Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
rustywedge

Gamesmanship / etiquette

Note: This thread is 2770 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

27 posts / 2689 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts



Originally Posted by Rulesman

Golf originated as match play. Stroke play is a recent aberration which is why the rules have become more complicated.



Yeah ... bring back the stymie!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!



Originally Posted by Yukari

Easy solution.  Stop playing with him altogether.

And if he asks to join your group just say sorry...we already have a threesome.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:
He will also strategically stand with his shadow across my line

I did  this once by accident and I felt like a idiot when I realized (I was looking elsewere), now I make sure I know were my stupid shadow is!

He sounds like a high intensity guy, cant be that fun to golf with. Try getting a 4some going and do a 2man scramble with him on your team and see if he does it to them. One of them will not be so kind.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by rustyredcab

That is a very charitable way to look at it -- and may be correct. In tennis, you can get into the other guy's head with a "nice serve" or some other comment. I used to say, "Thank you." when someone double faulted. Man did that drive them crazy. In football, it is not holding unless you get caught. Golf is different and perhaps, as his good friend, you should help him to understand that manners matter. You might be doing him a great favor. Imagine if he played business golf and pulled that bull. I took up golf for real in my 20's and mostly played for business at first. All that mattered was manners and being enjoyable to be around. I'm competitive as most anyone you'll meet. But that means I want to make my putt not distract you so you miss yours.

That scene in Caddie Shack where the guys yell, "Miss it!" is a joke -- not a Golf Channel lesson on how to win.


Actually that kind of behavior is just as frowned upon in tennis as it is in golf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He has no business on the course with his attitude.  I'm competitive too, and if I win, great, but if I get outplayed and lose so be it. I don't like to lose, and I never have, at anything, but if it happens I congratulate my playing partner and move on.  Tell your friend to grow up- golf is supposed to be a gentleman's game.  Lay down the law to him and drop him as a playing partner if he doesn't shape up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow.  I wouldn't put up with that at all.

If it's about competitiveness, easy.  It's a breach of the rules to purposefully distract your opponent in match play (I can't remember the rule number, maybe a rules guru can comment?).  In match play the penalty is loss of hole for the distractor.  Next round you play, every time he does it just pick up your ball and mark the hole as won by you.  When he loses 10&8 a few times in a row he'll get the message.

Of course, that's only if it's worth it to you to essentially give yourself the auto 2 putt and not actually get to practice/challenge yourself with putting for most of a round or two.  Although if he's really just an a-hole and you're winning the match on the front nine, then you can practice your putting on the back nine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by Ernest Jones

I think your buddy is missing the point, golf is supposed to be played against the course and old man par. Other sports are played directly against your competitor and gamesmanship is acceptable and even an expected part of the game but in golf that's not really true. Even this past weekend, in a sense Bubba was competing with Rose (for example) but that's only superficial, in reality Bubba is competing against the golf courses as is Rose, whoever does the best against the course (and elements) wins the tourney. If some schmuck is f--king with you in your backstroke you aren't getting a fair shot at competing against the course and neither of you is going to have a score worth keeping, a score that reflects how you did against the course.

I bet your buddy doesn't tip the beer cart girl either!





Originally Posted by Rulesman

Golf originated as match play. Stroke play is a recent aberration which is why the rules have become more complicated.





Originally Posted by Fourputt

Consider match play.  That is golf in its original and purest form, and par has no bearing in match play.  It is strictly mano y mano.  All that matters is whether you finish each hole in fewer strokes than your opponent.  I've deliberately played for bogey many times when my opponent was in trouble and I knew that bogey would win the hole.

Stroke or medal play for an aggregate score is a relatively new iteration of the game.

But..... there is still no place even in match play for ignoring the precepts of etiquette.


Oops, got me there. I didn't know that. I'm fairly new to golf and don't know all that much about golf history, but that's why I hang out here, learn something new everyday!

