Jump to content
IGNORED

Padraig Harrington disqualified in Abu Dhabi


Note: This thread is 3797 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It's customary for golfers to be taken at their word in certain circumstances. One example off the top of my head is an LPGA event a couple years ago where a player's ball went into a hazard and there

The facts of the matter remain: Padraig knew his ball had "moved" in some way, whether it oscillated or not, and he could have availed himself of a Rules Official and not only avoided the DQ,

again feeling very confident that this TV police thing is bullshit...3 dimples and moved back on about 1.5 dimples...with the help of slow mo and instant replay. awesome, i can just see these geeks sitting in front of the replay with a scale model to confirm the movement of approx. 3/16th of an inch.

STUPID

hire an official aready and tell TV viewers to have another drink and enjoy the show.

Link to post
Share on other sites

It certainly seems Draconian to disqualify a golfer for an unintentional mistake of such small proportion.  But what is the alternative?  Officials can’t read a mind about intentions. How much authority should officials have in determining when a violation should be ignored and when it shouldn't?  Should the rules allow a golfer to reposition the ball without penalty if only a small distance and unintentional and have officials make this decision like in other sports (just a matter of degree)?  I guess, while imperfect, it is better for the game if the rules are strictly enforced and there isn't any "judgement" calls.  I hate to say that as Padraig is one of my favorite pro golfers.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I think disqualification is a bit harsh.  I'm not a fan of viewers sitting at home calling in infractions but if they are going to allow it, which they do, then I think they should cap the punishment to strokes removed.  If this same thing happened again to someone else on the last day and the tourney ended before the call-in infraction was confirmed, then that player would not have been penalized.  That wouldn't be too fair to Padraig.

Cap the call-in penalties to strokes removed only and add a 1 day "cool down" for any call-ins that come in on the last day.  That's my vote!

Link to post
Share on other sites

HAHA - if there was a high definition closeup of every player's ball during marking/replacing, and at address for every shot, there'd probably be DQ's all over the place.

Never ground your club and always treat marking your ball as if you're disarming a warhead - clumsy oafs!!

Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by sean_miller

HAHA - if there was a high definition closeup of every player's ball during marking/replacing, and at address for every shot, there'd probably be DQ's all over the place.

Never ground your club and always treat marking your ball as if you're disarming a warhead - clumsy oafs!!


LOL...I think this whole thing is getting ridiculous...unfortunately this is starting to look like it's going to be the story of the 2011 season, which would be absolutely embarrassing.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by jakatan

Why is golf the only sport that seems to get this instant replay stuff wrong?



Comparing golf to other sports which may or may not get "the instant replay stuff" right is pointless. They don't have the proper coverage of all the action to do what sports like football and hockey do. Even in those sports, it's only a few calls that are reviewable, and only in certain circumstances. Also, after the next play, no challenges! The only things that change after the fact are stats, like players awarded with goals telling officials they didn't actually touch the puck. Doesn't affect the score, but could affect the player's income if they fall one goal short of a milestone included in their performance contract. A better comparison for golf would be horse racing or the Olympics, where a winner isn't announced until a review of the event has taken place. Even months later a medal can be stripped from an Olympic champion and the first horse crossing the finish line isn't always the one photographed in the winners circle.

Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by jakatan

Why is golf the only sport that seems to get this instant replay stuff wrong?



It doesn't really... baseball does but we don't need to get into that here.  The bottom line is that it was a breech of the rules, what his intent was simply doesn't matter.  Even though it is such a tiny break, the official had no choice but to look at it once it was brought to his attention and did the only thing he could do and DQ Paddy.

