Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Wine&Poker

Rules Question: Flooded bunker

Note: This thread is 3676 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

11 posts / 2175 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

In the NW, it's not all that uncommon to see standing water in the bunkers for 9 months out of the year. So, the situation is: A tee shot is hit into the back half of sandtrap. The entire back half is flooded. There is no way to drop in the bunker without dropping closer to the hole. Are you forced to play the ball from the water or head back to the tee?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think this would cover it, but not sure??

25-1b/8 Player's Options When Bunker Completely Covered by Casual Water

Q. If a player's ball lies in a bunker completely covered by casual water, what are his options?

A. The player may play the ball as it lies or:

(1) drop the ball in the bunker without penalty at the nearest point, not nearer the hole, where the depth of the casual water is least — Rule 25-1b(ii)(a); or

(2) drop the ball behind the bunker under penalty of one stroke — Rule 25-1b(ii)(b); or

(3) deem the ball unplayable and proceed in accordance with Rule 28.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes...other than dropping where casual water is the least. 9 times out of 10 though, amateurs will be better off taking the drop outside the bunker with the penalty stroke so they can make the basic pitch shot instead of a sand shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, in layman's terms, find a playable part of the bunker or else it's a stroke?

As long as you are no closer to the hole. Sometimes there are no places farther from the hole to drop, in which case you take a 1 stroke penalty and drop behind the bunker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

How come it would'nt be considered casual water where the player can get a free drop?

Because a bunker is a hazard. Or at least that is my guess.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Because a bunker is a hazard. Or at least that is my guess.

Yeah that is the case. It's a hazard. Many people forget that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, they can declare it ground under repair. Otherwise you DO get the maximum relief possible from the casual water, consistent with the (as far as I know absolute) rule that the only way ever to move closer to the hole is via a stroke. Since it might truly be unfair to force you to play from a deep puddle of casual water, they do offer the penalty stroke to get out, essentially treating it like a water hazard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3676 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...