IGNORED

Choosing a putter. Beginner question.

Note: This thread is 3579 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a relative beginner. I have been using an un-named club putter for practice over the past few weeks and I am now looking to get my own.

I have done the usual thing and gone to a couple of superstores to try a variety of putters on their little indoor greens. I don't really know the terminology but the putters that feel most comfortable to me have heads that look like the Ping Anser model and I seem to prefer clubs with a heavier head. The one I seem more drawn towards is an inexpensive Cleveland model with the brass head.

When I was starting my search, they had used Cameron sitting out there. I believe it was the Newport model  At the time I did not know anything about the brand but as I have tried more putters I have realized that it was the most "natural" or confident feeling of all the ones I have found since. I realize that Cameron is perhaps a "boutique" company so they are expensive. The used Cameron I tried is long gone. But is there anything I should be looking at that might give me a similar feel at a lower price point or should I just look into used Camerons and get it over with?

Thanks so much.

Putting is as subjective as buying a toothbrush...the only rule is how comfortable you feel at address...as confidence is 99% of putting...be sure to try different length putters in order to keep your stroke smooth...for example I am short (5 foot 7 inches ) so I actually have had my traditional putters at standard 33 inches and even cut some to 32 inches....its all about feel...

you might also want to try some of the new belly putters that are so popular right now as well as they serve to stabilize your stroke...