In anycase, the essence of my post remains the same; it should be the course, the elements and your ability to "hit the shots" that dictate your score (maybe throw a little luck in there for good measure too) not what some jackass is doing to try to f--k you up while you're swinging. If it were me, I would drop the douche and find some new playing partners that are more interested in playing to the best of their abilities as opposed to trying to trip each other up.

EDIT - have you tried screaming "mashed potatoes" in his ear whenever he putts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by mdl

It's a breach of the rules to purposefully distract your opponent in match play (I can't remember the rule number, maybe a rules guru can comment?).  In match play the penalty is loss of hole for the distractor. Next round you play, every time he does it just pick up your ball and mark the hole as won by you. When he loses 10&8 a few times in a row he'll get the message.

Hi mdl,

I couldn't find anything that describes purposeful distractions as an independent rules violation with a penalty of loss of hole.  Under rule 33 the committee does have the option to DQ a player for a serious breach of etiquette which I think repeated intentional distraction could qualify.  This could be hard to prove however.  Especially without a referee.

Remember Seve and Azinger in the Ryder Cup.  Azinger claimed Seve always seemed to have to clear his throat while the Americans were playing.  If an opponent is in your field of view, ask him to move.  If he does something that distracts you, ask him not to do that anymore.  If he continues, then make a claim and tell the committee about it.  Just picking up your ball whenever it occurs, however, could have the opposite affect of causing you to lose the hole.

My 2 cents.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2770 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • 4.5 hours being considered fine is just an American view of the game  I think most Americans would find themselves unwelcome if they didnt adjust to the pace in their weekly rounds elsewhere in the world.
    • Played yesterday and today.  Didn't go so well yesterday as I shot a 106 yesterday as my driver was just all over the place and my ball striking overall left a lot to be desired.  Had 4 GIRs, however, 3 were on the front which was a general theme as shot 49 on the front and 57 on the back. Score: 106 CR/Slope: 71.6/121 2 Pars 5 Bogeys 3 DB 6 TB 1 Quad-Bogey View this round on GAME GOLF   Today I was able to bounce back and although I shot 100, I had control over my driver, was moving the ball right to left or straight off the tee and my ball striking felt better.  2 holes ended up doing me in, though.  After starting with 3 bogeys, which really should have included 1 par, and a double bogey, on the par 3 4th hole, I pushed a 7I right  and subsequently overdrew the ball on my reload and missed short and right on a brutal front right location location on a green that slopped severely from back right to front left.  Over-hit my chip shot that went all the way to the back right of the green, had to chip on and then 3 putt for an 8.  On the Par 4 14th hole, I overdrew 2 tee shots with my 3H OB.  Then chipped out, leaving myself 100 yards, took a three-quarter swing with a 52 degree wedge and left it short right.  Flag was on the front right and I thinned my chip shot, leaving it on the back left of the green.  I then 3 putt for a 10.  That said, drained a few longish putts, but my short game, putter notwithstanding, was brutal as I failed to leave myself any gimmies when chipping.  That said, had another birdie and a few pars so there are definitely positives to take away from the round. Score: 100 CR/Slope: 70.4/124 Birdie: 1 Pars: 3 Bogeys: 6 DB: 6 Others: 2 View this round on GAME GOLF 4 rounds in four days - first time I've been able to do that and it was AWESOME!  Shot 95, 95, 106, 100 so, not too shabby for me. 
    • thank you...already loaded up on TM clubs :/...that being said, I've been working on my tee shot and was wondering how much range time is too much?  have had my M2 driver for about 5 days...have hit about 250ish balls with it already...too much?
    • Yep.  Lagavulin is another.  The Isle of Islay scotches are unique.  A lot of people don’t like the peat and astringent iodine.  Good stuff, but not a beginners whisky!   
    • A towel is an unneeded accessory? Once again, I'm not sure you read things before you reply.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CSkipr
      CSkipr
      (72 years old)
    2. David in FL
      David in FL
      (61 years old)
    3. LaserBeam
      LaserBeam
      (63 years old)
    4. Ratcatcher
      Ratcatcher
      (66 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...