Don't get me wrong... I definitely feel for the guy and it sucks to be DQ'd over something so small but that's how it is.  Thumbs up to Paddy too on how he handled the situation... like he said if it wasn't him it'd be pretty clear to him too.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I know the rules and honesty are very important in golf, but this is going way too far.  Once the card is signed i dont think a penalty should be able to be imposed on that round...if the other players sign the card, then why not keep it at that?  Its getting dumb.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What would annoy me about this is not the fact Harry was DQ because after seeing the footage it's obvious the ball moved and the rules of golf being as they are he can't have any complaints,but what would annoy me is the little prick that rang up and notified people of it,has that cnut nothing better to be doing with his time?
I can see the bollix now as smug as fuck boasting to all his mates how he got one of the worlds top golfers disqualified,people like this are sad fucks IMHO.

p.s sorry about my foul language I'm just annoyed about this

Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by PaddyHarrington

What would annoy me about this is not the fact Harry was DQ because after seeing the footage it's obvious the ball moved and the rules of golf being as they are he can't have any complaints,but what would annoy me is the little prick that rang up and notified people of it,has that cnut nothing better to be doing with his time?

I can see the bollix now as smug as fuck boasting to all his mates how he got one of the worlds top golfers disqualified,people like this are sad fucks IMHO.

p.s sorry about my foul language I'm just annoyed about this


Seriously, tell us how you really feel.

Link to post
Share on other sites



Cap the call-in penalties to strokes removed only and add a 1 day "cool down" for any call-ins that come in on the last day.  That's my vote!



so now we should wait a day to decide the winner?? Talk about a dramatic finish! I'll just stop watching at that point. The tours need to stop answering their phones. Every time some jackhole calls in, it turns things into a circus.





Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by walk18

The tours need to stop answering their phones. Every time some jackhole calls in, it turns things into a circus.


Except this jackhole emailed it in, sorry.

But seriously, if the infraction requires super slo-mo to accurately discern, it is too minor to legitimately penalize. I wonder how many other times in golf's glorious history someone's ball has inadvertently moved a dimple or so during replacement? Personally, I vote that we go back and forensically analyze any available film of Johnny Miller at Oakmont in 1973.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades


Originally Posted by walk18

so now we should wait a day to decide the winner?? Talk about a dramatic finish! I'll just stop watching at that point. The tours need to stop answering their phones. Every time some jackhole calls in, it turns things into a circus.

Ha ha, no, I didn't mean it like that... just an extra day for the officials to deal with the jackholes and keep this call-in circus fair to everyone.

Kelly Tilghman tweeted today and asked, "what if there was a viewer hotline for this that cost $9.95/minute...?  Would there be less call ins?"  I thought that was an interesting comment...

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3797 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Sandbox in the mornings might end up being a good thing. I’ve read some comments from people on the internet that say it’s a good way to warm up and get a feel for the conditions before you play.
    • I can't thank you guys enough, this looks great!  (I hope this is the proper use of the multiple dancing  banana)
    • Hands aren't tiny, but with wrist line to middle finger tip being just under 7.5 inches and my middle finger coming in at 3 inches long, my hand is mostly palm. I've tried to replicate things like this but I just can't keep my fingers consistently wrapped around the grip, especially the pinky and especially when trying to have the fingers perpendicular to the grip along the 'palmar digital crease' as written in that thread. That's with a standard grip with no extra wraps. I feel like the grip moves in my hand and I tend to get weird skinny callouses on the blue lines here. This may be more that my hand doesn't like cord, but still. If you numbered the segments 1 to 3 with 1 being by the finger tip, I feel like my hand is more comfortable when the grip is aligned diagonally in lead hand, resting on the pinky on segment 3 (slash the crease below) and resting on the index on segment 2 (slash the crease below). I also know that just because it's comfortable doesn't mean it's functionally right. When I do manage to execute a full swing without feeling the club moving in my hand it obviously feels insanely crisp and solid in comparison to other swings when it moves. I just bought a full set of Undersize Tour Wrap Microsuede to test out a handful on clubs, before I regrip all 13, but I figured I'd run these thoughts past TST. I'm going to try to share a video taking my grip later today or tomorrow morning.
    • I think it was one part particular camera or shot. It was some vista canyon-y view. 
    • Up to you. I’m charge less but they might give you a small credit.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dan42nepa
      Dan42nepa
      (65 years old)
    2. James Dalton
      James Dalton
      (80 years old)
    3. JMHARDING
      JMHARDING
      (31 years old)
    4. mwh1023
      mwh1023
      (54 years old)
    5. Skeesh
      Skeesh
      (49 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...