IGNORED

How to practise to become a better putter ?

Note: This thread is 5089 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I kept detailed scores for over a period of 3 months now, I am a great driver and hit most fairways, I am a great iron player and hit most greens in regulation, but I can make 42 putts with ease..... I went from hc 45 tot 13.8 in only a few months, but puttttttttingggggg ..... pffffff.

I know it is all about practice and I practice really a LOT on drives, on my irons and on my approaches, there is also no sand in the Practice Bunker left, since I worked on my sand play.....

And I pratice also hour after hour on the putting green, butt I keep making 3 putts .... I even took lessons in putting, but I still need to break 36 putts ..... when I manage to do so .... I am sure playing schratch soon.

Please tell me how to practise putting ......

Cal Razr Hawk 10.5 | TM Superfast 3W | Adams Idea Pro Black 20 | MP-68 3-PW | TW9 50/06 + 58/12 | Ram Zebra Putter

The only way I know how to become a great putter is playing a ton. Good/great putter play at least 3 to 4 times a week and often the same courses all the time so they know the greens.

Drills, I do two or three all from Dave Pelz. The names are 3 foot drill, 20 foot drill, and lag drill. Buy the putting bible maybe. He has some insight into reading greens, becoming better at speed, all the stuff that matters. Or just go to his website. I am sure he has the drills on there. I can't explain them as well as he can.

One thing I do that helps me is I take my short putts seriously. I am a pretty horrid midrange putter but a good short putter so I save alot of shots by making 3 to 4 footers after a bad first one. It also gives confidence to you knowing you can make the come backer.

Brian