Jump to content
IGNORED

OB when walking


Note: This thread is 3886 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

How do you guys play a ball that has gone OB when you are walking? Yesterday I hit a drive that was off a tee box that was high on a hill. I sliced it right, which I have done on this hole on several occassions in the past, so based on my past experiences I figured I wasn't OB and I didn't hit a provisional. When I got to my ball it ended up being OB by about 2 inches. I ended up playing it where it lay and took a 2 stroke penalty so I was lying three.
Do you walk all the way back to the tee and tee off again if you are walking?
Link to post
Share on other sites

If I got the time, I'll walk back. If not, I put a horisontal line on the card and play the ball out from where it lies.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

We were having this discussion in another topic. There are some people who insist you go back to the tee which is the rule but in the course of a casual round just drop a ball and step up to hit shot number four. I can't see many people who insist on following the rule in a casual round actually walking back to the tee especially if there is a group on it. But you do get some bluffers.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Here we go again. You can do whatever you like, but you shouldn't be scoring if you decide not to play by the rules. You can't break the rules or make new ones up and then say you had x on a hole, because you didn't. If it is a just a casual round, which is essentially practice, who cares? You aren't scoring. In a competition round, if you don't want to go back to the tee, then that's it, you're finished. Anyone who claims scores for handicapping purposes where they have dropped balls near an OB fence is kidding himself.

This is why there are millions of golfers who have never played competition golf, think they are "about a 12" and then can't break 110 when for the first time in their life someone else is marking their card.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Here we go again. You can do whatever you like, but you shouldn't be scoring if you decide not to play by the rules. You can't break the rules or make new ones up and then say you had x on a hole, because you didn't. If it is a just a casual round, which is essentially practice, who cares? You aren't scoring. In a competition round, if you don't want to go back to the tee, then that's it, you're finished. Anyone who claims scores for handicapping purposes where they have dropped balls near an OB fence is kidding himself.

Here we go again again. There's nothing wrong (handicap-wise) with dropping, taking two penalty strokes, and then reporting the score for handicap purposes. In fact, you'd be violating the rules if you didn't report it. As long as you don't do this on 1/3 or more of the holes you play, you are required to estimate your most likely score for the holes you did not complete or did not play according to the Rules of Golf. Playing out the hole from the drop is a fine way to estimate what your score would have been.

You're correct in competition; you'd get a big fat DQ for breaking this rule. But for casual rounds, when it's impractical to go back (which does happen), I don't see any problem with this approach. It certainly doesn't introduce a problem for your handicap. edit: Also, I would strongly suggest dropping in bounds rather than playing from OB. OB is off the course, which may be in environmentally sensitive land, land that does not belong to the course, etc. You're bending the rules anyway, so just drop it on the right side of the fence and stay in the good graces of the greenskeepers.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Here we go again again. There's nothing wrong (handicap-wise) with dropping, taking two penalty strokes, and then reporting the score for handicap purposes. In fact, you'd be violating the rules if you didn't report it. As long as you don't do this on 1/3 or more of the holes you play, you are required to estimate your most likely score for the holes you did not complete or did not play according to the Rules of Golf. Playing out the hole from the drop is a fine way to estimate what your score would have been.

Of course it is wrong. Just because it doesn't happen very often does not mean you can legitimate it.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

How do you guys play a ball that has gone OB when you are walking? Yesterday I hit a drive that was off a tee box that was high on a hill. I sliced it right, which I have done on this hole on several occassions in the past, so based on my past experiences I figured I wasn't OB and I didn't hit a provisional. When I got to my ball it ended up being OB by about 2 inches. I ended up playing it where it lay and took a 2 stroke penalty so I was lying three.

If I'm concerned about the ball being OB/lost, I'll hit a provisional every time just to avoid the above mentioned situation - if you find your original in play then you just pick up the provisional with no penalty (it's a practice shot in essence).

Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course it is wrong. Just because it doesn't happen very often does not mean you can legitimate it.

