IGNORED

Been stuck with a 5 handicap too long, please help

irishlad88
Note:Β This thread is 2863 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

Hi I'm new to this forum my name is Barry from Ireland. I'm 22 but I've been playing off a 5 handicap since I was 17 years old and have not moved on to the next level. I took a hiatus from the game for 3 years and have started playing a lot since April and am pleased with my quick progress. However I can never seem to get to 4 it always seems to be out of reach. Any help would be appreciated. I am straight off the tee, 270 yards average, my ball striking is as good as a 5 handicap should be and I have a good putting stroke. I just need advice on how I can lower my handicap because 5 years ago I could not see myself being off the same handicap and it's frustrating. Thank You.

A lot of players would love to have your problem. Do you keep stats when you play? I've recently broken through a barrier similar to yours, and I'd say that my stats really helped to reveal what I needed to work on. Find your weaknesses and work hard to get rid of 'em.

Titleist 910D2 8.5Β° Diamana 'ahina 80 S
Titleist 909F3 3W 13Β° Diamana D83 S, Titleist 910f 5W 19Β° Fubuki Ax 80X
Taylormade RAC MB TP 3-PW Irons DG S300, Callaway Jaws 54Β° and 60Β°
Titleist Futura putter, Taylormade TP5 balls

I'd make sure you are keeping stats, and concentrate 70-80% of your practice time to short game. Β The ability (or inability) to get up and down is where my strokes seem to be determined.

• Upvote 1

In the Bag: TaylorMadeΒ R11 TPΒ - TaylorMade R7 TP TS - Cleveland Halo - TM TP 2009 3-PW - VokeyΒ SM 52Β -Β Vokey SM 60Β - Rife Barbados CS - ProV1xΒ 

On the Computer: Β Analyzr ProΒ 
Β