Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
lamebums

Ruling?

Note: This thread is 4359 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

13 posts / 1679 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

I had this today, and thought I'd share this with y'all. I'm sure everyone's had this sooner or later, and I'm wondering what you did about it.

1) Play the ball as it lies, and to hell with the sole of my wedge?
2) Take an unplayable, drop the ball no nearer the hole, and take a stroke?
3) Consider the cart path an immovable obstruction, thus getting a free drop, no nearer the hole, without penalty?

Personally, I took option 3, but what do you think is the correct choice? (Yeah, I tend to interpret the rules.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

It's obviously option number three. Unless, you are rich and can afford a new club...lol.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was under the impression that if your ball was on a man made cart path or caused your stance to be on a man made cart path it was a free drop?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i know this for a fact its number three. You made the right choice. A cart path is an un-playable lie.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was under the impression that if your ball was on a man made cart path or caused your stance to be on a man made cart path it was a free drop?

it is. but sometimes you'll get a good lie on the cart path...

if you do, you can hit it off there, just like you can hit it out of a hazard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it is. but sometimes you'll get a good lie on the cart path...

Since when is hitting a wedge off concrete a

good lie? If I were forced to play it as it lies, I would probably use the putter, try to advance the ball, but more importantly, get it back in grass.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 24: Immovable obstruction- You get free relief one club length no closer to the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rule 24: Immovable obstruction- You get free relief one club length no closer to the hole.

Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

It's one club length from the nearest point of relief. That means complete relief - you can't be standing on it, the ball can't be on it, and your swing can't be affected by it. So, wherever the nearest point of complete relief is, you must drop the ball within one clublength of that spot, no closer to the hole.

I'm not sure why the original poster started this thread. There are some good questions and answers (and even videos) here: http://www.usga.org/QUESTIONS/FAQS/r...idx=96&Rule;=24

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

It is actually the nearest point of relief no closer to the hole. Key word being "nearest".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think everyone should go buy a rule book or two....


It is a really good idea to keep one in your bag...the USGA makes them as easy as possible to find and interpret all the rules

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

The procedure would be:

1. Mark the original spot of the ball. 2. Determine the closest spot of complete relief (neither you nor the ball can be on any part of the cart path) to where the original spot was, make sure it is not closer to the hole and mark that. 3. Mark one club length from the spot of relief. 4. Hold your hand straight out from your shoulder and drop the ball within that club length.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I can't imagine why the OP would think that there is any other decision than his 3rd option. The rules are quite clear on this. The only possible question would be if the paved area was designated as an integral part of the course, like the road at the 17th hole on the St. Andrews Old Course, but that is a rare exception in the world of modern golf. Note the definition below from the Rules of Golf, particularly the part in bold type:

Obstructions An “obstruction’’ is anything artificial, including the artificial surfaces and sides of roads and paths and manufactured ice, except: a. Objects defining out of bounds, such as walls, fences, stakes and railings; b. Any part of an immovable artificial object that is out of bounds; and c. Any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course. An obstruction is a movable obstruction if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage. Otherwise it is an immovable obstruction.

You are always

entitled to relief without penalty from an immovable obstruction, but you are not required to take it. I have hit from paths before when taking the correct relief would have left me nearly unplayable in deep rough. The grass visible in that photo near the ball does not seem to be too bad, so I'd definitely take relief here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4359 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • Who faced the tougher competition?   My analysis covers the 20 Masters Tournaments Woods has played in as a pro (1997 – 2019), and the first 21 Masters Tournament Nicklaus participated (1960 – 1982).   The Masters Tournament was chosen because the Masters is the only event played on the same course—Augusta National—each year.   I have one underlying assumption with regards to Tournament scoring. Golfing technology and equipment have steadily advanced. However, after researching the USGA opinions and the course overhauls that occurred in response to the technological advancements, I believe course designers have done a job preserving the emphasis on the player skill.    My assumption is that the efforts by executive committees to create more challenging courses has offset the permitted use of more advanced equipment. As a result I feel confident that the Tournament scores from the Nicklaus period in the sample (1960-1982) can be compared to the Masters leaderboards from the Woods period (1997-2019) within the margin of error of any statistical adjustment.      I merged the field from Woods’ first Tournament in ’97 with the field in Nicklaus’ first Tournament in ’60, maintaining the cut line at the top 50 qualifiers. I simply repeated this process through the 2019 and the 1982 Masters Tournaments.   In this period that I assessed, Woods did not participate in three tournaments ’14, ’16, and ‘17. Nicklaus did not participate in one tournament in ’67. Although the Masters Tournaments in ’61, ’73, 2003-2007 were played in poor weather conditions, after reviewing the cut lines, only ’03 and ’05 seem to be significantly affected by weather. A slight adjustment was made to players scores to normalize the scores.    After taking measure among the qualifiers during the merged tournaments displayed in the link, I found that the level of difficulty increased in the Woods’ era 28.1%.   ·     68% of the top 50 lowest qualifying scores are from the Woods’ era See 2ndsheet in link, labelled “top 50”   Additional Findings:   -      After merging the best of the two periods, Woods finishes with an estimated 4 green jackets and Nicklaus finishes with 2. -      If Woods competed in the Nicklaus period, Woods would have an estimated 9 green jackets. If Nicklaus competed in the Woods era, Nicklaus would have an estimated 5 green jackets. *Note: Nicklaus finished his career playing in 15 additional Masters Tournaments beginning in 1983. Woods is still active as of 2019. -      Woods finishes the 23 Tournament sample 106 below par. Nicklaus finishes the 23 Tournament sample 75 below par. Missing the hypothetical cut = +10 towards Masters career score.    Woods vs. Nicklaus  
    • A buddy of mine gave me a Bobby Jones 460cc black driver today and I played absolutely great with it! Highlight of today's round, however, was a beautiful 3 wood onto a par 3 that landed about 7-8 feet from the hole. There must have been a closest to the pin challenge earlier in the morning, because a marker was out there. My shot would have won it today had I been there to play in it 🙂 Overall, really solid round. Still some inconsistencies with iron play, but it's getting the better (the last three holes were really good with my 6, 7, 8, and W). 
    • Who knows. Maybe not happy that Nick reported the 2017 Champions Dinner story in the media. Tiger might have said things in that room that he expected the other Champions to keep to themselves instead of spouting to the media about it.
    • Not sure if it counts, but: Scrambled with some great guys today (foursome). We played an absolutely beautiful course. Shot a 73. 
    • You do realize my response was to “Diece”? But addressing your post, glad you are improving. However, even at 59, I usually play at 6700+ yards. On a mini tour, you will be at 7200 minimum, and expected to be under par, at least if you plan to play for a living. either way, golf should never define you. And making boast about a difficult game is a recipe for disappointment. But like most of the folks on this site, we will be ok if proven wrong. Will you be ok if we are proven right?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Stillhacken
      Stillhacken
      (47 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...