Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
newtogolf

Adjustable Woods and Rules of Golf

Note: This thread is 3113 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

4 posts / 1187 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Friend was telling me he was playing a round with another mutual friend and two strangers.  My friend was slicing the ball a bit with his driver but hitting his other clubs okay.  Rather than mess with his swing he took out his Titleist wrench and adjusted the driver from neutral to draw.  After he hit his next drive (straight btw) one of the guys told our other friend to make sure he takes a penalty since he adjusted the driver mid-round and hit with it.   Was wondering if and what the penalty is for that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

Quote:
4-2. Playing Characteristics Changed and Foreign Material
a. Playing Characteristics Changed

During a stipulated round , the playing characteristics of a club must not be purposely changed by adjustment or by any other means.

Penalty is two strokes per hole affected, max penalty four strokes, for stroke play if you do not make a stroke.  You must also immediately declare the club out of play for the rest of the round or you are DQ.  If you make a stroke with the adjusted club, you are DQ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by newtogolf

Friend was telling me he was playing a round with another mutual friend and two strangers.  My friend was slicing the ball a bit with his driver but hitting his other clubs okay.  Rather than mess with his swing he took out his Titleist wrench and adjusted the driver from neutral to draw.  After he hit his next drive (straight btw) one of the guys told our other friend to make sure he takes a penalty since he adjusted the driver mid-round and hit with it.   Was wondering if and what the penalty is for that.



If you guys had any wagers on then he lost any bets he was involved with.  Since his penalty was disqualification for any tournament play, in a casual round you have to decide what seems fair to your group.  What he did is considered a major no-no under the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks guys, I wasn't there.  My friend with the Titleist was playing with a mutual friend and the marhsall paired them up with another two-some who obviously knew the rules better than my friends.  My friend scoffed at the "supposed" rule til I told him what you both responded with.  Now he's sulking since the reason he bought the Titleist driver was it's adjustability.  Told him he can adjust it, just not once he starts the round, he'll get over it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3113 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...