Jump to content
IGNORED

Sorry ...i didn't see the drop zone...


Note: This thread is 3829 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Had a game with Old Boys last game at Pulai Spring, Johore Bahru......

Player A hit into the pond in a long par 3 180m. The group than proceed forward, Player A didn't see the drop zone and played a extra ball with 1 stroke penalty near the spot the ball went into the pond.

As we reach the green, we discover the drop zone !!

Can A played from the second shots by the pond or must he play from the drop zone !!!!????

We are just playing a social game

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure of the official rule but in a friendly game I'd let Player A rehit with no additional penalty from the drop zone. Pick up the other ball.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think he's asking the opposite? Anyway, since he dropped and hit, that would be the ball he has to finish with, right? Of course, you what you allow in a friendly game depends entirely on how friendly you want to be :P
Link to post
Share on other sites

If the course required you to use the drop zone, then I'd say yes, he should have rehit. Since he'd already played I wouldn't worry about it. Personally I have an issue with a drop zone which takes all or most of the hazard out of play, or allows you to play from closer to the hole than where your ball crossed onto the hazard. The Rules of Golf frown on such things unless there is no other option.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If the local rules require the drop zone then you must follow the rule. If it is optional then if he took a proper drop from the hazard then that ball is in play.
Link to post
Share on other sites

If the course required you to use the drop zone, then I'd say yes, he should have rehit. Since he'd already played I wouldn't worry about it. Personally I have an issue with a drop zone which takes all or most of the hazard out of play, or allows you to play from closer to the hole than where your ball crossed onto the hazard. The Rules of Golf frown on such things unless there is no other option.

Drop zones are there to speed play. Par three's over water on a busy public course are a recipe for slow play and requiring a high handicap to drop at the point the ball crossed the hazard will lead to more lost balls and longer rounds. It's an expedient to speed up play.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Drop zones are there to speed play. Par three's over water on a busy public course are a recipe for slow play and requiring a high handicap to drop at the point the ball crossed the hazard will lead to more lost balls and longer rounds. It's an expedient to speed up play.

It's still contrary to both the rules and the spirit of the game. The point of the rules where you are allowed to drop or place a ball is that you never get closer to the hole by any means except making a stroke. If a course is so worried about pace of play then maybe they shouldn't have designed the hole in such a way that it can't be reasonably played any other way. Poor design or poor management aren't an excuse for sidestepping the rules (in my opinion).

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's still contrary to both the rules and the spirit of the game. The point of the rules where you are allowed to drop or place a ball is that you never get closer to the hole by any means except making a stroke. If a course is so worried about pace of play then maybe they shouldn't have designed the hole in such a way that it can't be reasonably played any other way. Poor design or poor management aren't an excuse for sidestepping the rules (in my opinion).

Sorry, I'll disagree. The 17th at the TPC at Sawgrass comes to mind as a well known par three with a drop zone that's used in one of the top tournaments, at one of the best designed golf courses of all time. BTW, even if a drop zone is available, the option of re-teeing under the same penalty of one stroke is always available.....an option that, if memory serves me, Fred Couples used to make his infamous hole-in-three back in '99 or so.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sorry, I'll disagree. The 17th at the TPC at Sawgrass comes to mind as a well known par three with a drop zone that's used in one of the top tournaments, at one of the best designed golf courses of all time. BTW, even if a drop zone is available, the option of re-teeing under the same penalty of one stroke is always available.....an option that, if memory serves me, Fred Couples used to make his infamous hole-in-three back in '99 or so.

Great example.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I'll disagree. The 17th at the TPC at Sawgrass comes to mind as a well known par three with a drop zone that's used in one of the top tournaments, at one of the best designed golf courses of all time. BTW, even if a drop zone is available,

That is correct. Even if use of that DZ were mandatory players have that option, and only one additional option and that is to play from the DZ. IMO mandatory use of a DZ is contrary to the spirit of Rule 26 but not contrary to the Rules (as that kind of Local Rule is sanctified by the Lords).

