IGNORED

Do I need X-flex

Note:Β This thread is 4463 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

Well I'm debating right now on whether or not I need x-flex. I've been working in a pro shop for about 5 months now so I've learned a pretty good share about fitting people in that time. The thing is most people I fit are people with more average swing speeds (not to say that mines blazing fast but I do believe it's above average.) so I never really know where the line is with faster swing speeds. I don't know exactly what my speed it but I know that I can get up to 160 ish ball speed which I would think would put me around 106-109ish in swing speed? I do struggle with control a little bit as sometimes the ball does leak left on me. (I'm a lefty) I'm going to be getting a new driver and 3 wood here soon so I'm wondering if I should up the stiffness.

It really depends on the shaft itself, and on your swing. I'd say that, unless you have an aggressive swing tempo, don't expect an X flex to work best for you. You're borderline, so it can't hurt to try it out, but don't invest big money into a shaft unless you can try it out.

If you want more control, consider a stiff flex with a low torque rating, or a heavier one. Certain models, especially low launch and low spin models, play a bit stiffer.

Also, different brands have different definitions of flexes. Aldila, for example, recommends 110+mph for an x flex, while some brands will recommend as little as 100. Plenty of players with 120mph SS play an untipped X flex, so it is built to handle quite a lot of force in many cases.

In My Bag:

Adams Super LS 9.5˚ driver, Aldila Phenom NL 65TX
Adams Super LS 15˚ fairway, Kusala black 72x
Adams Super LS 18˚ fairway, Aldila Rip'd NV 75TX
Adams Idea pro VST hybrid, 21˚, RIP Alpha 105x
Adams DHY 24˚, RIP Alpha 89x