Sign in to follow this  
PuttPutt

DO I need a Sand Wedge?

Note: This thread is 3355 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

24 posts / 43962 viewsLast Reply

I am a newbie in golf and just bought myself a new set of clubs. The set came with the irons 3-pw. I borrowed my friends set before and I noticed that there was a sand wedge, but my new set did not have it. Is it necessary to have a sand wedge or can another iron replace it?

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

You can use a driver to get out of a bunker but it's a heck of a lot easier with a SW. A SW can be any wedge loft that you feel comfortable. I'd like at a 54* or 56* with a lot of bounce.

Yeah, I'd get a wedge, but it doesn't have to be a sand wedge, like what kfowler said. For instance, I use a 64* wedge instead of a sand wedge.

You should go to your local golf store, test out a few wedges, and see what you're comfortable with.

You play to a 20 and dont know if you need a sw? Seriously?

Could be one of those sickening "naturals". I had a friend in college that started tagging along with us to the golf course, and within a month, he was whipping us like rented mules. He eventually became a PGA teaching professional.

Well actually it kinda depends on what kind of sand is in the bunkers at your course, if it is loose and fluffy .... buy a Sandwedge with about 12* Bounce.

But if it is hard or heavy sand, you don't need a Sandwedge and you can just use the PW or buy yourself a lofted wedge, like a 58* or even 60* which might be a good thought for a newbie starting at hc 19.1 ....... !

I absolutely loved my 56* the moment I bought right up until my new relationship with my Cleveland G15 60* mmmmmmmmmm. Its like my favorite club to use from anywhere under 60yds out.