IGNORED

What kind of golfer are you?

k-troop
Note: This thread is 4521 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm new here, but from the looks of things we have weekend hackers, good amateurs, golf-industry folks, aspiring tour pros, and teachers on this forum.  Take a few minutes and tell us what kind of golfer you are.

I started playing golf with my dad when I was 11.  Started beating him when I was 12.  Became obsessed with the game when I was 13 or 14.

Played in highschool.  We had a decent team that competed at region and state level every year.  I was always a solid #2 or #3 on the team.  Was on a college golf team for 3 semesters, but I was never really good enough to play with those guys.  I hated the experience of failing miserably every day at a game that I had been obsessed with for most of my life, so I quit at 20 and didn't touch a club for 3 years.  My first round back--true story--was with my dad at Cedar Creek in San Antonio, and I shot 74.  Why the heck had I stayed away so long???

Now, at 36, I'm obsessed with golf.  My best buddies are all golfers.  We take trips together to Cabo and for watch-and-play weekends at major championships.  I spent a year in post-grad from 2009-2010 and I played 120 rounds that year.  Since I got married (2 years ago) and had a baby (8 months ago) I can only play about once a weekend, and it kills me.

I think about golf most of the week, and replay shots and holes--good and bad--for days after.  If I shoot a good score, I'm immediately text my buds and tell them all about it.  I've told five-minute stories about a single golf shot.  My buddies rip me about it but I just don't care--none of those dudes can beat me anyway.

Kevin

Titleist 910 D3 9.5* with ahina 72 X flex
Titleist 910F 13.5* with ahina 72 X flex
Adams Idea A12 Pro hybrid 18*; 23* with RIP S flex