Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
mcfc_nick

Brian Davis

Note: This thread is 3288 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

82 posts / 18921 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

major respect to this guy after today. just called a 2 shot penalty on himself in the playoff for touching a loose impediment in the bunker/water. total respect for the guy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Yeah, it was not fun to watch. Good thing, if anything, is that he had a pretty long putt, and Furyk had a somewhat easy putt. Of course, never easy when putting for a win, but if Davis was 3 feet from the flag, it would have been even worse.

It was great of him to call it, heck, even notice and consider it being a broken rule. But that's how we play this game, we follow every rule, those that help us and those that penalize us.

Hazard, not bunker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, it was not fun to watch. Good thing, if anything, is that he had a pretty long putt, and Furyk had a somewhat easy putt. Of course, never easy when putting for a win, but if Davis was 3 feet from the flag, it would have been even worse.

to be fair he didnt even look at the putt so it was more likely that he would have given it more of a scare if it meant something, and yeah i didnt know what to call it hence the 'bunker/water' :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

major respect to this guy after today. just called a 2 shot penalty on himself in the playoff for touching a loose impediment in the bunker/water. total respect for the guy

Agreed, It's players like Davis that make this game great, hats off to him

and Grats to Furyk on his 2nd win this season

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed, It's players like Davis that make this game great, hats off to him

I agree.

Such a shame but outstanding display of sportsmanship.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That rule was pretty ridiculos though, I mean really two stroke penalty that harsh? Ill understand maybe a stroke penalty maybe but two is just stupid terrible ending.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Really was a great round to watch all together. Especially when davis almost eagled on 18 before that. A lot of respect to him for calling himself on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That rule was pretty ridiculos though, I mean really two stroke penalty that harsh? Ill understand maybe a stroke penalty maybe but two is just stupid terrible ending.

It is a cruddy way to have to end a tournament but, that is how the rule was written. Making it a one stroke penalty because it seems like a ridiculous way to end a tournament only undermines the rules.

Good to see him call that on himself though. There is a good chance it would have gone unnoticed otherwise.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I havent seen what happened, but i thought most penatlies regarding this kind of thing were based around the ball. If whatever he moved resulted in the ball moving, then it would be a penatly. Is that what happened?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the reed had been still growing in the ground, rather than dead and loose, would it still have been a penalty?

I don't think so. I believe it's OK to brush a growing piece of grass on your backswing in a hazard (so long as you don't ground your club), but not a loose impediment (dead branch or stick). It does seem odd that loose impediments are specifically mentioned in the rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the reed had been still growing in the ground, rather than dead and loose, would it still have been a penalty?

no it would have been fine then, you are allowed to touch anything growing in the hazard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I havent seen what happened, but i thought most penatlies regarding this kind of thing were based around the ball. If whatever he moved resulted in the ball moving, then it would be a penatly. Is that what happened?

no it wasnt near the ball, he just flicked a twig during his backswing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bogus rule...it had nothing to do with the outcome of the shot. The PGA needs to rethink some rules. Thats not the first or last time a guy calls a penalty on himself and looses a tournament because of a rule that has no bearing on the shot. Congrats to Davis for calling it though!! My .02 anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bogus rule...it had nothing to do with the outcome of the shot. The PGA needs to rethink some rules. Thats not the first or last time a guy calls a penalty on himself and looses a tournament because of a rule that has no bearing on the shot. Congrats to Davis for calling it though!! My .02 anyway.

I totally agree with you hacker....I think unless it interferes with the ball itself, it shouldn't have been a 2 stroke penalty.....I know that when I hit into the trees and there are branches dead or otherwise, I don't take any of that rule into consideration.....it would be awfully difficult as an amature to follow every rule....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3288 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • Who faced the tougher competition?   My analysis covers the 20 Masters Tournaments Woods has played in as a pro (1997 – 2019), and the first 21 Masters Tournament Nicklaus participated (1960 – 1982).   The Masters Tournament was chosen because the Masters is the only event played on the same course—Augusta National—each year.   I have one underlying assumption with regards to Tournament scoring. Golfing technology and equipment have steadily advanced. However, after researching the USGA opinions and the course overhauls that occurred in response to the technological advancements, I believe course designers have done a job preserving the emphasis on the player skill.    My assumption is that the efforts by executive committees to create more challenging courses has offset the permitted use of more advanced equipment. As a result I feel confident that the Tournament scores from the Nicklaus period in the sample (1960-1982) can be compared to the Masters leaderboards from the Woods period (1997-2019) within the margin of error of any statistical adjustment.      I merged the field from Woods’ first Tournament in ’97 with the field in Nicklaus’ first Tournament in ’60, maintaining the cut line at the top 50 qualifiers. I simply repeated this process through the 2019 and the 1982 Masters Tournaments.   In this period that I assessed, Woods did not participate in three tournaments ’14, ’16, and ‘17. Nicklaus did not participate in one tournament in ’67. Although the Masters Tournaments in ’61, ’73, 2003-2007 were played in poor weather conditions, after reviewing the cut lines, only ’03 and ’05 seem to be significantly affected by weather. A slight adjustment was made to players scores to normalize the scores.    After taking measure among the qualifiers during the merged tournaments displayed in the link, I found that the level of difficulty increased in the Woods’ era 28.1%.   ·     68% of the top 50 lowest qualifying scores are from the Woods’ era See 2ndsheet in link, labelled “top 50”   Additional Findings:   -      After merging the best of the two periods, Woods finishes with an estimated 4 green jackets and Nicklaus finishes with 2. -      If Woods competed in the Nicklaus period, Woods would have an estimated 9 green jackets. If Nicklaus competed in the Woods era, Nicklaus would have an estimated 5 green jackets. *Note: Nicklaus finished his career playing in 15 additional Masters Tournaments beginning in 1983. Woods is still active as of 2019. -      Woods finishes the 23 Tournament sample 106 below par. Nicklaus finishes the 23 Tournament sample 75 below par. Missing the hypothetical cut = +10 towards Masters career score.    Woods vs. Nicklaus  
    • A buddy of mine gave me a Bobby Jones 460cc black driver today and I played absolutely great with it! Highlight of today's round, however, was a beautiful 3 wood onto a par 3 that landed about 7-8 feet from the hole. There must have been a closest to the pin challenge earlier in the morning, because a marker was out there. My shot would have won it today had I been there to play in it 🙂 Overall, really solid round. Still some inconsistencies with iron play, but it's getting the better (the last three holes were really good with my 6, 7, 8, and W). 
    • Who knows. Maybe not happy that Nick reported the 2017 Champions Dinner story in the media. Tiger might have said things in that room that he expected the other Champions to keep to themselves instead of spouting to the media about it.
    • Not sure if it counts, but: Scrambled with some great guys today (foursome). We played an absolutely beautiful course. Shot a 73. 
    • You do realize my response was to “Diece”? But addressing your post, glad you are improving. However, even at 59, I usually play at 6700+ yards. On a mini tour, you will be at 7200 minimum, and expected to be under par, at least if you plan to play for a living. either way, golf should never define you. And making boast about a difficult game is a recipe for disappointment. But like most of the folks on this site, we will be ok if proven wrong. Will you be ok if we are proven right?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Stillhacken
      Stillhacken
      (47 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...