Jump to content
IGNORED

Yet another crazy rule violation!!!


Note: This thread is 3864 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Should have been DQ as he did not even know how many times he did it. You can't estimate a penalty.

When I first read the article I was thinking the same thing. How can u say if I had to guess it would be 13 times.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Should have been DQ as he did not even know how many times he did it. You can't estimate a penalty.

I'm pretty certain that, in the absence of information to the contrary, the golfer's word is taken in a situation like this. Without evidence that his score should have been higher than the one he signed for, there is no rule I know of that would DQ him. The only one I can even think of would be Equity, but I don't see any way that it's inequitable to ask him how many times and then trust him to be honest. There are plenty of cases where a golfer's word is taken when assessing penalties or scoring the game.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Why can't these guys seem to just read the #%$& rule sheets? Their living consists of hitting a little ball around the course. The swing may be tough to master, but the concept of playing the game isn't that hard. The rules aren't hard to learn. And every tournament they give them this little sheet with the local rules. How hard can it be to read it? It isn't like they have to study for an astrophysics test before the game. Frankly, I have zero sympathy for these players that earn such a fabulous living and yet fumble the trivial little things.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds like an unfortunate mistake, but a fair ruling.

What I find interesting is that PGA players can move their ball a club length from where it originally lied. Personally, I think only moving it a scorecard length is more true to the spirit of golf. That said, I can understand why a scorecard length might be too short. I don't like to see honest golfer's penalized for honest mistakes.
Link to post
Share on other sites

My thoughts are read the local rules before you tee off. Saves you a lot of grief later. I would seem if that you golf for a living that would be ingrained in your preparation routine.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Why can't these guys seem to just read the #%$& rule sheets? Their living consists of hitting a little ball around the course. The swing may be tough to master, but the concept of playing the game isn't that hard. The rules aren't hard to learn. And every tournament they give them this little sheet with the local rules. How hard can it be to read it? It isn't like they have to study for an astrophysics test before the game. Frankly, I have zero sympathy for these players that earn such a fabulous living and yet fumble the trivial little things.

I agree. I have no sympathy for these pros who do not bother to read the local rules for every tournament. Talk about lazy asses. They are too used to comfy lifestyle with all that money so they can't be bothered reading a simple rules sheet. Christ!!! F@#$ing idiots!

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You'd think a guy who lived for 14 years in Japan would know an Asian/Euro Tour rule.

Anyone know why the rule isn't lift, clean, and place as close to the spot where you found it? In tournaments we've played the one club length rule and guys take advantage of it, getting out of a dead patch or flattening out their stance.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

at least he's not whining about it. he fessed up to his mistake and took the blame for it, which is all anyone can ask, once the deed has been done. his lone (i think) quote in the article: "i'm an idiot." i guarantee he won't make the same mistake again.
Link to post
Share on other sites

If a pro can make such mistake....i can't imagine myself in such situation.....guess the club will DQ me and throw me out of the clubhouse !!!
Link to post
Share on other sites

You'd think a guy who lived for 14 years in Japan would know an Asian/Euro Tour rule.

just guessing, but perhaps because the clean and place is because of the lie the ball is in?

Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree. I have no sympathy for these pros who do not bother to read the local rules for every tournament. Talk about lazy asses. They are too used to comfy lifestyle with all that money so they can't be bothered reading a simple rules sheet. Christ!!! F@#$ing idiots!

oHHHH, so you know that Ryuji is lazy and a idiot??? I swear, we on this board are the most judgemental people. I will clue you in, Mr. Imada is a tireless worker and far from an idiot. We should be applauding these guys for taking their lumps like a man, instead of like the rolemodels of the other major sports.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3864 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...