that final putt when all the pressure was off.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta give Davis his dues for the honesty. But was anyone else thinking drop it 100 yards out and wedge it in close for a chance? The lie was obviously tricky and he short-sided it.

he could have dropped it about 5 yards off the green

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah I think Scooter or whatever the judges name is was standing at the drop point, just off the green, who knows, could have holed it and threw Jimmy a nice wink

As said by others though - Amazing display of sincere love and respect for the game. props to you B.D.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He was playing the shot, it was a penalty because he hit the stick on the back swing.

So the action of making a "stroke" is in the down-swing only?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So the action of making a "stroke" is in the down-swing only?

That's correct. To quote from the

USGA Rules of Golf, Section II:
Stroke A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta give Davis his dues for the honesty. But was anyone else thinking drop it 100 yards out and wedge it in close for a chance? The lie was obviously tricky and he short-sided it.

From where the hole was and where the ball last crossed onto the hazard, there was no place "100 yards out" on that line where he could have dropped. That would have put him in the hazard. His only relief options were to drop within 2 clublengths of where the ball crossed in, or return to the original place and play again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • An 88 today. Horrible putting. Missed 6 straight par putts from inside 7 feet. I can’t even say well I made a long one that maybe I shouldn’t have. Just plain bad putting. To top it off triple on 18. Ugh. 
    • She deserved at least a sniff of your beer for requiring you to play from the tips and commandeering the cart!  Sounds like a good kid.
    • Had a nice time today golfing with my Granddaughter. We played 9 holes on "her home course" .  She was a bit down in the dumps because she didn't qualify for Monday's varsity tournament. We talked about her best golf days were still a head of her. Freshman envy I guess.  On the first tee she asked "so what are we playing for?" I told her a pitcher of beer, figuring I would destroy her mental prowess right off the bat. "You're on" was her reply. Now my mental game was taking a double take. I've been out of highschool for quite a while, but I'm pretty sure 13 year old, highschool fresh are not into beer yet. She told me she needed a stroke a hole, and that she would be playing from the women's tee, and that I would be playing from the tips.  Now I am really thinking. This time last month this young lady didn't know very much about golf. Yeah, a few long swing lessons with the course pro, and some short game stuff from me, some months ago. Trying to keep my competitive face on, I was.  Oh yeah, that she would be driving the cart......huh? Long story short she netted a 44, while grossing a 53. I think I was conned out of my own hdcp, but still won with a 41.  I was pleasently surprised at her game. I don't what youngsters her age shoot for good scores. I thought something in the 60s would have been decent. I asked her how she missed qualifying for Monday's tournament? She said she scored 51, and needed a 48.  As we were heading off the course, she told me I was going to have to wait on that pitcher of beer. For about 7.5 years. A little personal relief on my part. However, she was up for an ice cream, and soda. My treat.  What can I say. She now owns me.       
    • 86 (+15) on a 5000 yard course. My best here is 84. I really need to learn to control my emotions when I face slow players ahead of me. Today it came on hole 13. Waited for another single (walking as was I) to get out of range. Talked to him at the next tee box to see if he had called the rangers about a 4ball that wasnt letting singles play through. He had another single in front of them. Neither of them wanted to join up which didn't make sense. Had the first 12 holes done in 65 minutes, then it took 80-90 minutes fot the last 6 holes. I know that is normal pace, but it is more than twice as slow as I had been going. I'm glad I kept my head in the game enough to finish the round without killing my score
    • I have the Smart Sole S AND a Callaway 58 C-grind 8 bounce. Yes I know they're both 58. And yes I use both of them. The SS S for deep rough and soft sand, and the Callaway for hard pan, tight lies, and firm sand. All of which exist on the same course. I don't carry a FW so I have room in my bag.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. goofi22
      goofi22
      (41 years old)
    2. HackardLaw
      HackardLaw
      (36 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...