Sorry, no. The USGA handicap manual specifically states what to do if you don't play by the Rules of Golf for part of your round. If you're maintaining a handicap, as long as you follow those rules, you're fine. This isn't rationalization, this is recognizing that there are times when it's more important to keep moving than to agonize over the rules in a non-competitive situation. I stand by my statement: there is nothing wrong with reporting your handicap after taking the "illegal" drop in a casual round. It would be a serious violation *not* to report the score.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, no. The USGA handicap manual specifically states what to do if you don't play by the Rules of Golf for part of your round. If you're maintaining a handicap, as long as you follow those rules, you're fine. This isn't rationalization, this is recognizing that there are times when it's more important to keep moving than to agonize over the rules in a non-competitive situation. I stand by my statement: there is nothing wrong with reporting your handicap after taking the "illegal" drop in a casual round. It would be a serious violation *not* to report the score.

What other rules do you make up as you are walking your round? Several of your posts have mentioned how important it is to keep the pace of play but nowhere in that USGA Rule Book (that I've found) will you find it mentioned that the rules can be bent/violated/whatever in order to ensure "pace of play". If you play by the rules and if there is even a minuscule chance that its OB, hit a provisional. The rules allow it and the rules encourage it. If I don't see where my shot ended up and I believe it not to be in the fairway, I declare I'm hitting a provisional, drop one, and hit it. It uses the least amount of time without bending the rules.

Link to post
Share on other sites

the penalty is stroke and distance and this is the same if you walk out to your ball's landing spot and you cannot find your ball. If you are not keeping score then you can do what ever you want. If you are keeping score then you are hitting 3 off the tee. If you are playing softball and hit a ball just over the foul line, you don't get to call it fair and take your place on first base.
Link to post
Share on other sites

nowhere in that USGA Rule Book (that I've found) will you find it mentioned that the rules can be bent/violated/whatever in order to ensure "pace of play".

No, but there are places in the USGA Handicap Guidelines for what to do if you don't play a hole according to the Rules of Golf. This can be finding a ball O.B. (or not finding a ball) and deciding not to go back to the tee. This can be someone playing goaltender on the putting green. There are any number of times when you don't, for whatever reason, play by the rules during a non-competitive round, and there are rules for what to do for purposes of reporting your score.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

ill be honest. i'll probably hit a provisional off the tee if it's in question, but I ain't walking back in a casual round at my home course. I'll drop it by thew oods and take two strokes at the end of the hole and add it on.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Id be pretty upset if I was on a crowed course and the guy infront of me tee'd off walked 300 yards, searched, walk 300 back and wanted to re-tee, especially if he is playing alone.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3886 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Unforgiven Anybody don’t wanna get killed, better go on out the back.    Deserves ain’t got nuthin’ to do with it.    Hell of a thing, killin’ a man. Take away everything’s he’s got. Everything he ever will have. 
    • Day 9.  Spent a fifteen minute break earlier today hitting 8-iron and 6-iron full swings, off a mat, into a net, real balls, indoors.  Hit about as many balls, careful to make sure I am at practice pace. 
    • Day 443: Did some backswing/takeaway drills (COVID-19 day-3 and something I found on AMG YouTube). Then some COVID-19 day-5 drills. Then some full swing balls with 9-iron and 3-hybrid.
    • Thanks for your reply. To elaborate  I use the GPS on the watch to conserve the iPhone battery. What I don’t understand is why it only used 1% on Friday but 21% today with the same settings.  When I raise my wrist to look at the watch, the grint is nearly always open, when  I used Golfshot it was always on the home screen with similar settings.  I had to keep pressing the button on the watch to get back to golfshot. 
    • I’ve used Golfshot in the past. 18Birdies has a watch app that I used a couple times.  GameGolf has one. There are others, I’m sure.  I currently use the watch app for Arccos, because I use that tracking system. Not sure about the “disappeared off the watch” problem.  I don’t recall doing anything special for setup, but whenever I raise my wrist with a round going, it’s got my yardage right there (Arccos and Golfshot for sure, I think it did with GameGolf, don’t remember with 18Birdies). Maybe try (in the Apple Watch app on the iPhone): General > wake screen > wake on wrist raise (and) Return to clock after 1 hour.  I don’t know of a way to improve battery life in the watch, but I usually put my iPhone in low power mode when I play, and that helps prolong the iPhone battery without adversely affecting the golf app function.  But using 21% of battery for a round doesn’t seem excessive (meaning you finished the round with 79% left).
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. adelaidede11
      adelaidede11
      (25 years old)
    2. gregm392
      gregm392
      (29 years old)
    3. mstram
      mstram
      (65 years old)
    4. Skully636
      Skully636
      (37 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...