IGNORED

Driver and 3-wood go the same distance, any ideas to make the driver go a little farther?

Note: This thread is 4115 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Dear Golfers,
I find myself hitting my 3-wood about 190-200, and lately my driver about the same distance.  Both are Taylor Made Burners, with regular shafts.  Driver shaft is 1 inch longer than the 3-wood. Driver claims to be a 10.5 degree, while the 3-wood claims to be 15 degrees.
All i want is another 10 to 20 yards with driver and i'd be satisifed :).
I do tend to hit them about the same accuracy -- 50% pretty straight, 35% fade to slice, 15% hook, though i only really hit my 3-wood off of turf -- i never tee it up higher than a centimeter.
My driver trajectory tends to be a pretty high earlier -- looks to me like a good driver height, but i'm no expert -- and hten it seems to die and drop almost straight down.  The 3-wood has a lower trajectory.
What would you do to try to get some more distance out of your driver?
Thanks,
AJ

Could be that the driver's ballooning the shot from your description. Does the ball launch out low and then curve straight up or does it come out of the face on a high trajectory and then fall off toward the end?

There's some info here that could help - http://thesandtrap.com/t/38544/ballooning-drives-high-ball-flight

SWING DNA
Speed [77] Tempo [5] ToeDown [5] KickAngle [6] Release [5] Mizuno JPX EZ 10.5° - Fujikura Orochi Black Eye (with Harrison ShotMaker) Mizuno JPX EZ 3W/3H - Fujikura Orochi Black Eye Mizuno JPX 850 Forged 4i-PW - True Temper XP 115 S300 Mizuno MP R-12 50.06/54.09/58.10 - Dynamic Gold Wedge Flex Mizuno MP A305 [:-P]