IGNORED

I can't hit down on the ball. Help me.

Note: This thread is 4681 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I just started playing golf and joined my company's golf league.   I'm a classic scooper or sweeper of the ball.  I actually can hit the ball pretty good this way most of the time if it's in a good lie, or off the tee.   But as I played with other advanced golfers I noticed I hit the ball with a very high trajectory (even with long irons) and never took a divot.   If i took a divot, it was a fat shot indeed.

So, I started researching on what I was doing wrong, and I came to the conclusion that i'm not "hitting down on the ball".  I've seen many vids on youtube trying to address this problem.

Are there any recovering scoopers out there? Or other  golfers that actually were able to fix this problem.   I really feel this is the biggest part of my game that is holding me back.  Thanks.

Originally Posted by rygamer

I just started playing golf and joined my company's golf league.   I'm a classic scooper or sweeper of the ball.  I actually can hit the ball pretty good this way most of the time if it's in a good lie, or off the tee.   But as I played with other advanced golfers I noticed I hit the ball with a very high trajectory (even with long irons) and never took a divot.   If i took a divot, it was a fat shot indeed.

So, I started researching on what I was doing wrong, and I came to the conclusion that i'm not "hitting down on the ball".  I've seen many vids on youtube trying to address this problem.

Are there any recovering scoopers out there? Or other  golfers that actually were able to fix this problem.   I really feel this is the biggest part of my game that is holding me back.  Thanks.