Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
BuckeyeNut

How many of you have broken a golf ball?

Note: This thread is 2778 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

29 posts / 15853 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Yes....LOL....I've shattered more than a few golf balls in the cold over the years.  Some breakages were very entertaining.....I've seen them split in two with halves slicing left and right in opposite directions. I've knocked the cover clean off with the core remaining intact and flying 100yds or less without the cover....

I've also just cracked them.

I should also add....Yes....I do play any crap "found ball" in the winter..(as you can tell by the pic)

IMG_0107.jpg

Most recently (last weekend)... this crap "found ball" broke..........LOL  I've shattered many golf balls in the winter.......they definitely get brittle in the cold!

What about you?  Have you ever played in the cold and shattered golf balls?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I usually don't play when it's very cold out so I've never had the issue...

...well now that I think of it...I've cracked a few...with a lawnmower.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Back in the ancient past - like around 1970 - this was fairly common if you played one-piece balls. (Can't remember what companies made them). These balls were would get v-shape cracks or split in two in just about any weather.

They were popular among less monied golfers, because you could trade a new Titleist for two of these. With a crisp iron shot, you could get the one-pieceto stop after one or two hops.

In the summer they really ran, but sometimes would crack from repeatedly bouncing off of bone-dry public course fairways. They were fairly durable - resisting cuts - until they broke.

Rule for break-up: You played your next shot from where the largest piece of the ball landed. No penalty, but the stroke that broke the ball counted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by WUTiger

Rule for break-up: You played your next shot from where the largest piece of the ball landed. No penalty, but the stroke that broke the ball counted.



That seems fair. Anyone know what the ruling would be under the Rules of Golf? I realise no one on tour is playing a one piece ball but surely the occasional (lookin' at you Bubba!) ball gets broken? Would it just fall under the same umbrella as replacing a scuffed/damaged ball? ball?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Ive broken a few during winter driving range sessions but the only time Ive cut the cover like that was where I skulled the ball with my 60 degree wedge.  It doesnt take much to cut today's soft-covered tour balls though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by WUTiger

Back in the ancient past - like around 1970 - this was fairly common



LOL...I'm not talking about cutting a smile into a ball like in the old days!

I'm talking about taking a ROCK HARD modern ball.....and breaking it.    Anyway.....just saying:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by TitleistWI

Ive broken a few during winter driving range sessions but the only time Ive cut the cover like that was where I skulled the ball with my 60 degree wedge.  It doesnt take much to cut today's soft-covered tour balls though.



I remember the old days cutting a smile in a balata cover with a bladed shot.......those days are long gone.  I guess I'm talking about cracking a hard nut....not by blading.........just breaking it with a solid shot.  LOL

I've blown them up many different unique ways......

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

LOL...I'm not talking about cutting a smile into a ball like in the old days!

I'm talking about taking a ROCK HARD modern ball.....and breaking it.    Anyway.....just saying:)

My remarks talked about breaking 1970-era one piece golf balls, which were also fairly hard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

c'mon...........really?

LOL

Please don't equate a bladed sliced smile into a '70s ball..............with breaking a modern day ball with a solid shot..  LOL.................you have seen the pic....you know better.  Sheesh........I'm not talking about blading 40yr old ball and cutting the cover....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've broken more than I can count but, it's always been on the simulators where you hit the same ball over and over.  When it breaks too it's like hitting a marshmallow except the ball goes no where.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Does cutting a golf ball in half with a jigsaw count?

But besides that, very often on the driving range I get a couple of cracked golf balls every now and then.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've cracked quite a few, never in winter though.  Most are when I began and played the more brittle distance balls.  However, I've cracked 3 tp blacks, a tour i I found, as well as 1 pro V.  I think part of the problem is that I don't know when to retire a ball.  I'll play it until it gets lost or if it's unlikely, to fly true, like a gouge or a crack.  The small cracks sometimes go unnoticed, and I've played with those balls and couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong.  The ball will take off fine, but then go quite a bit shorter, and spin a direction you didn't want.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have cracked the occasional random ball I pick up, but don't think I've ever played a new, quality ball until it cracked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Had this happen with two balls this past weekend....never before. Temp in the mid 50s here in FL last weekend. Found the below re the ruling:

http://www.usga.org/ChampEventRulesCorner.aspx?id=21474841370&blogid;=2147484179

If a ball breaks into pieces as the result of a stroke, the stroke is cancelled and the player would play a ball to the spot from which the stroke was made.

Written by John Van der Borght, manager of Rules Communications for the USGA.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Found a used PRO V1 in my last round (2nd hole) didn't look bad at all so I played it. Cover flew off on 4th hole. I thought I shanked it but it was the cover lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I noticed cracks in them several times at some point in my round. A few times I'm pretty sure it was cracked for a few shots before I noticed it and just thought the poor shots were my fault.

One time on a tee shot the ball broke into at least two pieces and I watched the biggest piece as it sliced off into the woods.

I knew there used to be a rule that said you played your next shot from where the biggest piece came to rest and since the biggest piece was not findable I took a penalty stroke and teed up again.

According to DynoMite's comment that rule may no longer be relevant and I could have teed up again without penalty???

I guess it cost me a stroke not knowing the current rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I broke a ball once by blading an iron.

Other than that, every ball i drive gets smashed into at least 3 pieces...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 2778 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • I'm the Competitions Secretary at our club. We told the members that in competitions that require a scorecard they won't get cards prepared by the committee, nor should they prepare their own, instead the card they prep is for the player they are marking. At the end of the round they check the scores with their player, then input the score online on their behalf, then keep the card on the player's behalf - just in case we (the committee) need to see an photo of that card - so that no cards are swapped. All pretty simple, right? And yet, at our tee closure competitions, I still see members swapping cards at the end. I've even had a couple walk up to hand their card (or card) to me to input the scores for them, like we used to pre-Covid. I just don't get it!
    • Well you just get everywhere, dontcha!   By the way, I joined before you, so... Welcome to TST, BK!
    • Gotcha.  I made 8 days in a row walking in Scotland a couple years ago, including a couple of 36 hole days, I'm sure I'll be good for this one.  I did see that SV has trolleys available, I'll end up using one of those.
    • It probably would for those of us playing 4-5 days, but I want to make sure any of the guys doing 3 days of golf get a chance to play both SV courses, in the even of some bad weather one of the first couple days.  So it is probably best to go 3 days in a row at SV.
    • Today was an interesting day - shot my lowest front nine ever at 41!  3 pars, 4 bogies, 1 double and 1 birdie.  Drives were consistently in the fairsways, putts were falling, irons were going true. The back nine was blissful as I finished there with a 50.  The gears slipped a little as I began to fat so some fairways and chunk the irons.  Still to leave there with a 91 for the day, I felt really good.  My son was right there with me at 96.  Today was interesting in that I began to see the potential of really good scores on the horizon.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...