This brings us back to the original dilemma. The way I see it the solution depends on the Local Rule (as earlier pointed out by Fourputt). If the use of DZ is voluntary the player proceeded correctly and his dropped ball was the ball in play with one penalty (Rule 26). However, if use of DZ is mandatory, then the player has violated the Local Rule resulting to an additional penalty of 2 strokes due to breach of that particular Local Rule. Furthermore, this may also be a serious breach in which case the player must drop a ball into the DZ and continue from there, playing his 5th shot.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I'll disagree. The 17th at the TPC at Sawgrass comes to mind as a well known par three with a drop zone that's used in one of the top tournaments, at one of the best designed golf courses of all time. BTW, even if a drop zone is available, the option of re-teeing under the same penalty of one stroke is always available.....an option that, if memory serves me, Fred Couples used to make his infamous hole-in-three back in '99 or so.

Look again. The drop zone doesn't get you closer to the hole than where the ball crosses into the hazard. And you still have to hit over the water.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Look again. The drop zone doesn't get you closer to the hole than where the ball crosses into the hazard. And you still have to hit over the water.

Sure it does Fourputt. If you come up short of the island green the point at which it last crossed is still 130 yards or so from the hole, while the drop zone is much closer.

If you fly the green, then no, the DZ is not closer, but if you come up short it's much closer.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Missing the drop zone is punishable by water boarding at my home course. Worse yet, hitting it in the water is good for ten lashings. I usually skip the par three's to be honest with you...
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3829 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Juli,    Our dominant hands perform millions of everyday task for us that are in our subconscious mind. We never give them a thought. However, the golf swing is NOT in our subconscious mind . It is a learned conscious task that is totally foreign and opposite to human genetics. If it was NATURAL NBA and NFL and other great PRO athletes would be leading the PGA tour .    Our shoulders ( upper arms ) are the most flexible joints in our body . This enables our dominant HANDS to bring food to our mouths so we could survive as humans and they will ALWAYS roll over, turn down unless we force them / teach them to perform otherwise . The DS only takes 2/10 seconds . Whatever key you choose to use must be  preprogrammed / prepared before you ever pull the shaft back . The human brain can only sort out and perform ONE ( 1 ) task in that short amount of time . So - what is that one thought to be ? Well - their is a direct connection between the brain and it’s dominant hand . The right in your case . It is responsible for dropping the entire lever system down back around behind our torso and to stay right palm upward during the entire DS . If we don’t we definitely know what is going to happen and you can see it on any range in the world . It is the turning of the torso ( inner circle ) that squares the face, not the hands ! Yes - I know this sounds radical and some will say so , but check out * Cortical Homunculus * and see where I am coming from.  thanks for your reply . Good luck
    • I get where you are going with this.  The only thing I can think of that would really constitute a "Mental Mistake" is there have been times where I'm forced to used a cart and it's cart path only. I assume I have the correct club and then by time I walk across to my ball (Not sure why I never hit it near the cart-path.) I realize I don't have the "right" club. So, 9 times out of 10 I use the club I have rather then hike back for another one.  Sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn't. When it doesn't I always think "Damned, I'm an idiot."  Pretty much the rest of the time my mistakes come from this list. Hit it off the hosel. Hit it off the toe. Hit it off the heel. Hit it off the bottom. Hit it off the top of the club, or roof of the driver. Shanked it. Thinned it. Or some other unexpected weirdo swing fault that happens.  I would bet "mental" mistakes, on average, probably make up about 1 shot a round for me... maybe less. I played yesterday. Shot an 84.... 12 over par. I don't think any of those 12 were due to "mental" mistakes. I would say that all 12 shots came from "didn't hit it good enough" mistakes.
    • Overhand or underhand? I do think the connection most on this site have is we like talking golf. Most want to improve as well, but may not currently have the time available to put in to improve.
    • Distance is great and all that, but you have to keep it playable. If the driver is costing you 4 penalty strokes a round take some lessons... real lessons with it, not some quick fix crap.
    • What I have to do is focus on one shot at a time. Plan the hole from the flag back. That's the plan, but that's based upon hitting a good tee shot. If I don't put the tee shot where I need to, then it's a new hole. The tee shot is behind me. I have a different shot. I may have to hit a banana ball around a tree which I'll try if I'm hitting the ball well. If I'm not hitting the ball so well, I'll punch out. Best to let the game come to you to avoid putting up big numbers. This year will be interesting. I've dropped my LW, gone with a OL 56 wedge and added a 7W.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 14ledo81
      14ledo81
      (40 years old)
    2. AussieDan
      AussieDan
      (35 years old)
    3. boggssharp
      boggssharp
      (67 years old)
    4. davisrod29
      davisrod29
      (33 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...