Sign in to follow this  
Newbie Collection Agency

Beginner Question: Righted Handed Clubs for a Left Handed Player?

Note: This thread is 5358 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

5 posts / 12717 viewsLast Reply

I have what is probably a pretty dumb beginner's question:

I'm just getting started with golf. I have zero experience. A have a few friends who are willing to teach me, and they generally have spare clubs. The thing is, their clubs are right handed, and I'm left handed.

Is it possible for a left-handed person to learn to golf right handed? I know it's possible for southpaws to learn to throw & catch a baseball or football right handed, for example.

-joshua

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

Phil Mickelson is a righty that plays golf left-handed. Check to see which eye is dominant - that may have more of an impact on your golf game than which side of the ball you stand on.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I play lefty and have for over 25 years.If you play sports lefty by all means golf is nice from the right side of the ball.Remember Jack Nicklaus told a young Mike Weir to play lefty and look what it got him!!!

I play lefty and have for over 25 years.If you play sports lefty by all means golf is nice from the right side of the ball.Remember Jack Nicklaus told a young Mike Weir to play lefty and look what it got him!!!

That Jack Nicklaus letter to Mike Weir may be one of my favorite golf stories, thanks for reminding me of it Flap.