Jump to content


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • 19.2a/2 – Stroke-and-Distance Relief Is Allowed Only at Spot of the Last Stroke The option to take stroke-and-distance relief for an unplayable ball applies only to where the last stroke was made; a player is not allowed to go back to the spot of any earlier strokes made before that. If the stroke-and-distance relief option or the back-on-the-line option are not favourable, the only option is to take lateral relief multiple times, taking a penalty each time, until the player can get a ball into a playable location.
    • As do I. It looks nice, but they practically put a big X in the middle of every hole in terms of where to play from. Lawsonia Links had options. You could kick the ball off a mound 70 yards away and have it roll towards the green. @DaveP043 did that on 9 and had a tap-in birdie. Our group had a pretty good discussion about the options on 13, where you can try to take on the slope but risk the ball rolling down and facing a blind uphill 100 yard shot, or laying up to 150 and having a perfect view of the green.
    • Please send me one 100' yacht and I will stay vaccinated...
    • I have a rules question that came up during league play on Wednesday. I'm not sure the ruling, and haven't been able to figure it out for sure. We have some differing opinions and so thought I'd post. Player A, a 37 HCP hooks a tee shot left, about 40 feet into tall thick grass. Amazingly, we find his ball, he'd have been better off if it were lost. It's really thick and difficult.  At this point, he could take an unplayable, and go back and hit another shot from the tee, stroke and distance. Or, under a usga model local rule we use could take two penalty strokes and drop it out near or in the fairway. (edit: since the ball is not lost, he can't use the model local rule). But, instead, he takes a few swings at it, whiffing, and then managing to advance it about a foot or two. Eventually, gives up, tosses a club and asks what he can do. Now, it's not a penalty area, so he can't play from where it crossed any boundary, it's just thick grasses. Going back on the line is also not possible because the thick grass extends the entire length of the course. So now that he's taken some swings, what are his options to continue. Stroke and distance no longer apply, at least with respect to going back to the tee box because more strokes have been made at the ball. I see only  1) take a series of unplayables, two club lengths at a time until he is clear of the thick grass. 2) lift the ball using the unplayable rule, place it somewhere playable (but more that two club lengths), and take whatever penalty is due (maybe 2 strokes for playing from the wrong place?). What else?  My groups consensus is that he has no options, and he's gonna be there until dark hacking away at it. (Assume stroke play, because if it were match, he could just concede the hole) 
    • “Being part of the solution didn’t fit my world view, so I decided to be part of the problem” @David in FL ”I sent you two boats and a helicopter”
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CrappyGolfer
      CrappyGolfer
      (68 years old)
    2. Jacob Vance
      Jacob Vance
      (25 years old)
    3. jax731
      jax731
      (54 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...