Jump to content
IGNORED

Poulter Dropped His Ball on His Marker - Share Odd Infractions of the Rules of Golf


Note: This thread is 3890 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Felt sorry for him....from now on, i will throw all my coin or magnetic markers and use only plastic pin on type.....

I don't feel that sorry for him (not for the penalty atleast). I feel a bit sorry for Karlsson that it looks in the media like Poulter gave the victory away. When in fact Karlsson won that hole by two and the penalty didn't change the outcome. Karlsson was one of the best players in the world 2008 (also won the "order of merit" as europes best player that year). After that, he lost all 2009 season to an eye injury and has been sick for almost the whole 2010 becuse of glandular fever. That´s bad luck! Will be interesting to see what he can do in 2011 if he gets to stay healthy.

I don't see why the ruling should or could be changed either. The pin is the ball. Had he accidentally moved his ball instead, no one would have objected.
Link to post
Share on other sites

No. You are allowed to place clubs you have brought with you in the hazard as long as nothing is done to test the surface. Note the part of the exceptions to Rule 13-4 which I highlighted in bold type.

You learn something everyday with this game. Thanks!

Poulter wasn't in a hazard. The ball was sitting up on a wood chip, so the commentator was saying he shoudln't ground the club or it will cause the wood chip (and hense the ball) to move.

Like I said, it was early and I should have been asleep. All it would have taken is for me to set the dvr up downstairs while heading off to bed. It would have been good tv watching in the afternoon.

I can't say I'm a Poulter fan but did feel bad for the guy. I'm sure it will be on his list of "things not to do" while out making a living.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I got disqualified once for signing a incorrect scorecard. My opponent who was keeping my score had the worse handwritting in the world. I signed the card for a total score 75 which was the correct score. The committee of the tournament questioned my score for the 18th hole, which was a 5. They said that it looked like a 3. I explained the scorekeepers writing was terrible.The said the other holes that he wrote down were readable and it looked like a 3 not a 5. I told them if it was a 3 it would have been a eagle and my final score would have been 73 not 75.
After argueing for 5 minutes I lost. I have never played in another tournament sponsored by these folks since.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I got disqualified once for signing a incorrect scorecard. My opponent who was keeping my score had the worse handwritting in the world. I signed the card for a total score 75 which was the correct score. The committee of the tournament questioned my score for the 18th hole, which was a 5. They said that it looked like a 3. I explained the scorekeepers writing was terrible.The said the other holes that he wrote down were readable and it looked like a 3 not a 5. I told them if it was a 3 it would have been a eagle and my final score would have been 73 not 75.

Now that sucks. What a bunch of turkeys.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Now that sucks. What a bunch of turkeys.

While true, I'm surprised you didn't point out to pingman that you can write a score of 18 or 999 for the "total" and it's irrelevant. The committee doesn't care about that score and the competitors are responsible only for 18 scores for each of the holes. There's no need to add it up.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I laughed last night because the golf channel said Lee Westwood tweeted "I bet it was one of Poulter's diamond crusted pink ball markers" lol. Lee and Rory made light of an unfortunate situation. Sucks, but its the rules.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

While true, I'm surprised you didn't point out to pingman that you can write a score of 18 or 999 for the "total" and it's irrelevant. The committee doesn't care about that score and the competitors are responsible only for 18 scores for each of the holes. There's no need to add it up.

Didn't think about that part of the rule, just wondered how many others have been victimized by bad handwiting over the years. It's surprising to me how many players don't realize that they are only responsible for the hole by hole score, not for the addition. After a tournament round, I carefully check and verify the score on every hole before I sign my card.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yep, here's the rule: 6.6.d - Scoring in Stroke Play - Wrong Score for Hole: "The competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands." So pingman, you got hosed in that respect as well.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, here's the rule: 6.6.d - Scoring in Stroke Play - Wrong Score for Hole: "The competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands." So pingman, you got hosed in that respect as well.

Well, the committee's claim is that he signed for a 3, when in fact he had a 5. His claim is he signed for a 5, which matches his true score. So, if you accept the committee's claim, they made the right call (DQ for lower score).

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Well, the committee's claim is that he signed for a 3, when in fact he had a 5. His claim is he signed for a 5, which matches his true score. So, if you accept the committee's claim, they made the right call (DQ for lower score).

Thats not it...I signed for a 5 which is what I had. As Iacas pointed out earlier you are responsible for your hole by hole score which I allready knew. This wasn't my first tournament. The problem was that the number that my opponent wrote down on the 18th hole was interpreted by the committee to be a 3 not a 5. My argument was that if it was a 3 my total score would have been 2 strokes lower than what was written. I told them that I thought my opponent had wrote a 5 down and that is what I stood by. I was only using the total score as a point of reference. Unfortuatley, my opponent didn't play that well and said he had someplace to go and he split as soon as the round was over so I didn't have him there to verify what he had written down.

What it came down to was that this was a local public tournament and my 75 put my in first place iin the A division. The tournament had a few local boys from that course in the tournament and they didn't play as well. The committee needed to look out for there own... No problem. This happened about 7 years ago and I have never played in any of there events since. I don't plan on giving them any more of my hard earned cash.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3890 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • @alexschoI would suggest a UW to fill the gap between the PW and SW. If you're a high handicap, I'm not sure you need a 58 degree wedge.  Your priority on short game shots isn't "get it close" (but that's great if you can), but rather "get the ball on the green;  within spots on the green, priority is to spots close to the hole."  But I wouldn't just now use a club that many high handicappers usage tends to risk leaving themselves with yet another short game shot.
    • Good luck.  Make sure you know the rules, of course;  people can and do get casual with the rules during non-tournament play.  Make sure you know what local rules are in effect, too;  you don't want to Jerry Rice yourself out of a tournament if, for example, laser range finders aren't allowed but you use one. 
    • 87 today at my home course.  Hit 4 GIR:  holes 1, 17, and 18, but only one in between (#8, a 4-wood into the wind to about 15', had a tap-in par on that one).
    • Day 151.  Tournament at my home course today.  I shot an 87 with 4 GIR and 7 near-GIR.  Now that I write that out, I feel my long game was better than that stat line today, but I guess not.  I did some full swing practice before the round, outdoors at the range, checking my backswing length as per my past month or so of work.
    • Secured a par at my home course's hole #17 today.  I am not happy with how long it took me to get better than bogey on it.  I hit a poor tee shot, a good recovery punch shot, then a sweeping hook 6-iron to the green.  I correctly read that the lie and setup would hook, aimed well left of the green, and swung.  Big hook, ended on the left side of the green, 15' from the pin, and I darn near made the birdie putt too. Speaking of which, I gave a par at #s 7 and 9 a good run today too.  Still no birdies at my home course this year! 😞 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. chriswuk
      chriswuk
      (30 years old)
    2. Gero
      Gero
      (78 years old)
    3. nettscore
      nettscore
      (50 years old)
    4. RandMart3
      RandMart3
      (69 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...